Skip to content

Airline Selling Your Luggage

December 13, 2011

Last week I was at the nail shop and watching “Exclusive”. It is a short report about things people might want to know. At first I did not know what was going on. They showed people dressing up and showing things they bought for practically nothing. Than further on it explained what the brief segment was about. It was about luggage being auction off and so many people attend buying butt load of luggage from 45E and up. People buy hoping to find jewelries, laptop, and brand names items to sell on eBay or wear themselves. I was watching with my mouth drop open especially after a female bought 3 big luggage and one had on a number lock. She asked for help for it to be open and of course did not get it. Pretty much in simple terms they told her she must find a  way to open it. In which she eventually did. It was a men dress shoes, laptop, and a few files.

I was getting so piss watching it. Why don’t the airline open the luggage before auctioning them off. In many people suitcases their are some type of contact information. A few times my luggage was misplace and they tried to pay hubby and me off with $50 airport vouchers each to buy clothes for over night. Hell that can’t even buy me one jeans. How is that going to buy us both an outfit and underwear from that? We always had to give them hell and call them night and day until they find where our baggage was misplace. Therefore, seeing this tv show made me think. Does the airport as a quota? Is this is why so many baggage are missing? People please start if you don’t do this already packing your important things with some overnight clothes in your carry on. Label your suitcases with more than one tag. Because it is so easy for tags to be rip off or do what some people do. They buy personal tags for their suitcase with their name and contact info. When all fail and they lose you suitcase…be like a blood hound and stay on their arse until you get back your belonging.

Interest reading I found after writing this post:

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 12:28 am

    It is strange that they wouldn’t unlock the bags because they tell you when you check a bag that if there is a lock on it, they may break it if it is selected for random screening. We had one of those flyers saying that they screened one of our suitcases (although we didn’t have a lock on it). So it seems silly they couldn’t unlock it to see if there was identifying information. I thought when the airlines sold unclaimed baggage it was after attempts had been made to contact the owner and after verifying that the owner hadn’t called/come in to collect it after a certain period of time. Now I wonder.

    I agree though anything that’s very important should be in your carry on. I always take my laptop, travel documents, etc. with me. I usually fly Delta and they do the “one plus” thing where you can take a carry on suitcase that can fit in the overhead (which I can fit at least a week worth of clothes in) and a laptop case, purse, briefcase or something similar size that fits under the seat. I have always used a back pack with a laptop sleeve and never had a problem.

    • December 14, 2011 12:42 am

      Hi Amanda when my mother suitcase was missing no one called her after she made a report. I had to stress to my mom she need to be on them. What do they really care about someone luggage. It is more the person who luggage missing responsibility to be on them. I can hear their excuses already how we are not the only one, or focus, and other stuff they have to deal with.

      I mentioned to my hubby about baggage being auction off. He informed me that this is not new news. Well for me it was new, because I did not knew. Now I understand why he get crazy when his bags are missing, lol. But he explained that if they open the bags and reported to a person they found their missing bag and it was lock with a key or number lock. A dishonest person can lie about what was in the bag and claimed something missing. Therefore they do not open bags. Which to me is a load of crock. Because as you mentioned if it was a random screening they would. This is why my curios mind think they must have a quota.

      Your lucky with being able to use a book bag and carry on. For my recent trip this year to and from the Sate they told me with Lufthansa that a book bag even though it has all my gadgets inside is also counted as a carry on and I must decide which bag I want to pay for.

      • December 14, 2011 1:27 am

        Amanda I found a site that mention what you said that protocol is to check inside missing suitcase to look for a contact information or name and match it with the missing complaint. http://www.travelinsurancereview.net/2010/08/26/what-happens-to-lost-luggage/

        If they cannot identify the owners after searching, the agents will enter descriptions of the bags and their contents into the World Tracer, a worldwide lost-and-found system that matches claims with bags. If the bags remain unclaimed after 90 days, the airlines will donate certain items in the bags to charities and dispose of the remaining contents.

        Nice to know airlines have protocol but it does not seem like they are following in thoroughly. If so the files left in the suitcase the female bought would of have some type of information about the owner of the luggage.

  2. December 14, 2011 1:06 am

    Seems there is some kind of rip off in everything we do it just daily living.

