Skip to content

The Real Housewives of Germany

August 25, 2011

I was reading a friend Facebook wall feed and saw “The Real Housewives of New Jersey”. Immediately I had to smile because when I tell my friends in America I am a housewife they immediately start thinking “The Real Housewives of New Jersey, Atlanta, or Orange County”. I feel like I have to interrupt their interpretation and let them know tv reality is not the same as my reality. I don’t live in a big house even though all the places we live in has the possibility to become 4 or 5 bedrooms just for two people (we love space). I don’t go to the spa weekly only monthly. I don’t have a house cleaner because I am the house cleaner, cook, and the event planner. But once I get a full time job as in the past I will have one again. What some how the house have to be clean John and I will have no time to do detail cleaning.

So what is my thought being a housewife of Germany. It sucks, lol. I am a person who like to walk nude around the house. So when cooking and ironing I am throwing on a shirt or wearing an apron to protect my skin from the steam and hot grease popping out of the pot. I think this little boy must have some of my genes, lol.


I have so many hot oil spot and burnt all over me. Yes even when I do decide to wear clothes. Oil pop on my face once thanks goodness my eyeglasses where on. I burn my hand in the oven a few time flipping food over. I had homemade sauce pop on my arm and my foot. You see my life in America I was not a domestic diva. I did occasionally light house work but that was it. I did not cook, perhaps once a month or two. We went out for dinner. We were always at some type of party, functions, and etc. Life was wonderful in America. Here life is too. I love it here and still have a wonderful life that I honestly have nothing worth complaining about. Since living here I have become the domestic divas I seen on tv and I am enjoying it. I have my dinner parties that I always wanted with me cooking instead of ordering and preparing the table. I go out on coffee dates with the girl friends. I even have time to do breakfast with my new girl friends who I adore from around the time I wrote the article taking chances. In America I never had time for non of that. I was always busy working and school. Meeting up for coffee what? Let me schedule that, lol, I am so serious. I had to make sure that both John and I were free and did not plan anything a month ahead. That how life was in America. Quite busy for both of us but we found time to enjoy ourselves and have fun. Same as here in Germany just that I am the one with too much free time on my hands.

John at first did not care for the domestic me. domestic diva It was a big dispute at that time. How am I suppose to do all the house work and look immaculate each day when he comes home? Why put all the fuss in making up my face, doing something to my hair, and getting dress up for the house? It felt so weird to be made over for nothing. Until I actually notice I was truly letting myself go and have to regain the old me at least some of her. I still have my frumpy days and John is okay with it now since it is not so often. Here it is normal for the housewives to always look good. When I surprised my neighbors they have on their perfume, hair done, dress nicely, and house in top shape. I am like wow. When someone come to my door I am normally wrap up in a blanket or robe with my hair flying everywhere. Being a housewife is no vacation. I rather have a real vacation, work, and hire someone with half of my salary to make this place dust free. Sadly that is a want until cash is flowing my way until then move over Martha I have some cleaning to do!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 11:09 pm

    Reality tv is never “reality”. Instead of showing people with money.. show housewives that are barely making ends meet.. thats a real reality we all go through at least once in our lives. And I’m kinda shocked too.. I don’t think I would be all glamed up to do my floor lol. But there is something to be said about getting “too” comfortable. There has to be a healthy balance like with anything. When a husband stops wanting to see you look sexy.. then there’s a problem lol. I’m sure you do a great job πŸ˜‰

    • August 29, 2011 2:03 pm

      HI Kay, your absolutely right (reality tv is never reality). I remember watching a few and they was telling people cut do that again, lol. I think I gotten very good since our dispute months after we came here to live and gotten better. The neighbors see me looking wild and crazy. Hours before he come home I start to doll up for him which is perfect because most of the time when he come home he want to go somewhere with me or show me something. So it is not too bad looking like Cinderella and than hours later looking like a princess, lol. Thanks for the complement and I think I do a decent job. I be lying to you if I would say I do an awesome job, lol.

  2. October 5, 2011 10:16 am

    I lived in germany for a while… great place to be… πŸ™‚

    • October 5, 2011 10:22 am

      Hi Aneesa thanks for visiting my blog. I love it here as well. Some days it feels like a different world to be in and has totally put me out of my comfort zone in a good way.

  3. October 5, 2011 10:32 am

    its a different life experience altogether… i try to explain that to people here but they don’t get it…

    how are u with the language? pick it up ok?

    • October 5, 2011 10:39 am

      I am okay with it. I took a language class for 10 months. For me it is more baby speaking and keeping it simple. It is a bit weird that I can understand what a person say like completely 80% of the time and read it pretty good. But when I want or need to talk everything is so jumble together. Many people tell me because I am thinking English but I can’t help it. I have been here for two year next week and I can honestly say I am proud of myself for trying and adapting to the culture here. I have heard story of people living here for years and do not know one lick of German at all. Which to me is very surprising.

