Skip to content

Something New

January 29, 2012

Every month on Facebook What Sha Cooking has a cooking theme. This month the theme is to try something new. Whether it is a new ingredient or just a recipe. This month was really fun and the members entries are drop mouth beautiful.

There is a tie this month. Congrats to Nancy Josland Dalsin with Sesame-Crusted Frog Legs (with Chili Barbecue Sauce and Wakame Salad), Emma Sadler Mickey Mouse cake, and Lora Victoria fibrous bagels.
food

I am sure your asking so what are new with these entries. What make them different from other foods out on the net? Nancy is an excellent cook who love experimenting and trying different food and recipe. Many times she make her own recipes up by improvising. She has always wanted to cook frog legs and came across a cookbook from the top chefs in Vancouver and found some nice looking frog legs in the Asian market of her area. More of Nancy recipes can be found on her blog Nancy’s Locally International Cuisine

Emma made her mouth dropping cake by using a technique name Tortenaufleger. Tortenaufleger is a cake cover using an image that is printed with edible food coloring on paper. This was her first time using this technique and it came out beautiful!

I made bagels. I always wanted to make bagels but never got to it. One day I was making bread for the week and thought about using some of the dough to try out making bagels. I seen a youtube video and said why not. I was very happy with the result.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 2:08 am

    Frog legs? That’s small time. Go chasing and try to get kangaroo legs !

    • January 30, 2012 10:03 am

      HI Carl, and sorry, Nancy beat you to it. She made “Kangaroo Steaks with Fileno al Mirtilio and Black Quinoa Primavera Fileno al Mirtilio (Blueberry Steak Sauce)” as last year “something new” theme. What can I say, but she is an excellent cook who like to experiment and try new food. I tip my wig off to her (many would say hat, but I will say wig…I wear that more than hats if not hair extensions).

  2. January 30, 2012 6:24 am

    Oh that cake looks absolutely delicious. And I never made bagels before. For some strange reason, bagels seem hard to me, but I think that’s because I am not a bread person lol.

    • January 30, 2012 10:05 am

      HI Kay, I love the cake too. Emma should open up a bakery or a cake business. All the cake she has made and design are absolutely beautiful, fun, and creative.

  3. January 30, 2012 3:53 pm

    Hey Lora!

    I love that you made bagels. Are you going to make more? And if so, would you try different flavors or stick to traditonal?

    • January 30, 2012 5:29 pm

      HI Tasha, thanks I plan to make more once the ones in the freezer are finish. I love flavor and I love fiber. I plan to experiment with different flavor bagels the same time I am making a new loaf of bread. I have a lot of bread books I recently bought for ideas and of course recipe and honestly can’t wait for the one in the freezer to be done, but need to be patient as we eat only one slice per day and bagel on the weekend for breakfast and lunch to go before we go shopping.
      At the moment with experimenting my weekly freshly bread have changed to every two weeks. Which is fine, less mess to clean off the counter top.

  4. January 30, 2012 7:54 pm

    Oohhh, I so did not need to see a cake! I’m trying really hard right now to watch what I eat and lose some weight! 🙂

    I’ve never made bagels but I’ve done soft pretzels. I think there’s some overlap in how they’re made. I love good, hearty breads, too.

    • January 30, 2012 11:01 pm

      A good thing about this beautiful cake above is that it is calorie free and just fatten on the eyes:)))) DD, I have mad pretzel in the past but they came out okay. When you have time could you email me your recipe with direction? Would like to give it another try again one day.

Leave a Reply

