Skip to content

It is Always the Thought that Counts

November 28, 2011

John birthday has came and went. We did not properly celebrate it until this weekend. In the past I would buy him lavishing gifts and treat him to exclusive restaurants and a movie. Everything was on me for that day. Since I been here it has not been the same. This year I wanted to make the weekend great for him. Plus it been like two weeks we have not really seen each other. I knew he would be tired after flying so I planned a nice quiet weekend with just the two of us.
johnbrunch

The night he came home I had a cake for him waiting and sang to him. In the morning, I started the day off with not bothering him by jumping on him like a dog to wake up. Yes, I am a bit annoying and crazy. My family can vouch for it. Instead I got out of bed quietly and walk to the store for a few things I did not have on hand and for fresh croissants. I decorated our living room table nicely with what was suppose to be a surprise breakfast into brunch. My poor baby was so tired he slept to almost noon. Thank goodness it was not a hot breakfast I was thinking to serve. When he woke up he gave me my hello kiss and ask me why is the living room door close. I told him half the truth that I was trying to keep the heat in. He open up the door and smiled from ears to ears. Gave me a big kiss and my bear hug to thank me. We ate and watch a little television together.
WasbiPizza
Late afternoon we finally decided to get out and do something. We window shop and looked at new gadgets. Looked around and saw we really have everything in the gadget world we like. Nothing interested us. Than John asked me if I would like to go any where I said why not just relax in tonight and get a few movies. As he was getting settle when we came home I took out my pizza dough I prepare the day before and started to make theΒ  Wasabi Mozzarella pizza with the works. Enjoyed it with the Dr. Pepper and Root beer. I swear our video place is like an American blockbuster. The workers are easy going and easy to talk with. We always talk about what movies are good and what sucks. They always have a few American items. Such as Homer Simpson Duff beer, Dr. Pepper, Root Beer, Sprite, 7 ups, tasty BBQ sauce, and Ben and Jerry ice cream….but Benn and Jerry you can find at Subway and some big chain stores. This is all I notice so far. But it is funny when they do have new stuff one lady in particular always tell me “we have some American items you might be interesting in” with a big smile on her face for me to ask her “really, where at”, lol.
AmericanProducts

The day was nice and John was happy and that was my goal. It is not always what you may have in your pockets or in the bank. It is what you have in your heart and showing your motivational creativity that counts.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2011 3:29 pm

    πŸ™‚

    Lovely put.

    It is the little things that count. A kind word. Gesture. A surprise little gift just to let the person know you were thinking about them.

    And your pizza looks delicious!

    • November 28, 2011 3:42 pm

      Thank you and yes it is. Too many people are thinking what to buy what to buy especially around this time leading to Christmas. I can honestly say living here has tone me down a lot. Don’t get me wrong I was never those “what to buy people”. I am too cheap at times to be and always think why did people create email and egreeting card for not too use. So most of my friends and associate know each year they will get a word or a paragraph from me, lol, and once in a while a surprise mini packet in the mail.

      And it was. When I use more than one cheese I don’t use sauce so this pizza was the bomb! It has mozzarella in the crust, my greedy butt is eat not waste not, lol. Wasabi cheese for the base, salami and schinkens, bell pepper, sprinkle mozzarella on top, kummel seed (fennel seed) with dry salad sprinkle both on top of the crust for a nice taste. John and I tore it up! He asked is there any more. I told him I have plan for the remaining dough in the fridge. Next time, lol

  2. November 28, 2011 9:39 pm

    I JUST LOVE this. And you’re right.. it’s the little things that count most. It’s not always about the lavish gifts. I bet you two had some fun ;). This post is just too cute..

    • November 28, 2011 10:11 pm

      Thanks Kay I see the wink, lol, but it was more of a relaxing weekend to kick the breeze with not only my husband but also with my best friend. I like days like that.

  3. November 30, 2011 5:26 pm

    That breakfast looks delicious, just like in a Kaffeehaus πŸ™‚ Such a nice gift and worth so much more than some pricey present. Your man is lucky!

  4. December 2, 2011 12:21 pm

    Wow as I’m reading it seems like a Poem for me:) you are sweet and you both are precious by just reading all you guys shared at those days.:) Your husband must love you big and you to him in returned.:)
    I wish every couple could be possibly thesame so that the flame of the relationship will continue and never dies.:)

    Have a romantic weekend y’all,
    Bloggeryenyen

Leave a Reply

