Skip to content

Germany Fuhrerschein – I pass my theoretical exam for my driving license

May 25, 2011

A week and a half ago when I passed my B1 class I mentioned that I will be taking my driver license test for Germany in which was today. Tell me why all yesterday and this morning I was telling myself I am going to fail big time because the test is consist of 30 questions in which are offer to be taking in English or German. I picked English to make it easier on my brain plus my beautiful friend from Berlin told me it is best to take it in English has for one question the possibility of up to three answers. Which as any where from 2-5 points depending on the importance of the question. You can pass by 10 points wrong but if you have two big questions that are worth 5 points and a total of 10 you automatically fail. The logic is silly to me but that is the theoretical test rule here.

So after telling myself and my husband how much I am going to fail today I actually pass with 100%. I woke up early and restudy the questions I continue messing up on to make sure it at least sank in my head. I needed to hurry this morning to take the bus to the test center. In a hurry I think I broke my pinky toe. I heard it crack loud during the impact to the wall when walking. It has been over 4 hours and it is still killing the dickens out of me. I plan to go to the doctor tomorrow to see what is the damage. I grabbed my notebook with all the notes I took and my sticky papers. When I study I have sticky papers all over the house so where ever I go I am constantly working my brain and not totally relaxing it. Wobble off the bus to find the center. Waited and chat a bit with the other people who was also nervously awaiting to take their test.


The door opened and a man came out to introduce himself. He let us in the room as we gather in a line. The room was fill with flat screen moveable computers on the desk. I thought how cool. I was thinking it was going to be like the state and have desktop computers. He took my passport and told me where to sat. I sat down and my name was on the mobile computer. I smiled and checked that my name was spelled correctly and immediately pray that the test goes well in my favor. Now that does not always work but it never hurts to pray. Before starting the guy/instructor told us what to do in German. Thank goodness I understood him or I would be gazing into the ceiling of confusion scratching my head.

As I was taking the test I still had a bit of an anxiety that I felt like I needed to vomit. I get this feeling all the time around testing time. This is why I never eat before any test. Well not true. I did once and lets say the test was colorful afterward. So once I was done testing the machine said to wait for instructor to come over. He never came over. So I am telling myself how I fail terrible. These darn multiple answer test. Cussing in my head I hear the instructor calling out my name for me to come up. I am wobbling and biting my lips. He gave me a paper. I looked at it like okay. So I said to him, “I failed”? He laughed and said, “no you pass”. You made 0 failure. I was like what. Scream and hugged him while the class laughed. I had to tell them I apologize. I was so excited and still am. Why must I always stress myself out on tests? I been doing this since I was young. I never believe in me but others always. Even John said this morning before he kiss me on my forehead good bye, as I was rambling through my notes, he know that I will pass. He never have to worry about me and tests.

Now to rewind and fast forward. A man had a speaker on during the test. It was loud enough to echo in the room. He lied and said it was a radio. The instructor told him it is not and it does not matter everything was suppose to be turn off. He has failed his test. A few people was laughing I only shook my head and told myself I must concentrate. Now fast forward When I learned that I have past I asked the instructor what now do I need to do. He told me to take my paper to a driving school it is now time for me to practice. I told him, “I don’t thinks so, I am an American.” He said he know he seen my passport and everyone started to laugh. When I left I said to myself wow, I must sounded like a snob. Yuck! I know that being an American does not make life easier or give me any special privilege. Since I been here I have to work hard just to get my life on track as it once was in the State. So instead of trying to explained to him I went straight home and call the TUV. They told me the same and I explained to them the reciprocity law and they told me to go to the Amt that I initially went to before them. Immediately I got off the telephone I walked to the Amt and showed them I have pass for me to exchange my American license with my German one. They had it already waiting for me. I signed my paperwork and left with a smile. Now I can’t wait until John comes home and see my license:)))
Fuhrerschein, now I am driving baby
If your interesting to know of the reciprocity law of what States must take only a theoretical test/both theoretical test and driving test/ only exchanging or switching their license for a German license and do not have to take a test at all check out these two links:
Getting a German Driver’s License

Driver License Reciprocity

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 4:44 pm

    Since when does a country that has people going 500 mph, bumper to bumber, on that giant highway need drivers test and road rules?

    • May 25, 2011 4:58 pm

      lol, oh Carl it is not that fast here. The highest John ever went in a restriction free zone was 240. I don’t think it is possible to go to close to the 300 safely due to too many curves here. And it really is not fast here on the autobahn. It has speed starting from 60-no restrictions but it is not constant, it is on and off. Sometime I feel like it is a waste of gas.

      They set the speed limit changeable so that people won’t lose the conscious of speed and cause accident. Kind of like keeping them awake and aware if ever few kilos or so the speed goes like a yoyo.

  2. May 25, 2011 9:14 pm

    Congratulations, another milestone for you! 🙂 Day-um, girlfriend, nice ride! Sorry about your toe, though. Ouch! There’s really nothing they can do for broken toes, just have to wear sandals for a week or two until it feels better. Take some aspirin for the pain and maybe ice it. Been there!

    • May 25, 2011 9:41 pm

      Thank you. I feel so proud of myself and even surprise. The test is so ridiculous at least to me. I said this to a few German and they smile at me and say aw it is not so hard, lol.

      The auto my husband picked months ago but I pick the color. We will continue sharing until I get my dream car of a B Class. He said perhaps an A Class should be a starter. I told him if it is a starter than I take it, lol. But I will see, no hurry to get my own as it is. The car we will both now share together is a fun car.

      I can’t take it DD. My toe area hurt bad even on top. I had my foot fracture on top years ago. I am afraid it might be more than the toe, because it is really unbearable. Putting my weight on it I can hear it screaming “Girl whats wrong with you, are you crazy, elevate me and get some help”. Ya, that is what I think I heard it said.

      • Jocel Jung permalink
        July 21, 2015 3:26 pm

        Hey i am so much sick now. Im fully shaking,.i want to tke my bclass driving license soon but i always get 15 points wrong on my review test.
        Could you please help me. I want to pass my test and take it as soon.

  3. May 29, 2011 9:25 am

    Much congratulations to you! 🙂

  4. May 29, 2011 11:00 pm

    I was not able to enter your site just now and pressed both comments. It said site was disconnected or no longer available. Perhaps you should email wordpress re possible glitch. I wanted to comment on the racing horse post.At the turn of the century my father’s father was a jockey in Rome and around the country. He won a race and the jockey purse was a ticket to America. That’s how he got here !

    • May 30, 2011 10:11 am

      Hi Carl I deleted that post. I thought I deleted it fast enough, lol. I made a mistake to press publish instead of save draft. Normally I am not on the weekend and yesterday John was on the internet (normally no internet during the weekend) so I jump on mines for a short time. I will have the post up in 3 more hours with the photos up loaded.

      Your horse comment sounds very interesting! It is funny the role faith play. Some people might call it consequence, luck, and I call it faith. I am curious did your father had a certain number that was always the same and if it was always the same number may I ask what it was? Later on you will see in the horse post why I asked this question:)

  5. December 8, 2011 2:37 pm

    Congratulations, awesome.:)
    I wish one day I could have a license, but first of all I have to learn how to drive first.:)

  6. April 19, 2013 10:15 pm

    It’s going to be finish of mine day, except before ending I am reading this great post to improve my knowledge.

  7. May 1, 2013 7:25 am

    Link exchange is nothing else however it is only placing the other person’s blog link on your page at proper place and other person will also do similar in favor of you.

Trackbacks

  1. It is Official my Toe is Broken « Life in a Nutshell

Leave a Reply

