Skip to content

Homemade Bake Potato Chips

November 3, 2011

Man I love me some potato chips but only certain types. Since living in Germany I tend to buy less chips than I would in the State. Reason why, there are a lot of bell pepper chips, peanuts chips, tortilla chips which likely to have bell pepper, and salt and pepper chips. Salt and pepper chips is my favorite here and the only thing I can stomach. Don’t get me wrong they have a chip isle here but you will see listing of red bell pepper chips which are call Paprika chips more than the others.

Today I had the munchy for potatoes chips and I know the store close by does not sell the salt and pepper chips that I like. Plus I was not in the mood to walk a hour total for a small bag of chips. So my light bulb came on and I said to myself. I have potatoes, salt, and pepper. I am going to make my own chips. Plus it will be actually healthier for me. Because the potatoes are organic, I am baking them and not frying, and I get to control the salt content. No hidden ingredients what so every.

First thing, turning the oven on 250C=482F. Lay cookie sheet on rack. If you do not have  cookie sheets you have to butter a pan for the potatoes slices not to stick. Slice the potatoes how you want (thin/thick). Place it neatly on the cookie sheet not over lapping each other. Sprinkle your season of your choice. Put tray in the center of oven. Set timer for 12-15 minutes and remove (for thinly cut) from oven. Lift potatoes off of paper so that the air can get to both side. Let sit for 15 minutes and enjoy your very own crunchy, crisp, bake potato chips. You will notice a few of the chips have brown spots. This is normal for thin chips especially the ones that are sitting to close to the back of the oven where the fan is. As long as it is not black you can eat them.

home made bake potatoe chips

These are my first potatoes chips I have every made. Many people told me in the past it is cheaper to make my own but I am like it is quicker to buy a bag, lol. Which both are true, except when your not in distant, lol. When you have the urge you can use the small potatoes that no one like peeling for your chips and bake them instead of frying. I be darn if I waste oil for frying slices of potatoes so why not bake them.

If your into healthy homemade snacks and food from around the world join us on Facebook What Sha Cooking

14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2011 11:50 pm

    They only really do paprika chips and that’s it… I was over the moon when I found other flavours lol

    • November 4, 2011 7:15 am

      Hi Aneesa, they do other chips not all the flavor you would see in America or Canada. But there is a high majority of paprika chips than any other chips. You will never have a problem finding it, lol.

      • November 4, 2011 12:03 pm

        one thing is for sure… germans have no variety in things… well hardly lol

  2. November 4, 2011 10:37 am

    hi That’s looks good. I love chips a lot.:)

    Hope to hear you too,
    Bloggeryenyen

    http://www.chikawithyeneyes.wordpress.com for my blog site.

  3. November 6, 2011 1:05 pm

    What a fun idea…making your own chips.

    And yes, as much as I love living here…one of the things I miss the most is variety!

    And I also have to often giggle at what they consider to be “spicy”.

    • November 6, 2011 9:47 pm

      Thanks, I have seen microwave chips, but I hesitated on that method. I like using the microwave but not if it is not necessary. Tasha may I ask what is your favorite chips here?

      • November 8, 2011 6:30 pm

        Of course you may ask. 🙂

        I’m actually not a chips person per se. But some brand did have a wasabi-flavored one which was really good. I’m afraid that I don’t recall the brand, though.

  4. November 7, 2011 7:58 am

    I love potato chips and honestly,.. I’m tired of getting a bag filled with air and no damn chips lol. So these Homemade Bake Potato Chips sounds like a great idea to me.

    • November 7, 2011 10:05 am

      lol, oh my goodness I know how your feel. I wonder if you do the same thing I do. Which is too squeeze the bag and pick which one have the most, lol.

  5. November 8, 2011 8:02 pm

    I know which brand your talking about. I don’t know it by name but I have seen it. I love wasabi but never thought about eating it in a chip. I was afraid it might been to sharp. Now I got to try it:)

  6. November 9, 2011 11:44 am

    They weren’t sharp at first. But after the first few… 🙂

  7. November 14, 2011 9:47 pm

    I used to make my own potato chips with my grandma, but we fried them. In the oven is probably much healthier.

    • November 14, 2011 9:59 pm

      🙂 I think baking is. Plus I am cheap, I like a bottle of oil to last me a month or more. Very few occasion I deep fry.

Leave a Reply

