Skip to content

Your Health

January 9, 2024

I have been working in the healthy field for nearly half of my life. I am learning being a nurse that many people really do not care about their health. They are afraid of death but give a crap about the maintenance of longevity of their life.

Examples I deal with many illnesses. One is diabetic. Many diabetics come in with HI glucose (sugar reading). Some will tell you it is always high. Some will tell you that they don’t take their medications. Some will tell you they have not went to dialysis in weeks. Many will request for food and sugary juices if not eat it infront of you while you are poking their finger to retain blood. I just don’t understand. Why freak out if you are going to live your life doing whatever you please. Some people are losing limbs, cry about it, but eating habits have not changed.

Gouts… when a person has gout they should not be drinking any beer or alcohol. They actually have a certain dietary restriction. Tell me why every two weeks I am injecting a few of my regulars with anti-inflamationary compounds. Them, themselves, know the cause of it but was hoping eating/drinking a little of their dietary restrictions would not inflame their gout.

The list goes on but let’s end it with sexual disease. There is nothing wrong with sex. There is nothing wrong with having more than one sexual partner. I am not going into the moral if married or in a relationship. To each their own. All I ask for and I think is common sense is to protect yourself any mean necessary from bodily fluid. I have witness people learning they have HIV and had to be on 24 hours watch to make sure they do not commit suicide. I have seen pt who shows up ever few weeks complaining of their cheating spouse, lover, or boy/girlfriend but still stay with that person and continue to have unprotected sex. I have heard stories which was shared with me from these pt. I don’t judge anyone one of them. It is not my place to judge but to help the best I can and give them my suggestion of protecting themselves from bodily fluid.

No comments yet

Leave a comment