Skip to content

Copyright…Someone Stealing YOUR Photos

April 2, 2012

Do you love taking photos? Go to the perfect place, wait for the perfect moment, or aim for a good angle? Are you anal and take a lot and pick out the good ones to share with friends, family, and the blog community? If you do anyone of these and more than you know how much time and energy it takes to make a good photo.

There are tons of people who value your photos enough to use them. Instead of them asking for permission or giving you/the source credit they rather steal it and use it as their own. As if they were the photographer behind the camera. This is why I am so critical about my photos. There is nothing special about my photos other than that I took them. What I do not mind people to use I do not place my stamp mark with my name. I have use many photos off the net but I have also gave credit with the photo source link. This is why I don’t photo mark all the photos that I share. A way to give back to the image search engines.
Protect Your Work
You’re probably thinking if I don’t want people to use my photos why not just post what I don’t mind people using. Long story short. I have three friends who photos was stolen from their blogs and another from a Facebook cooking group that she was in. I try to tell you each of the stories short and painless. I started placing my name in big and bold last year when my friend who use to blog photos was use in another cooking blog with modify ingredients. She sadly told me of her misfortune and warned me to start placing my name on my photos. Almost the same happen to another friend that I know. She has her name on her photos but small. Someone took her name off the photo and had the nerve to copy and paste her recipe to their business website. This is when I start not only having my name big and bold on my photos, but also a big annoying circle watermark. If someone have the nerve to steal my photos they have to work hard to edit off my name and watermark. You’re probably thinking yes, they can edit my name and replace it with theirs. Yes they could, but they can never use the image for a book, magazine, or poster. A few months ago my dear friend had her photos and also recipes publish in a magazine. She found out by a friend of hers who know her work. She was highly upset. She contacted the magazine and they done nothing or issue her credit in the next Indian magazine issue. I stress to her when she share her work via her blog or on Facebook she need to place her name not in the corner of her screen but on her food items, also place an annoying watermark over her photos. In my eyes professionals and nonprofessional photographers take a lot of time and energy to take what they see as the perfect shot to tell a story….protect your work.

Info links to protect your images
http://www.copyrightservice.co.uk/protect/p16_photography_copyright

http://www.copyright.gov/help/faq/faq-fairuse.html

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2012 6:59 pm

    The photos are not a problem It is people are stealing all the land and sea and forest and buildings and animals and there is nothing to take a picture of anymore in the first place.

  2. April 2, 2012 7:12 pm

    Ha, you know I am one of those..I leaned the hard way but now I plaster my name right in the center…

  3. April 2, 2012 10:25 pm

    Sadly any content on the internet, photos, writing, music, etc., can be plundered. Like you, I try to give credit when I use any kind of graphic on my blog that I didn’t create. Like torrenting movies or music, there’s always someone willing to steal content.

  4. April 4, 2012 3:08 pm

    I try to be extremely careful and use only free-use images.

    Unfortunately a lot of peeps don’t consider taking online photos to be stealing. Somehow it being on the internet makes it somehow different for them. I doubt the same folk would so quickly snatch a photo from someone’s wallet.

    • April 5, 2012 12:49 am

      Hi Tasha, I agree the same people taking people image and using it as theirs or to make a profit from it I don’t think have the nerve to snatch a photo from one’s wallet. Then they have to suffer the consequences. The problem is that the www. is tremendously large. It is likely very rare to find someone using your photo unless it it is something precise and you (just using the word you in general) are a person who always look for your work or better yet as I mention about one of my friend above. Someone else finding your work/photo on the net without your name or any recognition.

  5. April 13, 2012 9:11 pm

    I hate when I saw my pictures through another hand. That’s why I edit my own photos with my name on it! But sometimes I’m just lazy to edit, but I should have no excuses for it!

    I admit I use some site for photos and I just copy and Paste it but I don’t act that I’m the owner instead I state the truth that “this one is from this and that” to make it fear for more explanation.:)

    A good weekend,:)
    BloggerYen-Yen

    • April 14, 2012 12:16 pm

      Hi BloggerYen-Yen, I would not like it either if others would use my photos without asking or giving credit. As anal of a amateur photographer I am. It takes times, a lot of shots, and sometimes hours of editing a batch depending what the photos are.

      I don’t understand why people do not at least give credit or write the source. It would be so easy to do.

  6. April 14, 2012 7:37 am

    Great post girl. So many people don’t know how to stop thrid party sites or just individuals themselves from stealing your content. Thats one difficult issues you have to deal with as a blog owner or as a website owner in general.

  7. April 23, 2012 10:40 am

    Hello Beautiful person and writings as well. I hear you on this and yes even we even had to endure having to discard all valuable material with one of our Columnist due to her theft of these materials, we were not aware till we had multiple people come to our site and warn us, not only did this cause us extra work to filter & delete the articles that were no longer ours, we also lost multiple material along with whom we thought at the time was a talented cook/blogger.
    We wont have that here, I dont encourage theives, nor can I believe that any credits where given to those works stolen. It is sad, but best you have your work marked clear and bold like Lora mentions to minimize stealing.
    Great works girl, we may have to also feature this and hopefully people continue to protect themselves.

    • April 23, 2012 11:01 am

      It is all yours. I hope it help get the message across and so that people can do something to slow down people from using their content without permission. One of my friend at the moment write right to left her blog name on her food now in bold and white. As we spoke in the past the photos are for simply sharing. We have the original and that is important. As long as the photos can still be view to show what it is really should be good enough to share.

      Having one names or logo across or on their photo does not make the photo look lesser than it is. People will look beyond the name/logo and at more at the photos when they truly want to.

      That person whom you speak about is no longer doing cooking just a personal blog journey. I wish that person well in what they do in life. That person is a very nice person but their action was off.

      • April 28, 2012 12:10 pm

        Its good to hear at least she has gone on a better track, maybe her past actions scared her off enough to behave lol I suppose we all make mistakes. protecting your work in general is a good idea 🙂

      • April 29, 2012 10:09 pm

        I think it has, which is good! 🙂

  8. May 30, 2012 10:27 am

    weeeeee finally a few articles have gone up last 2 days, here you are my Columnist 🙂
    http://outsiderswindow.com/2012/05/30/protect-your-work-by-lora-victoria/ xo

Leave a Reply

