Skip to content

Scrooge

December 16, 2011

Last night my husband told me that I was laughing in my sleep and asked me what was I dreaming of. Which was literally nothing. I was actually analyzing Charles Dickens novel “A Christmas Carol” to myself. You see around this time of the year I tend to watch a lot of Christmas movies because I find them to be funny in it own ways. I have seen so many remake of Scrooge from animation, black and white, color, teeny boppers remakes, and etc.

They all have the same story yet some different situations about a person who lives a selfish life thinking about themselves. Once the ghost of Christmas future come and show them how they die they are ready to change their ways and be nice to people because no one wants to die alone. Perhaps I was dreaming of how the character is still a selfish person. Even though he/she became caring and thoughtful meaning…. The ghost of Christmas past and present did not shake them up enough. They liked the way they treated people and justify the reasons why. Why does it has to come to a future ghost to show them about their own death to make them change. Why not change after seeing how ones decision reflect on others. For me this story is a classic and I will always like it, but it started off with a person being selfish and ended the same way in my opinion.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 6:17 pm

    That’s a really good point. Scrooge doesn’t change his ways based on how his actions affect others, only because he fears what will happen to himself. So ultimately, is he really changed? Seems like his motives are still entirely selfish.

    But I think there’s more to it. By the final scenes he does seem to understand the true meaning of giving. He gets so giddy and happy at the end, giving away money and gifts, it does feel like a real transformation has occurred. It’s not just a sense of relief for having escaped a dark fate, there is real joy in him when he sees the happiness he gives to others. It’s that piece that’s been missing all his life, that he didn’t understand.

    Science has now found that there is a chemical reaction in the brain when we do something good that causes our sense of happiness and makes us want to repeat it. Most people do good things, not simply because we consider it ‘right’ but to experience that sense of happiness that it brings. People volunteer for some project (Habitat for Humanity, trash pick-up at a local park, work in a soup kitchen, donate to charity) for that very reason.

    This is getting into some deep philosophical territory here πŸ˜‰

    • December 16, 2011 9:44 pm

      Hi DD nicely put and your right about the very end. He does seem like he is happy to give away his fortune without counting every cent, but why did it take him to see his grim fate to do so? We all know we are not on this earth forever. Eventually we will become a part of the earth. What we don’t know is how we are going to die. Therefore, I would think that people would treat each other the way they wanted to be treated with love, appreciation, respect, and etc. When not it should not be a surprise to die alone without anyone caring and easily forgetting one existence.

      I also like how you explain about the chemical reaction in the brain. I actually had to smile because I agree with you that some people do good deeds not to brag or for a tax right off just to feel a warmth that they help someone or change someone life.

  2. December 16, 2011 9:59 pm

    I think I have grown into what you feel is the way we should be. I am much more concerned that everyone else is taken care of rather than expecting anything. Part of that comes with being 62 and the other part is that I don’t have any room in this apartment for anything let alone stupid junk presents.

    • December 16, 2011 10:30 pm

      And that is what is wrong with society, some people are always expecting when they do something for someone or give someone something. As DD mention if the chemical reaction goes off in many people perhaps there would not be a high expectation with disappointment.

      For example I can understand helping someone from the kindness of your heart and later you see that same street beggar getting into a nice car or better yet counting his wad of cash in front of you. The next day he moved to another busy spot. People like this make me literally sick. Because you give to them effortless and with a warm heart to find out days later they have no needs but wants. Before I get side track and start to go off I just want to say I tip my hat off to you for thinking about others.

  3. December 19, 2011 7:11 am

    You know.. sometimes I have the tendency to dream about what’s the last thing on TV I was watching as well. I was watching HSN (you know the Home Shopping Network that sells you all kinds of sh*t) and I dreamed I was selling my own hair care line lol. Don’t ask me girl. I said all this to say.. I completely understand πŸ™‚

  4. December 22, 2011 10:19 pm

    hahaha that is so cute Lora, at least it was a feel good dream. Im sure you would of woken up feeling livily after that sleep.
    A merry Xmas to you and loved ones Lora, and may you have a blast into 2012 πŸ™‚
    Ps: OW will be closing in a few days till 25th of Jan, now thats a nice break hey?! will see you guys in a months time.
    Plus ill have my last post that thanks the contributors like yourself:-)
    Stay well and I hope that flu has shaken off before chrissy, xoxo.

    • December 22, 2011 11:34 pm

      Hi OW, that is a very nice break indeed. Enjoy it because time does go fast. Wishing also a wonderful holiday and a blessed New Year!

      P.S. I am feeling better and have been going out for fresh air for a couple of days now. No more sneezing or ill feeling. Just a little cold and I can settle with it:) Talk to you next year…enjoy!!!!!

Leave a Reply

