Skip to content

Seeed

August 19, 2011

Seeed
Seeed is a German reggae/dancehall band from Berlin consists of eleven band members. Founded in 1998, they have become famous in Germany and its neighboring countries. They are the most popular German reggae act next to Cologne’s sing-jay Gentleman. They are considered to be Germany’s most successful Reggae group. They have worked with Cee-Lo Green, Anthony B, Tanya Stephens, General Degree as well as other Jamaican artists and producers. One can almost always find a popular guest appearance in their music releases. Seeed’s lyrics are German, English and Patois (which is my mother tongue:)). Their biggest hits were Dickes B, Aufstehn, Ding and Music Monks. Their first smash hit was “Dickes B”. They won two ECHO Awards. With the international versions of “Music Monks” and “Next!”, they found broader success in Germany’s neighboring countries, especially France. After their initial success with “Dickes B”, in the year 2000, they released their first full length album a few months later in 2001: “New Dubby Conquerors”. Since then they have continue to do very well. I love music but good reggae always warm my heart. Here is one of their song “Dancehall Caballeros” in which I like. I have listen to few others and I can say their reggae is the best compare to other songs they sang!

Seeed: Dancehall Caballeros

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2011 12:33 pm

    The video is soooo cool. But for some reason it makes us really laugh to hear rap in different languages. I mean is should be the rhyme of African American, Hispanic, or Jamaican Patois, but German, Russian, Japanese or wannabe English – yuk.

    • August 20, 2011 12:20 am

      HI Carl, I understand what your saying. When I listen to it I listen to hear how the sound flow and they make it work. It was weird at first listening Patois and German coming out of a person mouth of the same time. I had t laugh about but I actually like it.

      Wishing you a great weekend!

  2. August 19, 2011 4:28 pm

    Wow, I didn’t know that they also rap/sing in Patois. And it’s very cool that that’s your mother tongue πŸ™‚ I love Peter Fox’s “Alles neu”!

    • August 20, 2011 12:23 am

      Hi MMP thanks for the video reference I just check out “Alles Neu” it was very entertaining. I love the beats. I did not know Peter is an artist also by himself. I plan to check out his other videos to see what else he may have. Perhaps next week I can write about him on European Music’s Friday:)

      Wishing you a great weekend!

  3. August 19, 2011 7:12 pm

    That really is a little surreal πŸ™‚

    • August 20, 2011 12:25 am

      Lol, hi DD, yes it is but I like it. It remind me of home a bit. I am still trying to get how did they do the Jamaica accent and talk German at the same time, lol. Now I am really wondering how I sound to others.

      Wishing you a great weekend!

  4. August 21, 2011 6:05 am

    I had NO idea they had a German reggae band.. you know I’m all over this. Very nice song. The lead singer is scary but funny lol. Thanks for introducing me to something new girl

    • August 21, 2011 6:23 pm

      Yes, they have a few but not many. Also a few group if it is a good mixture has a splash of reggae, English, and or Spanish.

      Hope your having a great weekend!

  5. October 14, 2014 10:07 am

    It was hard to find your website in google.
    You should create some high page rank contextual backlinks in order to
    rank your blog. I know – writing articles is very time consuming, but contextual backlinks are the
    best type of backlinks. I know one cool tool that will
    help you to create unique, readable articles in minute, just search in google – rewriter creates an unique article in a
    minute

Leave a Reply