  4. October 5, 2011 11:16 am

    yeah when i was there i did see foreigners that had lived there for decades and didn’t speak a word of it.. it’s about how much you want it and need it..

    I was there for a few years on and off during my student haydays.. i loved it there and actually dreamed of settling there for good but had to come back to finish studies and also i had other committments here.. i still visit from time to time

    the language i picked up quickly and easily… one of my mates out there had a 1 year old kid and when i would stay with her i’d listen to her baby talk and it just came to me… german has a few basics and if u catch on to them u can basically play around with works and get your point across… one of them being they say everything back to front! πŸ˜›

    One of the things that i did out there was some community work and because the leader there was irish we would talk english… but the other ladies would say speak german to us and i’d reply… if i talk you lot will laugh at me…. and then they told me something that really helped… they said

    ” if you talk german with us we cant promise that we wont laugh… because sometimes what you say is really funny but what we can promise is that we will correct you and this will help you”

    and i must say i never looked back after that and my german just got better and better… i can speak it fluently and read it..but writing it is not my strong point…

    It will get better… watch kiddie programmes and make mates with people who have kids as that really helps.. and the truth is german text book is nothing… you really have to speak it and live it to learn it..

    • October 5, 2011 11:29 am

      You are so right…everything is so backward here and at times I must not forget. I really like what the ladies said to you. That was very kind and honest of them. I have notice that as well. The ones that see you trying are the ones that help you. The ones that have no patient are the one who speak back to you “me” in German. My neighbor said that when that happen do not switch back into English with them continue talking German for them to switch back.

      I am not much of a tv watcher. I am more on the net talking to pen pals and a few German friends both in English and German. But your right. How can I learned how things are pronounce if I am not actively listening. I really should atleast watch something for 30 minutes a day. I am truly proud of you though and impress. Anyone who can speak more than one language fluently is always impressing to me. Plus it gives me a push to try harder and get more motivated. So I do thank you. I promise myself to learn one new word a day and I been a little off track with other things. So Aneese I thank you very much. You will be my motivation today to start back learning one word per day back again and trying to watch some tele.

  5. October 5, 2011 11:56 am

    i met a lot of people while i was out there and one of the problems was the language barrier… and i used to say that it comes naturally if you are in the right places and right environment … i used to say to my non german friends.. find a german friend with a kid and watch it will come to you so easily… i actually learnt my german from her little boy and he soon started speaking english…

    i remember one day i dropped something and he tells me to “pick it up” it was a moment of joy that her boy was speaking english …

    i wish you the best of luck but instead of a new word everyday.. how about a phrase… one sentence that will help you if you are out and about.. for instance something you might need to say while out shopping or ordering food…

    i found the phrase “bitte sprechen Sie langsam mein Deutsch ist nicht so gut” was the best one…

    and also try google translate its brilliant and it has audio too… πŸ™‚

    Glad to be motivating you πŸ™‚

    • October 5, 2011 12:17 pm

      I could practice more with sentences than with words. That will kill two birds with one stone (no harm will come to any birds:)) I am good with shopping and ordering sentences, lol believe that, not long drawn out conversation. I go shopping every other day just to buy little things or to sit in the cafe talking to strangers as well. It is more long conversational talking I sometime have problem with. I can keep it short and simple with pauses. Sometimes by the time I get what I want to say together in my mind they are on the next conversation. Therefore, I too need to think quicker.

      I use google to look up certain words and to translate websites.
      google is truly my friend, lol. Along with dictleo.org. Really “pick it up” was his first word too cool.

      P.S. your welcome πŸ™‚

  6. October 5, 2011 12:26 pm

    yeah i remember those long conversations… but what was great with my german mates is that they would switch to a simpler form of german when i was around or one of them would make the effort to turn round and quickly translate what was being said…

    i’m the type if i have something to say i will stop a train and say it if i have to.. just jump in … get in there and get it out lol.. but i do get what you mean and somtimes it is hard…

    most of my mates would tell me… that even their ancestors who were born and brought in germany dont know the language completely.. its that hard a language.. so i think any effort on our part is an achievement in itself.. πŸ˜›

    i remember dinner parties where there would be about 4 different languages being spoken at the dinner table.. now that was mind boggling.. πŸ˜‰

    • October 5, 2011 12:36 pm

      Jinx (you sound like my neighbor). She is always telling me to take control of the conversation and just don’t sit there and jump in. You ain’t lying Aneesa, that bugs me to heck. Sitting at one table and the conversation start up than start to separate into group. Than hearing so many different German dialect at once is like my ears automatically shut it self off. It is like overload. Getting better at it to focus to at least one conversation instead of trying to listen to it all.

  7. October 5, 2011 1:01 pm

    i have cried over this thing you coz it can feel incredibly lonely… we had russian friends and arabic friends.. if we all got together they would all speak german as a group then the couples would converse in their own language it drives you up the wall… 😦

Leave a Reply

