Skip to content

Are you Kidding me Elves does not Exist?

November 14, 2011

I am a doll collector and I collect dolls from all around the world of places I or John have been. Each year I have a tendency to collect Santas. More so human size or dwarf size, and rarely little Santas that are not breakable but does not look like cheap stuff dolls. More so porcelain face and strong plastic rubbery hands with sturdy strong boots. Last weekend I looked around my flat and thought wow, where can I put the new Santa I have my eyes on. He would look great in the office standing next to our desk, but than who would really see it. When company come over I like to close the office door. One must have some privacy now and than. Than something hit me. Each year I have a Santa budget, lol, sound funny but I do because Santas  are quite expensive in Germany especially the type I am looking for. In the state you can buy one which is on sale for at least $50-$75 if you watch it each week after the New Year. Here in Germany what does not sell goes back in the warehouse and is place back on the floor once the season has come around again.

Than I thought, hey wouldn’t it be nice to have a theme. I am always having theme in “What Sha Cooking” cooking group on Facebook so why not a Christmas theme. I needed Elves! I looked all weekend around for Elves dolls could not find anything and when I did I found fairies. I place in the search engine gnom end up with grass elf and gargals. I typed in elfs dolls, elves dolls, elf puppe, santa helper dolls, and nothing. When I did found what I had in mind, the dolls where located in America from a lady who make them herself. I said forget it, I want about 3 elves and they are going to break the bank when I order from her. I could easily go to the doll houses close by but I know there prices are way high just for normal size dolls. I am in there like every weeks with a big smile on my face. A must stop in when walking in the area:) So I ask John why can’t I find Elves dolls here. He explain to me unlike Santa who was a real man elves are not. It will be easier to find things that have more substance than not in Germany. I said, “aint that some crap.” I need elves to start working on my theme. I could not stomach elves being non existing in Germany beside seeing children stuff toys. Than I ran across wiki:

An elf (plural elves) is a being of Germanic mythology. The elves were originally thought of as a race of divine beings (wights, vættir) endowed with magical powers, which they use both for the benefit and the injury of mankind. In medieval Norse mythology, they appear to have been divided into light elves and dark elves, difficult to delineate from the Æsir (gods) on one hand and the dvergar (dwarves) on the other.

In early modern and modern folklore, they become associated with the fairies of Romance folklore and assume a diminutive size, often living mainly in forests but also underground in hills or rocks, or in wells and springs. 19th-century Romanticism attempted to restore them to full stature, making them men and women of great beauty, often depicted as very young.

From their depiction in Romanticism, elves entered the 20th-century high fantasy genre in the wake of the published work of J. R. R. Tolkien (especially the posthumous publication of his Silmarillion where Tolkien’s treatment of the relation of light elves, dark elves and dwarves is made explicit).

The “Christmas elves” of contemporary popular culture were popularized during the 1870s in the United States, in publications such as Godey’s Lady’s Book.

So now I am on a mission to find dwarf size elves hopefully before December hits. I have reasons for all my dates, lol.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 6:51 pm

    Oh, that’s interesting! I knew about elf lore in German mythology, but not that Christmas Elves was an American invention. Or, discovery. 😉

    btw, Could you tell me the name of the doll shop?

  2. November 14, 2011 7:15 pm

    Hi Lora,
    Have you looked on Ebay for elves? I see some leprechaun-like ones that are green with a little red out in the antique shops this time of year. good luck!

    • November 14, 2011 7:29 pm

      Hi Lori, yes I have and all they have here on ebay and amazon.de are the stuff dolls more for children. I think it would be easier to find them in America than here. Now I know next time I am at home around the Christmas holiday to check out the stores and online, but thank you though. I plan to continue looking.

