Skip to content

Stop Playing with your Food

May 19, 2011

My mother use to say stop playing around with your food and eat it. I use to listen until I found a love of being creative and inventing my own creations; giving other recipe if I use them a twist. If I had no creative juice in what I cook or bake I find it a bit boring to even stay in the kitchen. What I am about to show you are two edible flowers design I have for the group What Sha Cooking. On Friday when I have more time I will place instructions and directions within the group. Since I am writing this blog before the vote conclusion I will bow down gracefully plus the other participant have a beautiful entry I will like to post at the end of the vote with a different type of plant I am sure many of us have not use before.

Okay let me introduce the zucchini flower to you. It was steamed for 15 minutes, stuff with ham, mushroom, knodel, sauce, and ham sprinkle with black pepper. If you don’t know what knodel is look to the right of my Vpod video on this page that show how to make knodel quick and simple. In my food processor I grounded the gram crackers to make as sand and quickly use my photoshop program to make more stand in the back ground to give me a dessert feeling. It is not the best but good enough for the blog world, lol. Doing this I got to think about the movies that you see the little children eating stand. It make me wonder if they are sitting in a box of grounded gram crackers and eating it. My mind is always thinking of things that are not really important. But it is spinning, lol.
zucchini flower

This one was a bit interesting for me because I have always seen artichoke in the store in the State and never bother to even think about ever eating them. Carl from I Know I Made You Smile shared an artichoke recipe with me in which I have not made yet but will in the future. He made me a bit curious about playing around with artichoke. So I found a baby artichoke at the market a few weeks ago. Yes, the week I was complaining about how the market price got higher since the weather is better. But recently I notice it is not only the market. Sadly the baby artichoke was too small to play with. So when John and I went to France only to shop a bit and enjoy a different scenery I found a nice size artichoke and start planning in my head. John looked at me, shake his head, and start laughing. He know I am always thinking what can I do with this….mmmhhhh, lol. I stuff it with rice, carrots, and peas. The artichoke was boil for 1 hour in lemon, bay leaf, salt, and some butter.
stuff artichoke

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 12:36 am

    Oooooh. Artichoke. I
    steam and then stuff with crab meat and Italian bread crumbs made into a paste with eggs, then sprinkle the cheese. Then bake. But I have never opened them up like this and spread out the leaves. This looks like a soup bowl that can hold a lot of stuff. I will try this. I would steam the artichoke so you don’t boil out the vitamins. I just use the colander in a big pot with 2 inches of water and cover to steam. See a homemade steamer too.

    • May 19, 2011 12:46 am

      Oh my goodness Carl that sounds scrumptious!! I want me some of that! My artichoke was bigger than my hand. I did try to steam at first but it did not taste so I said to myself what the heck and boil the whole thing and added salt and butter to it. On the web it said only bay leaf and lemon. This was the link I use: http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/how_to_cook_and_eat_an_artichoke/ As you can tell I did not cut off my tip. I needed to keep it for my photo presentation. I have to see how you do yours. I am trying to picture it but you mention you never open yours up, mmmh? May I ask how do you stuff it with crab meat and bread crumbs if you don’t open it up? I am an artichoke newbie still learning thanks to you:))

      You can use a small soup bowl if you like it will work too. In the photo is a very small salad bowl big as my palm which is a bit deep and bevels out on an angle. It was perfect to hold the base and let the rest of the creation show:)

  2. May 21, 2011 3:43 am

    These are almost too pretty to eat! I’m amazed at the things you come up with 🙂

    • May 23, 2011 8:37 pm

      Thanks DD, I made also the artichoke another way and a bit more blizzard that I thought was crazy cool, but I might use it on a crazy day for a post, lol.

  3. red permalink
    June 16, 2011 1:40 am

    I love what you do with the artichoke!!! Great pics also.

Leave a Reply