    • December 14, 2011 1:13 am

      Yes, but awful daily living. People pay so much already for a plane tickets and sometime for their suitcase. To get back little or no compensation of what was in their suitcase. I think this is awful for the plane company making more money from us from every angles. Have to pay more for the island and emergency exit seat. On some plane you have to pay for carry on regardless if it is one. Sorry for ranting.

    • blackwatertown permalink
      February 9, 2012 2:13 am

      Good point – this does seem like a rip-off.

      • February 9, 2012 9:05 am

        Thank you Blackwatertown. When flying I don’t think about if the flight is going to be good or not. I am thinking and hoping all my luggage has arrive at my destination.

  3. December 14, 2011 1:40 am

    Girl.. I don’t blame you. I would’ve been pissed watching this as well. I’ve never had my bags misplaced before, but I am definitely always worried about it when I fly. I know some people aren’t even bothering with the airlines anymore and are shipping their luggage through FedEx because it’s cheaper.

    • December 14, 2011 9:45 am

      And I wish you never have to deal with a lost luggage. It is total headache. I have heard of sending luggage through FedEx as well since the price of over weight baggage as increased. It is actually a smart idea.

  4. December 14, 2011 7:46 pm

    Did they say how long airlines waited on average before putting lost luggage on auction?

    • December 14, 2011 8:34 pm

      The average of three months if they do not find who the bag belong to or if no one made a claim or as I mention to be on them. It goes to action. I even checked to make sure and found a few links that also said 3 months. The link above to Amanda says 90 days.

      http://www.guardian.co.uk/travel/2003/mar/09/observerescapesection4 This site says after three months

      http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-473374/Lost-luggage–lucrative-trade-missing-cases.html this one does too

      http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/lost-luggage-case-histories-6163622.html also this one

      The last link is very interesting. It give more detail of what goes on at the auction place and a static report and few different airlines. It also mention that the airline or auction place does open the baggage to get out valuable items to sell separately and to make sure no passport are inside. I find this to be distasteful reading this. Because the suitcase with the person information can be easily return to them.

      “Before the bags are sold, the staff at Greasby’s rifle through them, removing any valuables or nasties. “We’ve got to check that there aren’t any passports or other important documents in there,” says Darren Miller, who has worked at Greasby’s for eight months. He’s coy about the treasures unearthed by staff, saying that the most exciting items he’s ever found have been camcorders and jewellery (subsequently sold as separate lots).” this is quoted from the last link.

  5. February 23, 2012 9:10 pm

    In the US there is a store in a very small town in northeastern Alabama called UNclaimed Baggage. It’s been around since 1970 and has a contract to purchase, by weight, the suitcases that the airlines say are unclaimed and we say are lost.

    • February 24, 2012 8:46 am

      HI Customtripplanning, Thank you so much for commenting and giving more insight. Because this topic truly interest me. I have a question. After Unclaim Baggage purchase the baggage don’t they also open it up to look inside to see the content? IF so, and they find paperwork with a person information do they even try to contact the person as what the airport should of done and just blow it off because they bought the luggage and it is the person lost?

      I am always curious because I travel a lot and I am never thinking about how my flight will be. I am always thinking will my luggage be there waiting for me when I get off. It at times get so nerve wrecking.

  6. September 6, 2014 10:15 pm

    It is usually a good suggestion to spend money on baggage that
    has wheels on the bottom. I have some suitcases that
    take up at least a quarter of the allowance empty. This seems couterintuitive at very
    first, but you want to have the heaviest things at the major of
    the backpack so that the fat is distributed evenly straight
    down your back and onto your hips, rather than pulling on your spine.

  7. October 8, 2014 3:45 am

    Hi, after reading this remarkable post i am too delighted to share my familiarity here
    with colleagues. invitatii nunta botosani

  8. October 13, 2014 8:34 am

    The healthy condition of the hair depends, to a very large extent,
    on the intake of sufficient amounts of essential nutrients in the
    daily diet. Skin  VCO can be used internally and externally as an effective addition to your skincare routine.

    Lately, the coconut oil has been given much attention not only
    for its use in cooking but also for its value as a hair
    and skin care product.

Leave a Reply

