Skip to content

Conquering Fear

August 8, 2011

fear

Visiting my family and spending time with my nieces and nephew they showed and taught me many things that I stopped looking at or better said put behind me. They taught me that it is okay to be afraid but think about it first why am I afraid. If I can’t give a good answer than I don’t need to be afraid. I had to smile at that one. One of my fear are animals. I love animals from a distant. I had a parrotlet. I had a problem feeding it and taking care of it because I was nervous it would of bit me numerous of time with it beak. Blame Alfred Hitchcock for my fear of animals. I love all his series and can watch it numerous times, but when it comes to reality I take fiction into my life (yes, I know, I am weird). My little brother cleaned out my bird tray and fed it for me many days. Once summer came I let it free into the world. I hope it made it home. Even though many people told me I probably killed it by letting it go. I say who knows. At least it had freedom for a short time if so.

In America I touched a horse. Yes, no big deal for many people but it was for me. The last time I touched a horse was the last time I felled off of it. My mom told me to climb back on and I refused because I was nervous to fall again. The day my beautiful niece talked me into touching a horse it did not feel bad at all. I even fed it later on. Does this mean that I will ride a horse. Hecky naw, I would feel bad for that horse back and that would be animal cruelty.

That was part two of conquering my fear. I have a whole list to go and each one I will share a little story and picture with you. Encase your wonder what was step one fear. That was back in the article taking chances
conquering fear

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 1:44 pm

    How do I get over my fear of aliens and earthquakes and hurricanes? And there is always the possibility they will run out of ice cream.

    • August 8, 2011 1:48 pm

      LOL, good day Carl. I can’t help you with the aliens, earthquakes, or the hurricanes. But I can direct you or even yet personally give you a homemade ice cream recipe so when the possibility come up you can smile in content and make your own 🙂

  2. August 8, 2011 6:11 pm

    Good for you for facing your fears! Horses can be scary, they’re so big. I’ve never fallen off one or been thrown, but I know others who have. It would be hard to get back up there, but they say it’s the best thing to do.

    I’ve got a long list of my own of things that make me quake in my boots. I don’t know if I’ll ever master them all, but I try.

    • August 8, 2011 6:43 pm

      My mom told me the same thing too. I will never forget she said if I don’t get back on top I will be afraid of horses for a long time. As a child I did not believe. I just did not wanted to go back on top. I was always a wuss on so many level. If I see danger I go a longer route to avoid it.

      I don’t know either if I will every master them all, but you know what DD, it is the attempt that is our reward of trying to get over what we are afraid of even if we don’t totally conquer all our fears. That said, I tip my wig off to you at each attempt you will make.

  3. August 8, 2011 10:17 pm

    Fear can be a funny thing that stops you from living your life in the way you want to live it. And you’re right, it’s okay to be afraid and it’s okay to conquer that feeling.. one step at a time. I loved this article.. I love it.

  4. August 17, 2011 2:24 pm

    I am also very afraid of horses and everybody gives me weird looks when I say that … So it’s cool to meet a fellow horse-fearer 😉 Good for you for meeting a nice horse! I could maybe get over my fear of horses too, but I am very afraid of dogs. Even the little ones. I also go a longer route when I can avoid it. Once I couldn’t for the life of me go to the toilet because a dog was sitting there. And there was no other toilet in sight … From a rational view it’s so stupid and limiting but I cannot get over it, even after spending time with nice dogs.

  5. August 18, 2011 10:22 am

    MMP you are not alone. I am too afraid of dogs but slowly getting over them. So far since I been here I am okay being around Jack Russel and my sister in law dog. Her dog does not bark at all and is so peaceful. Last weekend she laid down beside me and place her head in my lap. Normally I would jump especially on the part that she was licking me I guess to thank me for rubbing her with my nails I don’t know. But it felt nice and I wanted to take her home with me.

    I am still terrify of dogs too and would do the same as you have done (the longer route and not using the bathroom) just to distant myself away. But if you know anyone with a small dog or not too tiny. I don’t like ankle biters or big dogs that look monstrous. Try to bond with them a bit. Oh ya I can’t stand barking dogs are the jumpers. Who always want to jump on you for everything. That put me in scream mode. So your not alone at all. I am still working on it too. Some of my friends think I am weird to be not afraid of certain dogs but afraid of theirs. I am sure their are loving as well but as soon as I hear barking continuously and see those teeth…forget it!

    • August 19, 2011 10:14 am

      Maybe there are more of us 😉 I would like to know if there’s a correlation that when you are afraid of dogs you are also afraid of horses?! … I also try to bond with dogs but it’s very hard, as you say. And if a dog is barking, forget it, I’m out of there 🙂

Leave a Reply

