Skip to content

A Little Dough Can Go a Long Way

August 10, 2011

White and Sunflower Bread
God bless where flour, salt, yeast, and water revive from. This week and next week John and I have to be careful with our spending so that we do not touch the emergency card. Last week John thought that he lost our main card, called the bank to deactivate the card, but found it later on the floor where he normally hang up his jacket. It has been quite cold and raining in Germany. We went shopping that same day with the card to find out that it was not deactivated but the next day we went to a festival and try to take money out of our account the machine kept our card. We were like dang they really did deactivate it, counted all our coins in our pockets, and enjoyed a bit of the festival making sure we did not go over what we had plus parking. The reason we were surprise that the card was deactivated is because the banker told John if he is only missing it please look first. When he has not found it call back the next day in which we did not because we found the card.

We look through out the house where we would normally have our little stash and count out everything. We have enough to live for two weeks without going into our emergency account. All yesterday John wanted to buy bread. I asked him why buy bread when I have tons of flour, yeast, and salt at home. “I can make you a plain white loaf of bread”. Therefore, this morning I woke up with intention to make his bread than I thought about hey why don’t I make my own too. I don’t eat much bread but I love fiber. Why not make myself a fibrous sunflower wheat bread. And this was the result above:)

If you’re ever in a financial jam or one day need to budget, this recipe might come in handy:

breadrecipe

Once you master making white bread you can make so many others. Making bread is not easy but after your first mistake you learn what not to do. I laugh when I first tried to make a free form bread following Nancy directions and it went through the rack. I misread and it was suppose to go on the baking tray not the rack, lol, if it was not for her I would still be using a baking machine. So this slice of bread goes to Nancy. I will forever think of her when I am making breads and my neighbor who was so kind to give it a try to tell me “it was good, next time add a little bit more salt”.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 8:35 am

    You know I am not a huge bread eater but I love how this bread came out. Looks amazing. Not many people can make bread. And you’re right, bread definitely helps you keep some food in your system if ever anything happens.

    • August 15, 2011 10:38 am

      Same here Kay, I like bread but don’t love it. Even though moving here as gave me an interest to play around with a lot of dough. One day when you visit Europe and see the bakeries you will see why. Their are so many different form and type that I never knew off. So making one like the pro’s at the bakery and coming out right actually felt good:)

  2. August 14, 2011 11:37 am

    I love my home made soft, fluffy breads, and thought it would be great to add this into OW,
    way to go Lora, Im looking forward to making this, actually getting mum to make this LOL.
    πŸ™‚

  3. August 14, 2011 7:44 pm

    Oh, yum. You do post great recipes, Lora.

    *giggle* I did love how you started this post. πŸ™‚

    • August 15, 2011 10:46 am

      Thanks Tasha sometimes we tend to not think about the little things, but those little things are what make the full effect that we pay more attention too. (heck I laughed too when I was getting out my ingredients…end up not only making breads but some dumplings which is only flour, water, and a little yeast added form into a ball to go with dinner.)

  4. August 17, 2011 2:15 pm

    I am amazed that you did those yourself! They look right out of the bakery! I maybe baked bread two or three times in my life and it tasted good, but it was a far cry from the beautiful forms you get in the bakery, or at your house πŸ˜‰

    • August 18, 2011 10:11 am

      Thank you MMP:) Believe me I have came a long way, lol. I practice every other week and grateful flour is only .25 cents to do so. Once I master the white bread the other breads was easy to make. All we need is practice and time. When you got both I know you can replicas of the bakery bread as well…sure of it!

      P.S. you master taste already and believe me that is the most important part πŸ™‚

  5. August 18, 2011 4:28 pm

    Your bread looks so pretty. There have been several times my yeast and flour have saved our butts

Leave a Reply

