Skip to content

Cooking using Leaves

October 31, 2011

Every month on Facebook What Sha Cooking has a cooking theme.

This month the theme is leaves. To use it as the main focal point of a dish, drink, or a dessert. The leaves could be use in the background as a prop, design on a entry, or to be cook with.

I was totally impress with all the group participants. They honestly blew me away and done a great job. As like last theme there is a tie! Congratulation to both Emma Sadler and John Noel for the October theme game “Leaves”! Emma made a “Savory Mince Pie” with leaves design and John made “Conkies” using banana leaves the Bajan version. Both recipes can be seen in the group What Sha Cooking. If your into Caribbean cooking John has a Caribbean Recipe Group also on Facebook worth checking out.

octobertheme
In a quick note. I would like to say, “I thank every single members at What Sha Cooking. You all rock!!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2011 2:11 am

    Can you do anything with Christmas tree needles?

    • November 1, 2011 9:50 am

      LOL, Carl you be amaze. Beside burning, sweeping them off the floor, and using it for decoration. I am sure they can be place among food as well as a design. But you warn your guess to remove it first before eating.

  2. November 2, 2011 6:37 am

    I never thought about cooking with leaves before.. this definitely opens up new possible recipes to try. I have to read more about this. Thanks for posting this girl

    • November 2, 2011 8:59 am

      Your welcome, You be amaze what is out there we can use to cook with. Like last year the banana plant. This month the theme is “Must Have”. The group must work together and name at least three ingredients that they typically use or must have in their kitchen. If everyone work together on this theme it will not limit on what one can make. I am interested to see the final list this Saturday to post. To see what we can make using the list. It is pretty difficult this month. But it remind me of the days when I was younger and we did not have much in our house. We had to make due and use what we had.

    • November 4, 2011 10:45 am

      There’s tons of stuffs to cook into leaves. Rice also can be cook to a leaves and some fish.
      I was born in Philippines which most Filipinos cook their meals to the leaves in a native cultural ways.:)

      Best regards,
      Bloggeryenyen http://www.chikawithyeneyes.wordpress.com for my blog site.

  3. November 4, 2011 10:42 am

    Made me hungry by staring at the leaves lol but yes I think I should grab my late breakfast now:)

    Best regards,
    Bloggeryenyen http://www.chikawithyeneyes.wordpress.com for my blog site.

Leave a Reply