  3. November 14, 2011 7:50 pm

    It seems strange you couldn’t get them here (and it seems strange me being able to say “here” haha) if they originated in Germany. I searched “buying elves in Germany” in Google under the Shopping section. I found a couple which sound like they may be what you’re looking for, although they’re about the same as the price you say you could find for Santas after Christmas (and they’re only 10 to 15 inches high; I don’t know if that’s smaller than you like).
    http://compare.ebay.com/like/250763806925?var=lv&ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar&_lwgsi=y
    http://compare.ebay.com/like/380362791677?var=lv&ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar&_lwgsi=y

    I have heard, at least in Heidelberg, there are Christmas markets starting in November that sell holiday themed things. I wonder if you could find something you like at one of them. Since you are looking in Germany you might also want to try searching the German terms for elves. While it is elf/elves, if you are looking for a female elf, it’s elfe, and there is a mischievous kind of elf called a Kobold.

    • November 14, 2011 10:05 pm

      That was so weird. I just notice on my Dashboard your comment was pending. I normally never have pending comments. Please excuse me for seeing this now.

    • November 14, 2011 10:11 pm

      Thank Amanda but those are not the one. Those are more for outside decoration like garden elf. Plus those break too easy. I am looking for doll type the most 3 or 4 foot tall with porcelain face and soft body. They won’t sell them at the Christmas market. You will find tons of craft things to decorate the door, tables, candles, and etc more hand work crafty stuff and ofcourse ton of food. I was wishing though that one of the links was the elf I was looking for:( but thank you.

      • November 15, 2011 7:08 pm

        You’re welcome. Sorry they weren’t the kind you’re looking for.Searching Christmas elf doll came up with more than the other search but didn’t really see any of what you’re looking for, mostly smaller dolls.Maybe a dollmaker here would be willing to create you one.

  4. November 14, 2011 8:08 pm

    Wait.. I’m still shocked at the information you just told me.. They don’t put anything on sale after the holidays? See.. I would be pissed off lol. I LIVE for the after holiday sales. That’s the best time to buy everything..

    • November 14, 2011 8:22 pm

      Child you have me cracking up over here. I actually burst out loud laughing reading your comment. They have sales before the holiday. I have not notice any after holiday sale here so far. It sucks but if you keep an eye on the sale paper each week you can find sale though out the year, but not on any special holiday. Special holidays the stores are a lock down. No half day shopping. Most of the time those days are a church holiday and they rather see you in church or spending time with your family than shopping, lol. Welcome to my little part of the world:)

      By the way clothes are the one exceptions. They stay on the rack until mark down and sold.

  5. November 15, 2011 5:31 pm

    Check Scandinavian shops for Nisse or Julenissen (Christmast elf).

    http://www.stavanger-web.com/jul/christma.htm

    • November 16, 2011 11:39 am

      Oh my goodness those are some cute elves. I found so many of them thanks only problem are they are short. I will continue hunting though because I saw in a person blog they had a picture of the sizes elves I am looking for that look like they are in some type of museum since bars are wrap around them. So I know for certain the size I am looking for does exist, thank goodness. Thank you so much DD I would of never thought to look up Scandinavian Christmas elf or use their names. I learn something new all the time. Thank you!

  6. November 16, 2011 11:35 am

    Thanks Amanda. I have two doll makers in my area and one that I could buy and make my own parts but that store have baby size dolls. The other have all type because they make and sell. I know both stores are quite expensive but I might well go and check out to see if the price are decent. If not I will continue hunt each month until I can find three or start collecting one each year to get my theme going. After the elves I want to get some reindeers for my Santa’s sleigh I have (they must be a certain height to the sleigh size in which I have, and these can be plastic because I plan to use plastic string to hang them up as if they are about to fly). Last plan is to get a life size Mrs. Claus. My little mission will keep me busy for a while:)

  7. November 25, 2011 2:33 am

    Who would of thought, they do exsist lol, had to share, hope you have that little elf as part of your doll collection now, how cute 🙂

    • November 28, 2011 10:08 am

      Unfortunately not, it is hard to find something close of what I am looking for so far. If not this year this will be my hunt each year until I find it. I have a few other things I hunt around for so this is a habit for me to find things a bit out of reach for me. Like for example my favorite color is red. I always wanted a red 2 inches low heel shoes or lower. Since I broke my foot 11 years ago it is hard for me to walk in high heels. For years I hunted for a red glossy 2 inch heels or lower shoes in my size and found it last year on Ebay from a transsexual site. Thank goodness for beautiful men 😀

Leave a Reply

