Skip to content

Banana Chips

May 6, 2012

In the Facebook group What Sha Cooking I posted my banana chips snack today.
banana chips
I love eating banana chips once in a while. Growing up it use to be a nice small bag of a snack my mom bought us. I have came across so many banana chips that are thick and sugary when Jamaica banana chips are thin and salted.

Last year I came across a small bag of banana chips here at the African store 20 minutes in walking distant away, but for a small bag I don’t see me buying it for 1E each time I have the crave or missing home. Therefore I made my own batch today.

Ingredient
1 Plantain
Salt
Olive Oil

Direction
Slice Plantain into very thin slices.Place the slices in a bowl and pour about 2 TBS of olive oil and mix well. Separate slice from each other and lay ontop of baking paper. Sprinkle with salt. Place in oven on the very highest temp middle rack for 7 minutes and remove.
prep banana chips
Once remove I have learn not to just let them sit. Grab the baking paper and fold up both ends as if your enclosing the chips. Shake, shake, and shake. This will help loosen up the chips that was stick together and also air both side. When chips are left just sitting on the rack the bottoms tend to be soft instead of crispy.
shake chips

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2012 12:50 am

    You know, I don’t think I’ve ever had plantains. Are they just the same as bananas? These sound so good, and no extra sugar! I’ll have to give this a try.

    • May 7, 2012 1:14 am

      Yes, plantain are the big green bananas. If you can’t find plantains you can also use the regular green bananas too. They are both nice and tasty 🙂

  2. May 7, 2012 4:26 pm

    I can’t stand raw bananas, but love them baked. My local market doesn’t carry plantains, so I’ll try this one with regualr green. Love the recipes you share. 🙂

  3. May 8, 2012 3:01 am

    I never thought of trying to make my own. I may have to try these.

    • May 8, 2012 10:20 am

      Once you do, you will fall in love with them. For me banana chips taste better than potato chips. Especially when it is made how I wrote it in my blog post. I don’t know who the heck came up with adding sugar and making it thick…… yuck!

  4. May 9, 2012 9:23 pm

    My husband loves these. Plantains just came out in the stores… Adding to my Pinterest!

Leave a Reply

