Skip to content

Yellow Watermelon and Round Zucchini

May 2, 2011

Last weekend I went to Esslingen market. The weather is getting better plus I went to look for inspiration and fresh berries. To have learned the strawberries are in season right now and the blueberries will be in 2-3 weeks. The prices were just ridiculous on many things. Almost everyone price was the same. In the fall the price is decent in the winter I hibernate and shop at the regular grocery store for fruits and vegs.

Beside the ridiculous price I did found three things that interest me. One I am thinking to use for this month theme at What Sha Cooking which is Flower. For who ever want to participate flower has to be be a part of the photo whether it is a shape, design, edible or not. I found something that I have no clue in cooking and not for sure if I would like it, but it look picture worthy so I see if I can make it look nice when taking a photo if all fail then I think of something else. But my two finds were a yellow watermelon and a round zucchini.

I have never in my life seen yellow watermelon or a round zucchini. I had to ask the guy what were they. He laughed at me and told me as I display my wow and puzzle interest in them, lol. The yellow watermelon tasted just like the red one. It was no difference to my taste bud. The zucchini I have not touch yet. I am building up things to do in my mind with it. Perhaps I use it for display as a holder. It is too cute not too. Still brain storming.
Yellow Watermelon and Circle Zucchini
Have you ever seen or try a yellow watermelon or round zuchini?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 3:49 pm

    The need to create a new hybrid vegetable: the “affordable price” vegetable.

    • May 2, 2011 3:56 pm

      Yes they do:) I read in the newspaper last weeks they are thinking to use some of the crop of land for planting plants that can make natural resource for gas. This was a big discussion at the kitchen table. My husband family are farmers and we were all discussing okay great idea but now what happen to people who are starving and people who make their living off selling crops.

      I was,as I mention complain of how the price is 50% higher than in the grocery store. My husband continue telling me I need to look at the long runs farmers have to live to. Which I agree but I continue telling him I look at the short distance which is my pocket. After that he said discussion over.

  2. May 2, 2011 6:32 pm

    Yellow Watermelon? You’re not the only person that has never seen that before in their life. And I’m surprised that it taste the same as a red watermelon. I may have to go and find these. I hope you are doing well today 🙂

    • May 2, 2011 8:15 pm

      Yes me too, I asked the vendor what is the different initially. He mention that some people might find it sweater and others not. I smile and looked at him while I said to myself that is normal with all watermelon, lol. But to my surprise it taste the same like regular watermelon and the price was more due to it rarity. Would I buy this again, nope why it taste the same as the red.

      I am doing pretty good just too much going on lately over the news I am trying to distant myself from. It is all over facebook, blog postings, and other chat forums I go on. I hope your having a better day than I am

  3. May 4, 2011 5:57 am

    I seem to remember having yellow watermelon as a kid. I love any kind of watermelon! MMMM icy cold on a hot day. The zuchini is adorable! never seen one of those! I like to saute a zuchini an a squash w/some onions & garlic in a little olive oil. We had some tonite w/dinner. Yummy! Let us know what you do w/the your teeny tiny little zuchini!

    • May 4, 2011 8:29 am

      I never tried zucchini and squash before but the way you say it it sound yummy. Must give that a try one day. Will do (let everyone know what I do withe the zucchini). I am still thinking as an holder. Make things inside of it than chopping it up. It is too pretty to destroy.

Leave a Reply

