Skip to content

Do German Celebrate Halloween

October 14, 2010

This month is the month of make believe. Don’t you just love it. A month people from all ages can just run wild in the street wearing costume or wearing pretty much to nothing and get away with it for one magical night.
Here in Germany I am not so lucky like a lot of you:( Here we do not have Halloween. Don’t get me wrong the American tradition of Halloween is slowly being adapted here but no one go house to house to get candy. Just costume wearing and little party. The German Halloween is call Fasching (eventhough it is not the same thing but it is closet thing to Halloween for me). It is a period marked with great joy and occasion. Fasching as a term derived from the word Fasnacht, meaning “eve of the beginning of the fast.” Linguists speculate that “Fasching” also developed out of the Middle High German “vaschanc” or “vastschang” (Fastschank), which means the last drink served before the Lenten fast. Typically involves a public celebration or parade combining some elements of a circus, mask and public street party. People often dress up or masquerade during the celebrations with paraders throwing paper machetes on top of your head (trick) and candies (treats) throughout the crowd. With live entertainment singing and dancing. One thing I can definetly say is that German people know how to party when it is time to party. Yahooooo (thats me standing on top of a table hoping it does not come colliding down), lol.

Although the festival and party season in Germany starts on the 11 November at 11:11 a.m., the actual Carnival week begins on the Thursday before Ash Wednesday. German Carnival parades are held on the weekend before and especially on Rose Monday, and occasionally on Shrove Tuesday as well in the suburbs of larger cities. The carnival session begins each year on 11 November at 11:11 a.m. and finishes on Ash Wednesday with the main festivities occurring around Rosenmontag; this time is also called the “Fifth Season.”

In Germany, two distinct varieties of Carnivals are held. The Rhenish Carnival is held in the west of Germany, mainly in the states of North Rhine-Westphalia and Rhineland Palatinate, and is famous for celebrations such as parades and costume balls. Cologne Carnival is the largest and most famous. On Carnival Thursday (called “Old Women Day” or “The Women’s Day”), in commemoration of an 1824 revolt by washer-women, women storm city halls, cut men’s ties, and are allowed to kiss any man who passes their way.

This is my area below:)
The “Swabian-Alemannic” carnival, known as Fastnacht, takes place in Swabia (Southwestern Germany), Switzerland, Alsace and Vorarlberg (Western Austria). It traditionally represents the time of year when the reign of the cold, grim winter spirits is over and these spirits are being hunted down and expelled.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. unabridgedgirl permalink
    October 14, 2010 6:26 pm

    My grandfather is German, and we still have a lot of family in Germany, so yes – I agree, Germans do know how to party. LoL

    • October 14, 2010 7:43 pm

      Have you had the chance to come to Germany to visit and enjoy/participate in one of their festivities?

      • unabridgedgirl permalink
        October 14, 2010 8:02 pm

        Nein, ich bin nicht nach Deutschland gewesen. Ich spreche wirklich ein kleiner Deutscher. And I mean, I speak veeeeeeeeeery little German, and I have no idea if what I wrote up there is even correct or slightly correct! LoL I meant to say that I haven’t been to Germany, but my Uncle has, and obviously my Grandpa.

  2. October 14, 2010 8:28 pm

    Oh wow, Unabridge you go with your bad self:) Das war sehr gut! Your sentences and grammar were on point! Even with the capital letters of the nouns! I am really impress. I am taking Deutsch class and sometime forget to capital my nouns and my grammar suck a bit but I am working on it:)

    Unabridge you must come to Germany one day! I always think when a person have bloodline from else where they should at least visit the place to see and experience the history and culture. I can literally hear my friends in my head saying, “Okay Lora if you feel this way then shovel up the tickets”, lol. But seriously one day visit. Ticket is dirt cheap April and March for like $600 round trip. Yeah that is dirt cheap it normally cost $1000+ and that is economy!

    But for sure I think it is cool that you have a German background and that you write very good Deutsch. Even if it is very little;)

    • unabridgedgirl permalink
      October 14, 2010 8:36 pm

      Hahaha, thanks. I would love to visit Germany. It’s on my list of places I desire to see: England, Ireland, Greece, Germany, Egypt, and New Zealand. 🙂 One day. One day. You can also call me Mckenzie.

      • October 14, 2010 8:52 pm

        Then Mckenzie it is a pleasure to meet you:)

        You have the same places that I am interested to go to also on my list, lol. Small world I tell you. Trying to talk hubby into taking me to Egypt to see the pyramids and mummies in Cairo the end of October or in December. But he continue tell me that area is dangerous for Americans. They are kidnapping them. I told him but I have duel citizenship I am also a Jamaican. Than he said but what passport do you have active…the American. IF we go it would be close to the beach side. Forget that, I did enough beach vacation. I want to see pieces of history and take photos to feel as a part of it. Hubby say forget that, our life is more important than photos. He is right to a point but I like to still go no matter what.

        There is a reader on my blog that lives in New Zealand name http://devourslowly.wordpress.com/ and a young lady who will be moving there soon http://ahlterra.wordpress.com/

        As long as you have the passion to travel I am for sure that you will make it to many places on your list. The good thing is that many of them are not too far apart from each other:)

  3. unabridgedgirl permalink
    October 14, 2010 8:58 pm

    Yes, Egypt is rather dangerous right now, but it’s nice to dream about it! LoL I went to Italy four years ago, and I loved every moment, especially all the Gelato ice cream I could eat and did! Ha! I think I could live in Venice and be perfectly happy, except for the smell. Traveling is one of my favorite things to do. There are a billion places I want to see here in the states as well. I went to New Orleans this last June with one of my blogger buddies, Wild Archaic, and we had a blast. 🙂

    • October 14, 2010 9:06 pm

      Venice has an unpleasant smell to it? Got to be the water, or? New Orleans is cool! You are traveling already! This is good, I like that. I knew of a few people who never left their State/City and venture to what is next door. So this is good that you have on your traveling shoes already. Its always more fun to actually experiment places than reading them in book or seeing them on tv. It is also cool that you have a good tie with a blogger to explore with….too cool!

  4. October 15, 2010 12:46 am

    Germany, oddly enough, has been one of the things that I would love to do and see. Honestly, if I’m given any chance to go anywhere in the world, I’ll take it.

    Especially to go live there for a time!

    My uncle and new aunt wanted to get married in Scotland, since that’s our strong family heritage on my mom’s side. They had to live there for 2 months. so jealous. Mom went over for the wedding and travelled via the chunnel to France and Belgium.

    So jealous.

    My next dream is to go through europe; Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Greece (DEFINITELY), and then go back to England and Scotland.

    World Travellers are we!!!

  5. October 15, 2010 11:24 am

    Yes we are all world travelers and I am loving it! Also love your attitude. Your dream will become a reality don’t you worry. I think your family will give you the push to go see the world!

    • October 15, 2010 11:27 am

      Ahlterra I almost did not recognize you. Hey you are going to see the world really soon! What am I talking about New Zealand watch out! Loving the avatar too too cute!

Trackbacks

  1. Celebraciones de Halloween en Alemania | Euroescapadas

Leave a comment