Skip to content

Do not Make your Herbs go to Waste

March 27, 2012

I love cooking and baking with herbs. Yesterday I came across wild garlic when shopping and I love me me some garlic. But this garlic was in leaf form. Not a bulb in which you could get anywhere. I said why not give it a try. The price was decent plus it was perfect for plate decorating. This morning I woke up and seen it look a little limp because it was no longer freshly pack. I said to myself I should bake some garlic bread using the leaves it would give a nice taste. However I did not because I was not in the baking mood. Instead I told myself why not make a sauce out of it and do the same with the parsley that I had in the refrigerator in which I been using sparingly. Let today be my herb day. I started with the garlic leaves to make a nice sauce.
garlic sauce
This sauce will go perfect with pasta dishes, a slice of bread, bake on top of meat, and even can be use as a part of making any pasta dishes using inside the dough.
Parsley Sauce
The parsley sauce is perfect to go on top of fishes, inside fish when making a fish roll or fish patty. Also nice to use making pasta from scratch, and so much more. Tonight I plan to use some of it making my fish roll.
Herb Sauces
My end result:) One thing that everyone need to know when making herb sauces is that herbs sauces can last up to 3 months when lemon is added to the ingredients. Always date your container you are using for storage. IF you have cheese as part of your ingredient date it for when the cheese expire. Once the cheese is gone bad your herb batch is too. If you make a big batch it is wise to place an amount that you think you would use in a month time in a separate container so that you may store that in your fridge and the other container which will not be glass store in your freezer. Another tip is if your not a sauce person but don’t want your herbs go to waste, cut them up and freeze them in a bag.

Ingredients and direction for these two herb sauces will be in the group What Sha Cooking later today. Feel free to join when you wish.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2012 6:54 pm

    garlic and a touch of sugar and olive oil is great taste for green vegetables and sauces

  2. March 27, 2012 7:23 pm

    lov this!

  3. March 28, 2012 5:22 pm

    Oh, good tip regarding the lemon. Thanks!

    • March 29, 2012 11:59 am

      Thanks and your welcome, from the way I think about it pectin make things last longer than usual. Like making jam a replacement for pectin is lemon. It both function the same … pretty much. Therefore, all the sauces I have made always have fresh squeeze lemon unless I use the yellow bottle that is suppose to be pure lemon. So far all my sauces I have made are still good. No growth forming in the bottle of spoilage and still taste fresh.

Leave a Reply

