Skip to content

What is your Coffee Cup Telling You

September 6, 2011

I was never a big coffee drinker until I move here to Germany. I never understood the fascination of coffee. Coffee always smelled good to me but tasted nasty. When I use to work at McDonald as a teen one of my responsibility was to make coffee. A few times in drive thru we were low on coffee or was out of caffeinated/decaf. So sometime I would mix both coffee we had together not thinking they had a certain taste. They look the same and smell the same too me. Heck they both was nasty too. But the customers knew the difference and so did my coworkers.

Coming here to Germany my husband said that we must have a coffee machine at home. It is the German custom to offer people tea or coffee. My attitude back then was to offer people water. My coffee abilities sucked big time as you read above and I always have bottle of mineral water on hand. Therefore, John mention that he will teach me to use the machines and how to make coffee. We have went through 3 coffee machines all different training. Each one had a newer function and was getting to the Starbucks coffee taste he love. We recently invest in a new coffee machine about three months back. So far it is a keeper and I am loving it! It is high tech and taste exactly like Starbucks coffee. It makes many style of coffees, create thick creamy milk foam, I can program my own style of drink and so can John. We don’t have to reset it each time. The program comes in many different languages. It is so easy to clean and maintain. We just need a higher table for it to sit on, but I am quite picky. I would like something dark brown with a hint of cherry or maple wood, a bit slender, and have a bottle rack underneath to hold all the wine and sekts bottle. My kitchen is getting ridiculous again. So I am still keeping an eye open every where we go.

I have been looking at coffee cups for some time now. Once we get the table I would like to have variety of coffee cups style for each form of coffee if possible. So far I have bought the Latte glass coffee cups and it was well worth it. I smile like a big kid when I see the separation. My neighbor for a gift gave me a small espresso size cup and plate set. I plan to try it on the weekend to see if it pass if not I will look for those too which will be easy to find. I think the cappuccino cups will be a bit of a challenge. I like things that stand out and give a nice cool look. Browsing through Amazon I found a few coffee cups that crack me up or thought how disgusting who would drink from that. I will post the photos below so that you can see what I am talking about.

coffee cups

Do you have a special type of coffee you like or a funny cup saying a few words or stand out from others? IF you don’t what would your coffee cups say and why?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2011 8:41 pm

    I think it’s like the difference between real chocolate and processed milk chocolate, once you’ve tasted the real thing and your taste buds and old mental habit association has adjusted, you wonder what the hell you were doing before lol. The real thing has depth of flavour, is truly mood enhancing and is actually good for you.

    I’m not really a coffee drinker but I can tell the difference in aromas and I like ‘substitute’/alternative coffee i.e. basically chicory, guarana, figs and malted barley. It can have other things like wheat, acorns, dandelions etc. It has a more nutty taste to it – but I do think the love of pure chocolate and coffee is similar especially as they are complimentary, and can be bitter or spicy too.

    Truth be told though, I’m a herbal tea drinker when I’m not drinking smoothies or juices but I do indulge in the above now and then. It sounds like your taste buds are about to get some pampering.

    • September 6, 2011 9:27 pm

      Hi Dapperdolly, well I am loving the real thing. My husband laugh at me each time I go for seconds. I too have to smile at myself because I use to give coffee drinkers a yuck look, lol.
      I never knew they have alternative coffees. I plan to check that out once our bag is low. You have me now curious. Thank you very much for stopping by.

  2. September 7, 2011 4:34 am

    My youngest sister gave me a coffee mug she (rightly) felt was perfect for me:
    “A positive attitude won’t solve everything, but will annoy enough people to be worth the effort.”

    I loved using that cup until I realized it was far, far too small for me. I now use a weird face mug my friend left for me when he left the company.

    I use whatever cup’s clean at home, although I have special fondness for a Li’l D/Halloween mug also given me by my youngest sister. 🙂

    • September 7, 2011 10:12 am

      Hi Deborah, lol, I love the mug slogan. It is so right!
      May I ask what make the face mug your friend left for you weird?
      Talking about Halloween October is right around the corner. Have you have an idea what Li’l D going as or is it a bit too early to decide?

  3. September 7, 2011 6:30 pm

    I have so many coffee mugs already, but mere moments ago was thinking I need another one, with a skull and crossbones on it for my office 😉 I like the one with the brass knuckles up there in the pic. I recently quit drinking coffee at work, it’s too much trouble to make a thermos to carry with me, and I hate the stuff they sell here, so I drink more water and tea now, though.

  4. rosejacqui permalink
    September 13, 2011 6:56 pm

    Thanks for stopping by. I loved the coffee cups. I wish I could drink coffee but I can’t. I used to when I was younger…….. I get super-charged with all that caffeine. Would be up for hours, that was ideal for me when studying for exams!
    .
    You should try Blue Mountain Coffee, from Jamaica………easily one of the best in the world!!!

    • September 13, 2011 7:07 pm

      LOL Rose, you have magnificent taste. I am originated from Jamaica and Blue Mountain Coffee does taste yummy when my mother make it for me. When I do it for some odd reason it taste mess up.

  5. rosejacqui permalink
    September 13, 2011 10:09 pm

    Me toooooooo!!!!!!!!
    Whaa gwaan?

    • September 13, 2011 10:13 pm

      lol, notin really, lol. I only know a little Patois but I can read it and understand it when I hear it very fine. I was born in Kingston, but raised up in Michigan and you?

      • rosejacqui permalink
        September 13, 2011 11:49 pm

        Born in Kgn. Raised in Clarendon. Lived in Bermuda finally migrated to Canada.

  6. September 14, 2011 9:16 am

    Well it is a pleasure meeting you!

Leave a Reply

