Skip to content

Esslingen Strawberry Festival

June 7, 2011

Ah, I really love Esslingen. The city is beautiful every season of the year. I wrote a post “Why would I ever Want to Move” and I still feel the same. The people here are so nice and lovely. Walking down the street you will most of the time bump into people you may know and feel a bit special. Because no one here will act like they don’t know you. They will yell out hello and wave. If they are close by they come over and chat a bit. It is funny sometime the conversation is left off from when you last spoke to that person. In case your wondering, Esslingen has a population of 92,299 people from the 2011 census which is 836 more people than last year.

Once Spring arrive it is festival season in Germany. This year I started with the Esslingen Strawberry Festival and not the Jazz festival. The Jazz Festival is indoor; therefore, you must pay. I love festivals to take photos, videos, and enjoy my leisure. Not festivals that I feel restricted of doing what I love. That said Esslingen have a Strawberry fest every year. Many neighboring cities come to enjoy the fest. The fest is for all ages. It has face painting artists, jumpers, slides, strawberry sekt, cakes, strawberries, strawberries you name it. Hence the name strawberry festival:)

The festival is normally for one day 10am-6pm. Last year we reached at the very end. We went for our afternoon walk and watch them close down the booth the only thing was open was a section for dinning with music and some strawberry cake selections. So this year I print out my list of festival and place it in my yahoo calendar. I did not wanted to miss the giant strawberry cake and to experience the festival. Even though the bakery lady I bumped into yesterday was telling me how unorganized it was. I told her it was my first I wouldn’t know, but I did enjoy it despite the weather was quite hot with the sun playing peak a boo. Enough of me talking let me share a few photos with you so that you can get a better picture of my beautiful city Esslingen. You thought it was magical in the winter from the post “Celebrating the oncoming of Christmas in Germany”. It was also beautiful the strawberry festival day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


On a side note about the giant cake. We reached at the festival at 11 and it started at 10. When you look at the slide show photos about half or little less than half the cake have been consume in 1 hour!!!

If you love strawberries check google to see if they have a strawberry festival in your city. I know that Florida and California for sure has it so check your city to experience the enjoyment of strawberry everything or taking photos like me:)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 2:44 pm

    Swoon! I am extremely jealous of your strawberry and jazz festivals in Esslingen…especially when I still see hints of snow on the ground. Professional face painters and a giant strawberry cake? Sounds like my kind of place!

    • June 7, 2011 7:45 pm

      You might still have a hint of snow on the ground but you have what I can not experience at the moment which is day light for 24 hour non stop. I would love to experience that for at least a few days.

  2. June 7, 2011 6:32 pm

    Wow, that cake is amazing! Yummy! 🙂

    • June 7, 2011 7:47 pm

      Yes it was, for a person who is not too keen on strawberry, lol, or the berry family. But I am getting a little use to the weird taste.

      • June 7, 2011 9:33 pm

        Don’t like strawberries?!?!? How is that possible??? 😉

      • June 7, 2011 10:14 pm

        So many people have asked me that. I think they are absolutely beautiful and photo worthy but the taste is really strong. It is like this for all berries. I call the whole group the berry family (strawberry, cherries, blueberries, raspberry, etc). However, I have notice once strawberries get to a certain stage of almost bad (it has sign that it is dark red and very soft) the taste is not so potent. It is weaker and I can then stomach it to make jam, sauce, bake with it, and etc. Same for the rest. Blueberries I will only eat if I use it for sauce. Before than forget it!

  3. June 7, 2011 11:33 pm

    Can you believe I never heard of a giant strawberry cake before? But I would so eat this. I love going to local festivals.

  4. June 10, 2011 3:13 am

    oh yummm, this is such a tease, how i wish to have a strawberry cake right now, delicious, thanks for sharing.

    • June 10, 2011 8:01 am

      HI OW, I have done a little research that some city in the State have strawberry festival just need to google it to see if they have it in yours and if not one day stop at the bakery to see if they at least have a strawberry muffin 🙂

  5. June 17, 2011 8:14 am

    Sounds like a plan, though I think the strawberry muffin it will have to be, there wont be that kind of festival from where i am, dam, i need to travel more 🙂

  6. June 24, 2011 11:56 pm

    WOW! What a festival! It is strawberry season here in New Hamspshire and i do plan on going out , rain or shine, toimorrow morning.. look at that beautiful cake! I love your pictures!

Leave a Reply

