Skip to content

Get it right inside Camera first

August 13, 2013

I will go in more depth in this later this month and next month. If you are a newby and enjoy taking photos the best tip I can say is get it right in camera first. Don’t think the photo will look any better once you get it into the editing software. Okay perhaps it might but then you are spending many hours on the images to look better. Why waste time. Get it right in camera first. How? Well you must learn how to use your camera. No matter if it is a point and shoot or heavy duty strap around the neck over $1000. camera. Each camera have a “P” mode for the everyday people who are learning. Don’t get me wrong nothing is wrong being in the “P” mode. As a teacher once said to me “P” is for Profi, lol. You use it when your in a jam and can’t think too quickly on your feet go in the “P” mode. I am not going to lie to you I sometime go to the Profi mode when I am in a hurry for a certain shot, lol. I have no shame in it. The function is there for a reason.

When you are ready to learn your camera I will always tell everyone to go in the “M” mode, which is manual. The manual mode as a light measurement inside that tells you whether you need to move the scale to the left or right depending on what you are going for because not all the time you have to do what it shows. It changes only the shutter speed and light meter scale. Please don’t mistake the internal light meter from a external light meter which price is ridiculously high but is a great tool. Never forget to be creative and stand outside the box. Not ever rule need to be follow especially in photography you just have to know it and understand them. Also don’t depend too much on Manual mode once you learn it. Sometimes you have to be able to move quick and have a certain setting. Manual mode in my opinion is great for still portraits and to use with studio lights. Moving portraits use the TV (shutter speed) mode. Manual mode you should use and learn to better understand why and how to get a certain result.

The other modes I will dive into later this month if not next month. I don’t want you to feel overwhelm. Plus it is always good to read then go out and try it on your own to see your outcome. I will also later go into the importance of learning your ISO and why sometimes having grains in your photos is not always a bad thing.

The last thing I want to say before I end this post with a photo is to get out of automatic white balance mode. When it is sunny place the mode on sunny, when it is cloudy place on cloudy, when you are in a building place it on incandescent/indoor light. You might be saying well if I shoot RAW, there is no need to do that. Yes, you are right for you RAW shooters. But why not make life easier to skip one step when it comes to editing if the photo even need editing at all. Get it right inside camera first. Some of you might ask what the heck is RAW and what make it so special, lol. I will dive into that too later in the month or next month. So much to share and I will do my best to simplify it.

Lora Victoria Fotografie

f/10 1/320s ISO 400 67mm

Quickly explanation of my settings of why. F/10 was because I was not only shooting the bees and the flower but I was also photo shooting my parent in law in the garden and was too lazy to switch it back and forth. When just shooting bees and flowers 2.8 and less is perfect. How did I get the background to look like that on f/10 you may ask. Look at my iso. My iso is 400 in daylight but the flowers were in shade. The ISO, focal point (focus point), and my distant of 67mm away from the bees, flower, and background also is a big factor. Resulting in a nice texture background. Shutter speed is 320 because I used Manual mode and that is what it read where the lighting is balance. The photo above has only been touch with the curve adjustment and ofcourse my logo. Nothing as as been done. Once you learn your camera and the result you will have consistence photos and create easily the outcome you desire.

Comments are closed.