Skip to content

Ludwigsburg’s Pumpkin Festival

October 10, 2011

Ludwigsburg’s pumpkin festival is considered one of the world’s largest pumpkin exhibition, with more than 400,000 pumpkins and over 450 different varieties from all over the world. The annual event is located at Ludwigsburg’s Blühendes Barock gardens inside the castle grounds in Germany. This event is held annually every year from September 2 through November 6. Each year there is a different theme such as Egyptian, sea mammals, and etc, this year it is all about the dinosaurs.

At the festival there are lot of things to do and see. They have little water boats sliding down a ramp as if one was in an amusement park, an area for the babies to cool off. Quite funny actually. I walked though an area full of naked buns and had to giggle passing by watching the little ones trying to stay cool playing in the fountain. Pumpkin boat race, pumpkin weight test for the biggest pumpkin in the world, and a beautiful environment to captures many beautiful photos.

Now we all know no one goes to a festival without eating or shopping. If you only thought pumpkins can make pies or pudding get out of here. There were pumpkin risotto, soup and spaghetti to pumpkin “Maultaschen” (Swabian ravioli), strudel, pumpkin candy and champagne. The list was endless. I almost bought a cookbook with a few pumpkins dishes but I saw John face, I smiled, and put it back on the shelf, lol. I guess he knew I would probably just cook one dish out of the book and call it the day, lol, bad habits I know.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2011 3:54 pm

    Love pumpkin spice latte and there is also pumpkin spice ice cream

    • October 10, 2011 4:02 pm

      Hi Carl you have some very good taste buds! A lady from my little cooking group made pumpkin spice latte. I plan to give it a try. She said it taste like a slice of pumpkin pie. Once I get my hands on the spices I am going to make it:) It is funny they did not have the ice cream over here. They should think about it and add it to the list for next year. It was surely a hot day when we went.

  2. October 10, 2011 8:07 pm

    Oddly I’m not a fan of pumpkin. I like them as decorations but have never cared for pumpkin pie or pumpkin-flavored anything. They smell great when you carve them and put a candle in them, though 🙂

    • October 10, 2011 8:38 pm

      HI DD, between me, you, and the readers I am not either. Living here I tend to grab on to things that I would normally not care for or over looked in America. Being here when I see pumpkins or get to taste a little piece of a pie or anything it trigger my mind to the typical Thanksgiving dinner and of course Halloween.

  3. October 11, 2011 2:04 am

    Are those dinosaurs made of pumpkins? That is crazy cool!!!! We have a pumpkin festival nearby also…http://www.pumpkinfestival2011.org/ Check out the pics 🙂 Love pumpkin anything..

    • October 11, 2011 6:41 am

      Yes, they are:) I checked out the link. Now your pumpkin festival is a real festival. It look like fun and more creative!

  4. October 11, 2011 5:32 am

    Wow, the pumpkin festival looks like a lot of fun. And that castle, breathtakingly beautiful. And of course the food sounds divine

    • October 11, 2011 6:45 am

      Fun naw, more of a nice relaxing atmosphere for hanging out with friends, family, and picture taking. Hubby and I met up two of our friends there and they made it fun just being in their company. I would of just went to take pictures and call it the day. Oh the castle photo is only one piece of a wall. The place is humungous! Unable to take a photo of it, if not in a plane.

  5. October 17, 2011 5:57 pm

    The more pumpkin the better, IMO! I wish I could take Li’l D to this festival, or even to the pumpkin patch back in my hometown. I’m determined to find a pumpkin-y place to take him this year, though, for many reasons.

    It’s fun to imagine everything you’ve described. 🙂

    • October 17, 2011 9:33 pm

      Thanks Deborah, I have a good feeling you will find Li’l D a nice place for a pumpkin patch or festival. That is what I miss so much being here. The hayrides and bobbing for apples. It is funny how one don’t appreciate things as much until it is no longer in their life.

Leave a Reply

