Skip to content

You Hold back Life, Life does not Hold you back

October 19, 2012

Thought of the day: You hold back life, life does not hold you back

I had a great morning today. Helping a stranger out and talking to a little lady who made me laugh all the way home, lol. Felt so good that when I got home I check my email and FB to see what is going on around me than something snap and said, “Lora, why do you aim for the net as soon as you go home, early morning before heading out, and night time before going to bed? The world is passing you by and you’re just wasting time.” I stop and look around. I have tons of things that need to be done but I sit here. I got off the net and hang up a curtain I sewn last week. Iron clothing that I would of iron Sunday afternoon but said why not iron them now and get them in the closet then started working on other things I been taking a pause on.

The internet is an addiction, well social media are for me. We all have our poison that preoccupy us. Why stay around and watch what other people are doing? What does it has to do with me? What can I do with the information other than laugh, get upset, or annoyed. I sit here and life is passing me by. My mom use to say to my brothers and I growing up, “Turn off the tv, those people on tv have an education. What do you have?” Those words sneak in my brain synapse ever so often, lol, I am so serious. I wrote down my weekly schedule on my spread sheet, print it out and place it on my white board listing all that I need to do. I even include eating, sleeping, and having fun. It is time for me to stop holding back life and instead start to take control of it once more!

Wishing you all a great weekend!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2012 10:11 pm

    Wise words from your mother. I’m working on breaking my own internet addiction. I’m busting out my old typewriter (plus just bought two manuals) to get some writing done without the all-too-easy-to-pull-up-internet beckoning on the laptop. I got more written in one evening on the typewriter than I had in a month on the computer.

    Good luck with all that! Wishing you a great weekend, too.

    • October 20, 2012 10:04 am

      Thank you…..You still have a type writer, too cool! I like to collect antique as they call it now, lol, and type writers when I do see them around are bloody expensive. just to buy and use it for decoration, lol.But good for you. Very proud of you and keep typing! I do some programing and my downfall is that I need the net and I keep FB window always open. A few months ago I was barely on FB but I join too many groups the past months that keeping me active, blah. Time for some self control!

    • October 20, 2012 5:20 pm

      I’ve got a Sharp PA 3100 electric typewriter, and just bought an old Optima Super on Ebay which sadly has to go straight to a repair shop. The carriage doesn’t move. 😦 but the seller is refunding half my money so it’s not a total waste. I’m taking it to a repair shop today to try to get it back in working condition. I also have an Adler J5 coming that I bought. I’m trying to get a Voss (notice they’re all German machines 😉 )

      Facebook bores me, I check in once a day for about 5 minutes to keep in touch with my son, but that’s it. Twitter sucks up my time! I knew it would, so I resisted joining for a long time. Oh well. The typewriter is my last best hope. I’ll have to name it Obi-Wan Kenobi! 😀

      • October 22, 2012 4:35 pm

        Oh my, you have a lot of typewriters! You lucky devil you! Really Twitter, I don’t get Twitter at all. You can’t type long on it and have to keep it precise. I have an account and gave up after my first couple of try.

        P.S. I had to chuckle at your type writer name so hard my husband told me to close the door 😀

  2. February 20, 2013 4:56 am

    I love this thought. I truly, deeply believe in this thought. Especially after living in a city where it can go both ways.

Leave a Reply

