Skip to content

Ready set Go!

May 30, 2011

The horse jockeys and horses are warming up for the race. They gallop back and forth and a few of them in circles. Slowly they enter their cage number. Then a minute later they start galloping. The horses are neck to neck. While the jockeys uses their legs, thigh muscles, and body positioning to make the horse go faster. “Coming on number 3, 5, and 7!” yell John and I. Number 3, 5, and 7 riding side to side. Suddenly number 3 head is poking out. Yes, yes, number 3 is the winner! We won we won!
winning horse
Have you ever been to a horse derby? I think it is a bit interesting. You get to watch all sort of people at the race at all age. You can see the VIP people who have special parking and building area of the horse derby. The VIP section had hats for well over 100E and up each one I picked was too high and I love hats. Sparkling wine, leather couches and chairs under a tent, and a game room to bet with man reading newspaper, smoking, and a big screen tv. John and I giggle passing that section. The attire for all was a bit different. You have the casual wear people and others such as some men in suites, women in hats, and sunflower dresses.
women in hats
The race is for almost 7 hours and start mid afternoon. It was John and I first time ever at a track and we wanted to see what it was all about plus I wanted to take photos for my scrap book. It was nothing like the American movies portray. We paid a fee of 20E for both of us to get in. Entering was food and drink stands and a lot of betting booths. John and I bet on 3, 5, and 7. I love odd numbers because what is the odd that we would win, lol. We placed 1E on each horse. Won 5E when number 3 won. John asked if I would like to bet again. I told him no I am okay I just came to wear my hat and to see a horse race in real life. We laughed, held each other hand, and bought two bottle of water with our winnings, lol.

Have you ever been to a horse race and was it in the State? What was it like for you?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2011 4:49 pm

    Played the horses at Gulfstream, Hialeah, and Calder here in Miami. They let kids in now and they have a lot of family entertainment so it is a great outing

    • May 30, 2011 4:58 pm

      See that is interested. I love comparison. Here in Germany from what I seen horse racing is a family event. They had those balloon jumper things for children to go inside and jump up and down for.

      You mention your father was a jockey and because of that he pretty much won his way to America. May I ask what number was your father if he always kept the same number?

  2. May 30, 2011 5:02 pm

    It was my father’s father who was the jockey. I would ask my father but I don’t think he would talk about it. He used to whip my father with the horse reins.

  3. May 30, 2011 5:11 pm

    When I go, I bet the Jockey not the horse. Usually box four horse trifecta at $24 per bet. Sometimes if the inside looks good I’ll box the 1,2,3 exacta for $12

    • May 30, 2011 5:18 pm

      Now I know why the lady gave us the hand book with the jockey information. We skim through it and put it to the side. We did not even visit the horse. I told hubby on the drive 3, 5, and 7 okay, lol, over and over again. We definitely are merely amateurs.

      Carl you and my husband can go to a horse race anytime. My husband wanted to bid more than 1E and I told him no. He told me it is not worth it to bid small bid big is better in which I saw that when we won. I am just a wuss when it come to money.

  4. May 30, 2011 7:40 pm

    I’ve never been to any type of horse races. I always wanted to go to the Kentucky Derby because of the hats but in reality I just want to go to a laid back setting and just watch it for myself. This is such a fun post.

    • May 31, 2011 7:17 am

      Thank you Kay, whenever you get the opportunity please do share. Things that I have never experience and only seen on tv always interest me how different it is in real life especially in another country.

  5. May 30, 2011 9:57 pm

    Jockeys: They’re several that win very frequently and their stats are in the racing form, Here usually Valesquez, Vasquez and Guidry ride in 4 to 6 races. They place first, second and third half the time so I put them with a 4th horse and box the four of them. Betting jockeys increases your chance to win by at least 50% in my opinion, rather than trying to pick the horse. If there is a jockey that you have never seen race at that track chances are he is there for a reason and that is to win the race. Include him with your other choices for the race. Near the end of the season it is best to bet the jockeys that hardly ever win because they let them win so they have enough good performances to keep the job. The inside are the several horses closest to the rail. If they all look good, bet them all and mix the numbers up.Exacta or perfecta means you pick first and second. So if you bet the 7 and the 2 they have to come in 7 and 2. If you box them you win if they come in 2/7 or 7/2. If you box three it does not matter the order. Quinellas are the same thing but cost half as much tobuy. The races are all fixed so that’s why I don’t try to pick the horse. Sometimes it is good to include a horse that is going off at 10 to 1 or 15 to 1 because if he’s in the money with a good horse the payoff is pretty good. Picking 3 numbers for a $6 quinella bet boxed is safest bet to win something and it does not matter who comes in first or second because any or of the three wins. You can also bet it for $12, $18 or $24 and win several times. $6 quinella is best and cheapest way to have a little fun. You may have a good day but in the long run you always lose.

    • May 31, 2011 7:23 am

      “You may have a good day but in the long run you always lose.” And this is why I do 1 Euro bets. I hate to loose money. That could be a new trouser:) In October is going to be a big derby thing. Which is the real stuff the lady told us. We are thinking to go back again to see what so special about it. That is if we have nothing else plan.

      I have jot down some of the information you have above and place it on stick paper already. So when time come I will know what to do and to ask the people inside the betting booth. Thanks Carl 🙂 !

Leave a Reply

