Skip to content

I Ain’t No Baby

May 5, 2012

Each year since I have been living here, in Germany, I really felt as I am growing. Life in America I know I would accomplish lot more and would be working in my career field. Here I feel like I stepped back and is crawling all over the place learning how to walk and to keep my balance. Life is not easy living abroad whether one is alone, with family, friends, or have a partner. Everyone still have to learn how to live, but in time everything work out and one begins to walk stronger, straight, and firm.

Last week John and I went hiking, this time I check that I have my battery and card inside of my camera. We walked and walked until we were at our destination and could not go further. John even climbed to the highest peak in which I did not. I was afraid if I climb any higher I would be living at that point because getting back down was so hilly and narrow. The highest point I made it too that many of us chickens stop and took a photo then went back down the hill. If it was up too me I would of stop just half way as plan. I have a photo of me holding onto John tightly with a scary look on my face because the area was very narrow and too many people was at the one spot just waiting to also take photos. Both John and I were so proud of ourselves of how long we hiked and how far high we went. It so reminded us of when we lived in the State.
hiking

Today I had a big cheese on my face. Since day one John and I was attached hip to hip and barely are separated. I think at times we don’t know how to act without each other. It feels as something is always missing  and we know it is each other. Even our friends know once they see one they see the other. No one expect us to arrive at dinner or an event without the other. For them it is a bit awkward. Today I drove John to the airport than went shopping. You see I have never drove alone in Germany. I have drove many time as the driver with John but never alone. Today I was nervous and excited at the same time. I have made plans already to meet up with a couple of my friends next week. This will be the first time of me meeting up with them alone by not taking the train, and them not having to drive to my city just to visit me. I am so looking forward to it. I would love for John to be with me because we enjoy both friends company but it will also be nice for us girls to catch up.

This year as truly been a remarkable year and I see I am truly growing in many ways. I ain’t no baby no more!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2012 2:14 pm

    “Here I feel like I stepped back and is crawling all over the place learning how to walk and to keep my balance. Life is not easy living abroad ” For a Jamaican girl to “start all over in Germany” was a very brave and adventurous thing. You have handled everything well and learning the language is quite an accomplishment. Whatever your future holds you are well prepared and should have great confidence in yourself. Me, I have lived within a 10 mile radius here in NE Miami Dade County practically my entire life.

    • May 7, 2012 1:00 am

      Carl I am about to use the bum because I wish I could use it in real….{{{Hug}}}. You had me smiling with my eyes getting watery. Thank you so much for your kind words. I have been truly working on my confident. I have notice at times that slow me down to do things I want to do. This year I feel great about myself and tired of wondering and just doing.

  2. May 5, 2012 5:29 pm

    Congrats on taking the wheel and going it alone! Driving in foreign countries can be very intimidating. It’s sweet that you two are so close and do so much together. You’re very lucky to have eachother.

    • May 7, 2012 1:08 am

      Hi DD and thank you:) This week on the forecast it is surprise to rain everyday:( I plan to head out a hour early so I can find the restaurants we will meet up at…more so a parking garage. Since it is hard to find parking spaces.

  3. May 5, 2012 6:58 pm

    This post made me smile a lot. Congrats for trying something that has frightened you!

    Have fun with your pals. 🙂

    • May 7, 2012 1:11 am

      Hi Tasha, I can honestly say if I was alone I would never climb that high as I did. Going down I had to hold on John shoulder as if he was my railing.

      I am so looking forward to meet up with them, sad that it will be raining though, naja.

  4. May 9, 2012 3:19 am

    Right on Lora and write on…I am enjoying your life in Germany vicariously.

Leave a Reply

