Skip to content

Wilhelma Zoo

September 5, 2011

Growing up I use to love the zoo. But as I am getting older I am learning that I did not love the zoo because of the animals. I love the zoo because of all the difference species from around the world in which I would never get to see if zoos had not exist. Recently John and I went to the Wilhelma zoo and it is quite beautiful.

Wilhelma is not a zoo in the generally accepted sense of the word – it’s the only zoological botanical gardens in Europe. And with its combination of plants, animals and historic buildings unique worldwide.”wilhelma.de”

I love the landscaping, the areas to rest and take photos, the feel as if your in the jungle, or a tropical island. But I did not enjoyed seeing the animals cage up. I felt as the cages/rooms was not significantly large enough. That they have this beautiful land and try to maintain so many animals for people to view. A few times I shredded tears for those animals that John had to ask me if I am ready to go and a few other times the animals and I were having a conversation.

Some children can be so rude. Their parents no better. We were around the monkey areas where a few were in cages, some in a glass room, and perhaps one type in a open area surrounded with water. There was a little boy who was throwing things at the monkey/apes in the cage to make them move around. He and his friends was laughing and so was his parents. I don’t understand why they thought that was funny. How would they like to be cage up and have the monkeys/apes throw things at them. I was about to say something, but John pulled me away to the next viewing which was monkeys and apes in one room. You can tell that they did not wanted to be bother. A few even turned their back to the crowd. I can totally understand what was going through their heads. Hell if I was locked up and not in my normal habitat, was a free show for people 365 days a year plus leap year I would of said screw all you humans as well.

Beside the awful child and his parent, small areas for some of the animals to roam, the atmosphere was beautiful. John and I played around in the rain securely protecting the camera from getting wet. We walked and talk taking a look through the gardens, aquarium, etc and headed to dinner and called it the night. If you care for any information about the Wilhelma the site as English and Deutsch.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


If you’re ever in Berlin and would love to check out their zoo in which allows many of the animals to roam without bars. Here is a link from Gypsyscarlett “Berlin Zoo- 19th Century and Now” giving insight along with information.

Happy Labor Day to everyone who celebrates today!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2011 6:24 pm

    Looks like a delightful place. I wonder how the tropical animals like those flamingos adjust to your winters?

    • September 6, 2011 10:29 am

      Hi Carl, I honestly don’t know if they put them up somewhere in the park or ship them off for a few month exchanging them with another animals.

  2. September 5, 2011 9:44 pm

    I know if I went there, I’d have very mixed emotions like you did. Happy to see the animals and learn things, but saddened if they looked uncomfortable. As I’d mentioned on my post (thanks for mentioning it, btw). I know some people find all zoos to be ethically wrong, but at least i can say the Berlin Zoo really does seem to want to provide their animals with the best conditions under the circumstances.

    I would have been just like you when it came to the parents and their kid. UGH.

    I love how you said it felt like being in a jungle. How did they create that atmosphere?

    • September 6, 2011 10:35 am

      Hi Tasha, your welcome. I try to link all my fellow bloggers to any post that I write about with some type of similarities to a post I have read. Your post and many other fellow bloggers might help or give insight about what the reader is looking for or have interest in.

      The jungle atmosphere was created by a few walk way/paths as one of the photo above show. with those type of trees enclosing people, the narrow path way, muddy ground cover with sticks and etc. Also the plant area in the huge long green house had so many trees and plants my childish imagination went to the forest because everything was so huge.

  3. September 6, 2011 1:42 am

    The gardens looks lovely. I think the best thing about zoos is that when people get to see some of these animals up close they might appreciate them more, and efforts to preserve whatever habitat is left in the wild for their brethren, and help the species survive. That any animal has to live out its days in a tiny cage is sad, but some zoos do a great deal to help endangered species with breeding programs. It may not be the most stimulating existence for them, but no doubt they are well cared for and fed.

    • September 6, 2011 10:38 am

      Hi DD, I agree with you, just was a bit sad on certain area. I wish more zoos was like the Berlin Zoo though more open for the animals to roam. Giving them some what of a sense of freedom.

  4. September 7, 2011 6:07 am

    Going to the zoo can be such fun. I know for me, I get to act like a kid. Every now and then you have to let your hair down and be who you are.. sometimes places like this (the zoo) will help you find the kid in you. Well for me it worked. Love the photos

    • September 7, 2011 10:04 am

      Thank you Kay, I have been working on my portfolio. I wonder if people ever thought about getting married at the zoo. The surrounding is actually like out of this world. I have a few more years for my 10 years anniversary. John say count the marriage not how long we been together or it would of been next year, lol. Plan to have our vow done each 10 years, than 20, and so on just for fun. It was a promise we made to each other the day we got married.

Leave a Reply

