Skip to content

Love is in the Air

May 10, 2011

Just typing that title I had to sing the song Love Is In The Air by John Paul Young. The flowers has bloom, the sun is shining, the weather is nice, so it must be time to get married. Almost every week I am hearing cars blowing their horns driving down the street. When I first moved here I thought my street was an accident prone street until one day I looked out the window and saw cars in bows, flags, and people waving out the window. Even saw horse carriages. It was a delight to watch and seen that I and others had front row seats. Now of course when I hear horns I no longer run to the window or think an accident as occurred. I continue chatting on the net playing spade just smiling to myself that someone recent is married.

I do so love weddings. Mostly the free food. Well not really free when you bring a gift right, lol. But still it is nice. You see two people so happy making a promise to each other that you hope they keep. You watch the guy looking so cool and calm. You listen to the bride nervous can be checking that everything is okay and going as plan. I always have to laugh even when it was my turn. We planned our wedding and had everything organize. But not everything turn out as plan. Hubby and I did not see eye to eye a day before the wedding. We are both stubborn. I took my bride maids went out and had a great time in Canada. Next morning I went straight to my mother and told her the wedding as been cancel. She said what? While my aunt laughed and said, “I told you that your daughter was crazy!” I explained everything to her. She reassured me that I was nervous to settle down and that by next week John and I will be lovey dovey once again so stop wasting people time and get married. I was so piss that she was not on my side. I called John and we discuss our stubbornness, laugh, and hugged. My mom was right we forgave each other and said lets get married. We been bumping head for 9 years now with football helmet on, lol, eventually one of us cave in.

kissing

One of my neighbor which is also a friend share a common interest with me “watching weddings”. 15 minutes walk from my flat is the old Rathaus where people get married in from 9 I think and finish at 1 o’clock. The ceremonies last for 30 minutes. We were eating lunch across from the old Rathaus three weeks ago and saw a couple cutting a log. The log represent team work because they both had to cut a thick tree log together until it breaks into two. My friend Sue and I laughed because you can tell they were getting tired plus it was a bit hot. We even took photos of it but it is on her phone. So we made a plan to go for lunch again last week at the exact place having front row seat. We watched so many people married that day. One family in particular surprise the bride and groom with a table of food platters, glasses of Sekt, breads, fruits, and etc. They even had a bed sheet with both of their names on it. In the middle a symbol of two rings and the date married. They had to cut out the heart shape together and walk through it. Again another symbol of team work. They stayed in front of the old Rathaus for perhaps a hour celebrating.

German Sheet Wedding Tradition

In France John and I walk right into a wedding. The first thing I heard was horn being blown down the street. I knew it was a wedding but then I seen an orange flag and said, “oh someone must won.” Walk down farther and it was a wedding for sure. Tons of Mercedes and a Royal Royce. It was a Turkish wedding I believe. Did not asked the people their nationality. The bride was so beautiful and the groom was a handsome devil. I watch him take off her veil and the music start playing and they both started to dance.

Turkish Wedding

Later when it was time to go back home. John and I seen a lady dress up in all pink but look a bit silly with two friends in pink and black. Immediately I knew it was a future bride perhaps about to do some traditions or going to a bar and kiss guys for money who knows. Then not too far away we seen her partner, lol. He too was wearing pink and look sexy has can be swimming in the fountain water with a ball of chain tied to his leg. Oh the joy of getting married.
Groom Ball and Chain

Are you married, ever been, if so what was your wedding day like and if not how do you picture it to be?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2011 7:20 pm

    Ah yes, weddings are lovely. It’s living with them afterwards that’s not so swell! 😉

    • May 10, 2011 8:06 pm

      🙂 I can totally understand. And thanks for the complement about the new header. I wanted to do a few more design revamp bringing out more of my personality. Unfortunately, I am limited depending on WP themes. I don’t plan to buy upgrade CSS for blogging. So I settle for this for now.

  2. May 10, 2011 7:20 pm

    Oh, I meant to add, love the new header!!

  3. May 11, 2011 7:18 pm

    Oh girl, you don’t want to open this discussion with me LOL. I adore watching weddings. My mom and I even planned one for a friend and it came out great. I know everything doesn’t always go as planned but I already know where I would like to get married and what areas I want to save money in. I am not the disillusioned bride that thinks I have to spend all my money. I learned a lot when planning my friends wedding and watching David Tutera. But I do imagine it to be just 80 close family and friends, intimate, and loving 🙂

    • May 12, 2011 11:16 am

      Kay if I still know you when your married I would love to share your joy and read about your wedding and view a few photos. I am interested and would be interested to find out where you plan to married and your ceremony taking place when time come. Because your blog always show some nice interesting places and architectural work.

  4. May 13, 2011 5:23 am

    You know, I think there is no such thing as a ‘perfect’ wedding. they all seem to have had something turn out not quite as planned, but I think that’s what makes them unique. one of my friend’s husband was sick as a dog w/food poisoning on their wedding day! My dad fell asleep and was 30 min late to mine, and the priest never showed! I do have to say it was at my mom’s church and the priest was there to say a blessing b/c my hubby is Catholic and mom’s church isn’t. And look at us now, 13-1/2 yrs later, we look at those little things now and just smile. Oh, does it count when the bride boohoos all the way down the aisle, like a little kid who’s just found out Santa’s not real? Oh it was bad! I was cool as a cucumber, ready to be married to my honey. They opened the doors to the church, I got a look at him and totally broke down! I laugh about it now. I was just so happy. Lord help my daughter when she gets married, I’ll be a complete mess!

    • May 13, 2011 10:43 am

      DG you had me cracking up over here and almost made me cry. Your right there is no such thing as the perfect wedding. Something or the other is bound to happen, but that is what make a wedding memorable as you stated. It is being with your soul mate in the long run.

Leave a Reply

