Skip to content

Let Someone Else Shine

April 23, 2012

First of of I want to say don’t eat a bowl of bake wedge potatoes before going to fitness class. It does not feel great fighting it to stay down.

Everyday someone share their accomplishment with you or another mention it in conversation. As human we tend to relate it by bringing up our accomplishment as well. But is it really necessary or even appropriate. It is not like you need to compete with that person by bringing up what you did, went, lost, or etc. Yes, you could say it is just conversation you are making but come on think about how many times have you actually compare yourself to another conversation wise. Is it truly necessary, really?

Tonight at fitness a group of us lady we talk pretty much about our day, food, work, family, and etc. One lady came over and another told her how she look great! In which she does. How her body is getting smaller and face is forming. She said thanks, “I lost 10 kilos”. I smile and told her congrats. Now I could easily had said that I lost so and so kilos which was way more than the lady, but why? Why would that be any importance. This was the lady moment to shine. To feel good about herself. Not me to say we both started at the same time together and I lost more. This is and was not a competition. We are working out and enjoying each other and having a great time! I had to smile of how proud of myself for not saying anything other than a sincere congratulation. This was her moment to shine!

The next time someone say how well they have done or that they went somewhere, try to see if you can allow that person to shine and make them feel good instead of competing with them on so many different levels. This is truly a test because many of us don’t know we sometime overshadow someone good new.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2012 10:32 pm

    bringing up our accomplishment – does that mean dinner barf ? Yuk.

  2. April 23, 2012 10:47 pm

    That’s a wonderful sentiment, to let someone have their moment in the sun. Too often we listen just to wait for our moment to jump in and try to ‘top’ what the other person is saying, in effect not really listening at all. My former boss (you may recall, HMFIC) was famous for doing that. Didn’t matter what someone was talking about, good or bad, from a proud accomplishment to a disease or death in the family, he would listen long enough then launch into his own story which of course was way better/worse than the first person’s tale. Well, you know how crazy he drove me 😉

    And you’re right, getting fit is only a competition with yourself, it’s not against anyone else. Bravo for you for working out and losing weight! You should be so proud of yourself!

    • April 23, 2012 11:09 pm

      Oh yes, I remember your former boss. I looked forward reading each post about him and others. It always gave me a chuckle. Plus I could of actually visualize the situations very well.

      Your comment is a great example of what my post is about. I think sometimes people just can’t wait to talk about themselves but forget that the person who is sharing just want to tell what is going on, what they have done, gain, or lost. They are not looking for someone to compete with them. Now if a person would ask another “what about them” or to hear their story I would say that is a conversation. But your comment is right on point and a great example!

      Thank you for the compliment and I am proud. It is a change of life and a new lifestyle I have taking upon myself and I am actually loving it!

  3. April 24, 2012 5:40 am

    That is so true. I’ve had times like that, someone else has to ‘one up’ whatever I’ve done/doing etc. It’s very frustrating. I was in the hospital, having just gone thru a very difficult and long labor with my son. A lady I barely knew who was married to my brother’s friend came to see us and brought a lovely gift. What a sweet thing. Not so fast, she had to tell me how much worse hers was than mine, as if i really wanted to hear that. I didn’t care to hear it ever, let alone when I was trying to recover from my own!

    Kudos to you, my friend. It was a lovely thing you did, you have every right to be proud of yourself. I think that shows a real maturity and empathy for what others are feeling. And congrats on the weight loss too! 😀

    • April 24, 2012 12:36 pm

      Another great example of letting someone else shine! That was your moment! Not hers. It is sad that many people do not think to let a person glow in their accomplishment or dimmer in their lost. I am not perfect and am human and know that I too at times over shadow a person accomplishment. This I too need to continue working on everyday until a person give me the invite to tell my story:) Good for you to tolerate the lady story. I can picture you responding to your brother’s friend with a smile of toleration, lol.

      Thank you for the compliment and kind words. I am very proud of myself. Funny thing is that I know I could be less than what I am, but I want my loss to be realistic because it is a change in lifestyle plus I love my food, lol

  4. April 24, 2012 8:46 pm

    Oh my goodness.. I remember going to work out and I had the best BBQ wings. It was so hard to keep them down while working out that I just had to stop the work out right in the middle and go home lol. And you’re right, allowing someone else to shine may actually help them out. You never know what people are going through and may actually need that extra boost.

    • April 25, 2012 5:14 pm

      Your chicken story had me laughing over here 😀
      You are absolutely right! “You never know what people are going through and may actually need that extra boost”. I think it did made her feel great that night. She smiled from beginning to end of work out.

  5. April 24, 2012 9:48 pm

    Congrats on your accomplishment!

    And oh, yes. The story-toppers. No matter what, they did it better, or suffered greater. The great dramatists of life! In an annoying way, they’re sort of comical.

    • April 25, 2012 5:20 pm

      Thank you and yes they are definitely comical! But I can’t laugh about them until weeks later 🙂 In my head I am like “are you serious, why must you always try to upstage me, her, or him…. okay I/we let you have the floor.”, lol. Seriously.. I have wing myself from people like that and “try” my best not to do the same to others.

Leave a Reply

