Skip to content

B1 Intergration Class – I pass!

May 13, 2011

I have pass my B1 integration class with flying color and score high in all levels (hearing, reading, writing, and speaking). Today I should be happy because now I know I can move on to my next plan in life and continue to grow. But sadly I am not happy. Well somewhat but not 100%.

I was hoping to find out today that everyone pass the class with a B1 level, I guess I hope for too much. I don’t get it. Everyone in my class are hard workers. They are super smart and many of them speak well. I don’t understand why they have not pass. I know many of them miss the B1 by a few points perhaps out of nervousness. I know for myself the test started with the hearing section. The first two questions I literally clam up. I wonder if others too froze at the first few questions and that what lost them. Plus on the hearing section one must listen very well because we were only allow to listen to what the person said on the CD once to answer the question on the test. Heck that is hard even in your own mother tongue. Many time in life we all have to ask a person to repeat themselves. The designer of the test, I guess did not think so.

I was feeling so sad for everyone that I bust out in tears because I felt their pain. Now if they were slackers I would not care but they were not. One of the young lady gave me a hug and told me it will be alright be happy that I pass. Another young lady made a speech that I had to smile only because I was proud of her. She was my side kick in class. We both barely knew a good sentence starting and both always doubt ourselves when it was time to take the practice test especially dealing with talking. For that my teacher peer us together when it was time for the major Prufung which was great. We both talked fluidly to each other because neither of us used big words. We kept it simple and natural. She said today,

“I have not pass with a B1 but I have pass with an A2 (A2 people need to only take the last 3 classes and the major Prufung-Test again and aim for a B1). This test do not determine who I am. I am proud of what I have accomplished and learned. I am going to my own appointments, I am doing things on my own that I would ask my children or husband to do for me. I am talking more to people and making friends. I am doing a whole lot more than what I have done before now that I have learned to speak German”

Hearing what she said made me so proud, because she is right. No piece of paper should determine what a person can do and who they are. I am proud of her and everyone in my class that has a B1 or an A2! I wanted to post a photo of my good luck present John had gave me and my teacher Maria had passed out to the class. John had gave me a fondant little pig and Maria gave me a chocolate lady bug. Both in Germany means “viel gluck” good luck. I sat them both on the corner of my desk with my sharpener, tissue to blow my nose, and eraser. I don’t plan to eat my good luck candies. I plan to keep them until I have pass all the levels and classes that I need to take.

German Lucky Test Candies

What is my plan you may ask? Well I have been studying for my German driver license test for almost a month now. I have a test coming up in two weeks. I will write a blog about that pass or fail and tell you the difference of the test compare to America’s. In June I plan to visit my family in America for one month, so I won’t be on the net sorry. I believe when a person get a chance with love one enjoy it. Time is priceless and we all should use it the best way possible at times. When I come back I will start looking for schools to continue on my learning to make my German stronger. Once I have done that my wish is to go to the University to brush up on a few skills that I have. That is my plan. I want to be functional and independent like I was in the State. I want to contribute to bills instead of making them. I want to carry my own share of the load. I pretty much want to be my whole self again.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 11:11 pm

    Congratulations on passing! That’s quite an achievement. I’m sure the rest will pass on the next try. Like you said, it was probably just nerves that made them forget things. I’m sure you’ll be out there making your contributions and becoming independent again very soon.

    • May 13, 2011 11:26 pm

      Thank you DD. I thinks so too. One person who was his second time pass it. He was very happy, but another person who was her second time did not which was a bit sad. The young man was telling everyone it is okay that they did not pass the second time is a charm. What they miss or need to get stronger with they will. Then I am hearing the other young lady said the second time was not a charm for her “I am done”.

      It was too much emotions going on today through out the room. Waiting for two months to find out you pretty much fail sucks!

  2. May 13, 2011 11:14 pm

    You are very brave to move to what is a whole new planet for a practical description. Quite a challenge I would say. You seem to have just the right degree of stubbornness and a ton of commitment. You will realize your dreams and goals.

    • May 13, 2011 11:31 pm

      Thank you Carl. Starting over is a lot of work. It really does not matter where a person move to whether it is across the sea or the border. We must all adapt, learn the rule, perhaps language if applicable, and integrate. Without integration I don’t see a person making it. It is like they throwing themselves to a shark or lion.

  3. May 13, 2011 11:49 pm

    Congratulations! That is a victory! I am currently learning Inuktitut, the language of the Inuit up here in Nunavut. It is a challenging language, but English is still widely spoken throughout the city I live in. I give you all respect for immersing yourself in a culture and language that you had little knowledge of when you first arrived. That is amazing! Keep learning and use the language every day!

    • May 14, 2011 12:08 am

      Thank you very much. I give you the same respect…your practically doing the same:) Rat why have I not seen much from you dealing with writing posts?

      • May 15, 2011 5:18 am

        Complete and utter lack of motivation! I haven’t been inspired to write anything these days. I have been trying to write on my personal blog, just not the Nunavut one. I do have a couple posts in the works though. Hopefully they’ll be coming shortly.

      • May 16, 2011 9:01 am

        I understand and when your ready I will be looking forward to read whats going on with you over there.

  4. May 15, 2011 4:25 pm

    First, congratulations!!!

    And I was really touched by your concern for your classmates. But they will get there. And your friend is right, a piece of paper doesn’t determine what a person is, or what they are capable of.

    Learning a foreign language is a on- going process with many ups and downs. I’ve learned that being able to laugh at one’s own goofy mistakes is vital. 😉

  5. May 16, 2011 4:49 pm

    Congratulation girl!!!!! I’m clapping all crazy like in front of the PC like you can see me lol. Enjoy your family, never let go of them, and take plenty of photos for your own personal enjoyment.

    • May 16, 2011 4:58 pm

      LOL, thank you Kay:) I can’t wait to see them and hold them. Each time I visit I have my camera and video recorder loaded. Matter at fact I have my hubby photo on my cell phone as my wall paper and an other one when he call. I have a slide show of my family on my desktop smiling at me every day. Soon here I come America most important here I come fam!

Trackbacks

  1. Germany Fuhrerschein – I pass my theoretical exam for my driving license « Life in a Nutshell

Leave a Reply

