Skip to content

I Would Love to Eat my Vegetable but I Don’t want Ecoli

May 31, 2011

It is a big scare right now going on in Germany/Europe. First it was about the chicken and the eggs. No pun intended. More than 1,000 chicken farms across Germany have been banned from selling their products and more than 8,000 chickens were killed after cancer-causing dioxin was found in chicken feed. Now it is our vegetable we eat every day causing death, illness, and scares. The European Union has banned imports of cucumbers, tomatoes, egg plants, salad greens, and recently any vegetables to be imported. It has been too many cases of people dying and being ill because of the vegetable we are eating. When walking through the grocery store you see so many vegetables for half price and many others pretty much sold for nothing. I love vegetables and really miss eating it, but it is not worth taking a chance to eat. Even though many people are not thinking of the scare but grabbing bags full of the vegetable. John and I watched them place perhaps deadly vegs into their carts. We are not taking chances with can vegetable either. We plan when visiting John’s parent we will get our vegetables there. John’s mothers who I call momma have her own garden and many time I go shopping there each visit, lol. But seriously this is the only way for us to get our vitamin other than taking supplements at the moment.

I don’t understand why is it the healthy stuff that kills us? Why are people messing around with it? I know in America years ago was the swine influenza and mad cow disease. Everyone was nervous to eat pork and meat. No wonder people grow their own gardens and only eat from it and why some people become vegetarians. Talking about vegetarian I wonder how are they dealing with this right now..the ones who do not have their own garden that is?

The video below give you more information and if interested in reading more check out this link: Germany E.coli outbreak spreading

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2011 5:34 pm

    The only solution to avoiding this is like you say, buy local. The industrialized farming and meat processing techniques we use now are the problem. There’s no way to contain these things.

  2. May 31, 2011 6:51 pm

    It’s going to get worse. We are importing more and more food from China and it will be just as crappy as their manufactured goods. The danger is that a crummy bicycle won’t kill you but uninspected and contaminated food will.

  3. May 31, 2011 9:51 pm

    I agree with both of you. I also think the problem is mass production. What are they using for our plants and animal? Is it really so necessary? People who deal with agriculture no matter if it is live stocks or plants must think beyond money and think of consequences. Everything has an cause and effect. Sadly we are dealing with some of them once more and will again.

    My husband, John, family are farmers. They come from a line of farmers and I love visiting them. They are very conscious of what they use. Last year they had bees and pests problem. A farmer told poppa a chemical to spray on his crop and it will get rid of the bees and bugs. Poppa thought about it and ask the guy what effect will it have on his crop. The guy assure him nothing and showed him how his potatoes and wheat look like. That all is okay. Poppa again thought about it and said, “It might look okay but what effect will it have on the consumers? I rather deal with the bees and bugs problem than have people on my conscious in the long run.”

    This is the type of farmers I love and respect. I am not saying this because he is my poppa. I am saying this because he thought about the long run and not the moment.

  4. May 31, 2011 10:40 pm

    Ehec is totally out 😦

  5. May 31, 2011 11:47 pm

    As a vegan, I’d be SOL! So crazy to imagine that an entire food group could be out of the mix, for a time. o.O

    • June 1, 2011 2:13 pm

      I agree it is a bit crazy and scary. I am not a strict recyclers or nature person. But if we (as a whole, consumers, manufacturers, industries, and etc) all take responsibility into our actions the world might be a better place for less worries. I can’t wait for all this to be over with. I am really missing my salads and making sauces.

  6. June 16, 2011 1:33 am

    Hay, you found me!~ Ya, it can be quite disturbing to have those things in out veggies, often enough it’s spinach, lettuce and various other veggies. Did you hear we had a peanut butter scare a while back? UGH!
    I hope all is well with it now, just make sure you wash them very well, always.
    Kim

    • June 16, 2011 10:24 am

      I am notorious watching vegetables even vegetables from out of a can to get rid of some of the sodium. People who ate veggies told me to just continue doing the same but with extreme hot water. I told them I rather wait as I watch some of them gulping down a salad. Right now it is sprout that is a scare. Everything else they say is okay to eat now..

      No I have not heard about the peanut butter scare. Plan to look it up on google today to see what it was all about. I just hate people messing with food and nature. Don’t they know we are all effected!!

Leave a Reply

