Skip to content

Katherine Heigl was in Esslingen

February 6, 2012

katherine heigl in esslingen
I was watching “Gottschalk Live” and found out Katherine Heigl was 15 minutes walking distant from my flat on 3 Feb! I was listening to the interview and when I heard she was in Esslingen I thought my ears heard wrong, than she said it again. I was blown away. Before I wonder off to see when she was here Thomas Gottschalk whom I though retired from hosting talk shows said the date. I was like too cool. Than I thought to myself where the heck was I to had miss her. I would normally be in the Stadtmitte shopping if not ease dropping on a person conversation in a cafe by practicing listening and comprehension, lol. Then I remember on that day I had three classes in the afternoon and I was resting up to prepare for a busy day….schande!

Well in case if your wondering why she was in Esslingen. It was to get acquainted to her German root and promote her upcoming movie “One For The Money”. Why in Esslingen you may ask? Not only does she has great taste to visit this beautiful city, but the main reason was to visit her grandfather, Hans Engelhardt’s, house to see the area and the house of where he grew up before leaving for America.

Oh well, I miss an American celeb in my beautiful city. I was telling my Facebook friends that it is funny. Reason why, if I would of seen her I would probably said that she look familiar and continue walking. Not even asking why people are crowded around her. Plus on Friday it was ridiculously cold, I wouldn’t dare to wait outside in the cold to take snap shops of a celeb. Now if it was summer that’s another story, lol. Oh well just great to know someone famous was in walking distance from me…too cool, lol. Almost remind me when we live exactly across the hall from Timothy Hutton in Portland Oregon. That was so cool and another story. I did the hair of a News channel lady for a good year before I left Oregon(I would watch the news just to look at her hair and that she is looking great. Yes, I was anal. I called all my friends to tell them to watch the news, lol), I shook hands many times and ate across the table from the mayor of Detroit..funny thing is we bump up a few times in the past and he stop “me asking, don’t I know you”, my favorite one is meeting Maya Angelou and personally asking her questions face to face. They are just normal people but it is just cool to know them in person of how down to earth they really are.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2012 10:38 pm

    Does she like older men? Ahem.

  2. February 6, 2012 11:39 pm

    I’m more in awe of you meeting Maya Angelou! Heigl’s pretty, but she seems like she’s kind of a nutjob LOL ๐Ÿ™‚

    • February 7, 2012 12:43 pm

      HI D.D. I know right. That is what I like about her on screen. She plays it so well so it make me wonder ๐Ÿ™‚ Meeting Maya Angelou was cool. She was at the University of Michigan and my fiance back then knew I have a love for her and her poems, plus I use to love to write poems back than. Won a few contest back in my days. She was a person I looked up to. After she spoke she said she could answers questions to the first 20 people. I would never forget people running to the area where she was and she asked us to line up. It was super cool. I have a notebook somewhere around the house or in the basement that she signed. It was just a nice cool feeling to talk to someone you admire for making/writing beautiful work.

  3. February 7, 2012 9:43 am

    I’ve never been into the whole celeb thing. They’re peeps just like us.

    That said, there are people in the public eye who I admire for the things they’ve done with their lives. (not *because* they’re famous).

    I would be interested in the questions you asked Maya- unless that is something you wish to keep private.

    Anyway, keep warm Lora. It’s utterly brutal here!

    • February 7, 2012 1:19 pm

      Hi Tasha I totally agree “they are people like us”. There are a handful I would love to meet and they are not all movie celebs. One big one at the moment is Johann Lafer. I would love for him to teach me some tricks and a few dishes. Brooke Elliott from “Drop Dead Diva” and “Adele”..I would love to sit with them and talk about fashion (I love a plus size women well dress and confident in their skin). Stephen King I would just love to sit down and talk about dreams. Those are the people I admire and will know them right away and not second guess that they look familiar, lol. They stand out in my head very well. Even when we live exactly right across the hall form Timothy Hutton, I did not know who he was. I had never watched any of his show/movies until my neighbor next door saw us talking in the hall way, knock on my door like crazy after I went in my flat and asked me “do you know who you was just having a conversation with?” “Yeah our new neighbor.” “Yeah, but do you know who he is.” “Am I suppose to.” “Yes, it is Timothy Hutton from Leverage.” “Never heard of it” “Girrrrl, you should check it out, he is really good.” I checked out Leverage and it was okay, lol

      I asked Maya the usual questions of what made her start writing poetries and was this something she always wanted to do. It been many years. I can remember she mention she had a love for it and it was a great way to express herself. She laugh at my question of is this what she wanted to do because her answer was no. Her plan in life was to do something else but this is what she loved and …..something else. I don’t want to lie or add on to her statement. But this is what I can remember. It has been way over 15 years.

      P.S. I will. It snowed here today. Child, I have too. I am out in that crap everyday…I so can’t wait for Spring!

Leave a Reply

