Skip to content

How many Ways to say Not Interested

October 13, 2010

I have a darling friend who I know since high school. She is one of the most loving person you would love to meet. A couple of days ago she emailed me and ask if I was interested to legally make some money. I said yes why not. I am a stay at home wife (I so hate that title…will write about it one day in another blog) who don’t have an income of my own. Only when I am doing laundry and hubby have not empty out his pockets or when it is time for my weekly allowance, lol. So I told her sure. She emailed me a presentation information which was very interested and well organize, but I was not really digging it. It reminded me of the Pyramid sale pitch I did when I was a teenager. Something I care not to live over!
So I email her and let her know thanks for the info but hubby said no, we should focus on getting our own business off the ground. But I wish her success. Please StopLater I see another email saying, Since you are interested to start up your own business would you care to sign up for a phone/phone service through me”. I was like wow, I politely email her back and let her know that things here are cheap in Germany except for houses and autos. My home phone service including long distant and all is only 13-15Euro a month. If I want to talk on cam I go on Skype and it is typically free to other Skype members. So I am thinking that would of been the last email. Man what did I got myself into I should of said no in the beginning. I got another email asking if I could give her some names, email address, and telephone number of people I think are interested. I did not respond. I could not. At this point I was getting frustrated. I understand the economy is bad in the State right now. I can’t wait for recession to be over with and everything to be normal for everyone, but geesh how many ways can I say I am not interested!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. devourslowly permalink
    October 13, 2010 4:27 pm

    She sounds terribly persistent. I would just tell her no on no uncertain terms. If she is a good friend she should know to back off! But you are so right – saying no can be quite hard and frustrating when the other person doesn’t get the message!

  2. October 13, 2010 5:21 pm

    and this is the reason why I have not return her email. I am nervous to see if I get another email request. She has never done this before. This is why too I am like what is going on. Don’t she get it.

  3. October 13, 2010 5:29 pm

    It could also be an automated thing generated by the first email. Or she signed you up to a list when you first told her yes, and so you’re getting these automated emails now. Not likely if they’re coming from her personal address, but still possible. I would say to give her a call, but the long distance thing can be killer.

    Just tell her no. and if it keeps happening, point out to her in many different ways how this comes across as a scam. If that doesn’t help, then you may just have to block her e-mail address for a little while. It sucks, but sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do.

    • October 13, 2010 5:48 pm

      Sadly to say it is not from an automatic email sender thingy. It is from her. She sent me via Facebook. I live on that site. I am a FaceBook addict … this is the first step to rehabilitate … admit the problem, lol. Rehabilitation is not really working, lol. I do plan to tell her a sturdy “No” if she email me again.
      I have always been a weak person when to say no. I sometime think I am too polite, trying not to hurt anyone feeling.

      This is how I end up dating a person in high school. I could not say no. I was too kind to not slam down his spirits and chatting him up. End up dating him for a few months because I could not find the courage to tell him, sorry I am not interesting. When will I learn?!!

      I can say no to the quickness to my hubby. Perhaps because we are flat out honest to each other. We have a saying if I don’t tell you who would. Maybe I should treat everyone like my hubby and stop going around the bush:(

  4. October 13, 2010 8:25 pm

    How strange. I hope you get this straightened out with her. Probably ignoring any further requests is the best way to handle it. Too bad, seems like this might end the friendship if she doesn’t get the message soon. 😦

  5. devourslowly permalink
    October 13, 2010 9:20 pm

    I would just say rejoice in the fact that you are in Germany and she is not…

  6. October 13, 2010 10:06 pm

    If it continues, you can mark her email as spam so you won’t be bothered anymore…how frustrating her persistence must be!

  7. October 14, 2010 8:33 am

    Thanks everyone so far day 2 and no email … so far so good:)
    Push come to shove I will just say a flat out “No thank you…not interested…so how is the family”

Leave a Reply

