Skip to content

Easter in Germany

April 20, 2011

In Germany Easter is started by covering/draping the cross on Good Friday. On this day most people in Germany eat dishes which have fish in them. Easter starts with mass, which is started on Saturday evening and continues until Sunday morning. On Sunday it is Family Day on this day they have a special Easter lunch and they have colored eggs and a cake which is shaped like a lamb. They also eat other sweet foods such as cookies, cake and chocolate and the best part of the day is the hiding of the eggs and cookies in the garden. Another tradition is the Easter Fire which is where all the old Christmas trees are gathered up and burnt in a special place, this is done so as to clean away the last signs of winter and moving onto spring. So today and tomorrow I will be a baking queen!

How do I celebrate Easter in Germany. I am a JAmerican. What is that? This is what my friends called me because I was born in Jamaica but raised up in America and share most of the American customs and tradition than the Jamaican’s. But I love both places the same:) On that note I start my Easter by celebrating Good Friday. Good Friday in my family tradition from centuries and way back we always eat bun and cheese throughout the day and drink grape juice/wine (adult). But not any regular bun. It had to be the Easter bun. I am literally laughing as I am writing this because I lived so many places that each year I had to hunt down an Easter bun or ask my mother to mail me a piece, lol. The Easter bun is normally imported from Jamaica or New York. You might call it a fruit bun but I call it an Easter bun plus that is what it says on the packet, lol, marketing skills, lol. The cheese would have to be a soft cheese. I use to only eat a certain brand but now I got over it and said cheese is cheese plus the brand I normally eat once a year (Tastee Cheese) is ridiculous expensive but goooooood! On Good Friday, Jamaican tradition, we are not suppose to eat anything that touch the fire that day! We could eat something from the night before but can’t warm it up so bun and cheese it is! We are not suppose to work, clean house, or anything but just enjoy our family, loves ones, and friends. Pretty much a day to relax and be grateful of what you have. When midnight come my husband always laugh at me because I go straight in the kitchen and cook me something to eat or hunt down a Coney Island/7 Eleven, lol. For the 9 years we have been together, John, has been following my tradition even though he does not have to. He say he can hang it is only for one day. So far so good.

For Easter I normally have a nice Easter feast. One of my family members would hold a dinner over their house and we rotated and when no one was in the mood to host dinner my mom, brothers, and I would have a candle light dinner among ourselves. Here in Germany all I have are my husband parents and family in which I love like my own. They live 6-8 hours away so it is it not like a every weekend or holiday trip but we tend to try our best. Even though I can’t have my own family here I have my other family members who I love and viversa to still celebrate this event with.

Church on Easter. In the State I went to church sometime on Easter but I think almost everyone does because they think they have to go. I go once a while because I think the children look great in their Easter best. We went here to church last year for me to do my mental note comparison. I am always mentally comparing something in my head. The children here I have notice at least in Esslingen wear normal clothing compare to America children Easter Sunday best.

Now I must get out out of here and get all my supplies to make my own Easter bun this year and goodies to share! I am wishing all of you a wonderful Easter Holiday!

How do you celebrate your Good Friday and Easter?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 4:25 pm

    I’ve seen Easter bun before but I never got to try it. I know Easter for me means a bit of soul food which I am totally happy about because I don’t get to eat it often lol. And there’s church in the morning with all the kids dressed up, not wanting to get dirty because they’re parents told them not to lol. Easter is fun and very symbolic for me.

    • April 20, 2011 8:16 pm

      Those poor children, I bet itching to get out of those clothing and put on their regulars clothes. But they do look so cute like little ladies and gentlemen. I actually miss that a bit.
      Kay you mention soul food. Are you cooking this, family members, or friends? I only had soul food I think twice in my life when I visited Atlanta Georgia with John. Hope your day is good:)

      • April 21, 2011 7:45 pm

        I cook with my mom every holiday. My grandmother, before she died, wanted to eat on every major holiday lol. It was our way of bringing our immediate family back together because we’re always busy :). It’s a lot of fun and the food makes me work out harder LOL.

      • April 21, 2011 7:46 pm

        We also invite friends if they don’t have plans. My grandmother never liked anyone eating alone πŸ™‚

      • April 21, 2011 10:33 pm

        Your grandmother sounded like she was a sweet lady.

  2. April 20, 2011 9:29 pm

    When I was little we always got new dresses, hats, gloves, etc. for Easter. I loved it, I guess I’m a little priss πŸ˜‰ It was a family day, much like Christmas. Mass in the morning, then dinner with the family (but we always had a big Sunday dinner. Easter would be fancier). Now it’s turned into another gift-giving occasion here, which just frosts me. We’ve barely recovered from Christmas, and we’re getting bombarded by ads for Easter gifts. I refuse to start that nonsense.

    • April 21, 2011 10:12 am

      Nothing wrong with being a little priss,I think children look so adorable when they dress up. Are you serious Easter is now a gift occasion?! What happen to the fun and spirit of it? Egg hunting, church, stories reading, and so much more. I don’t think my brothers play the games of buying presents to their children. I think they keep it old fashion as when we were little.

  3. April 21, 2011 12:31 am

    I spent one Easter on Bimini. It was so joyous to see just several hundred people on that tiny island dress in Sunday finest(mostly white) in their musical parade of singing. Not supposed to clean house, eh? That means every mother and housewife wishes it was Easter Season EVERY DAY !!! In Christ, I remain, Carl.

    • April 21, 2011 10:22 am

      You just answer one of my question I was asking myself yesterday. Yesterday I went shopping and saw displays in a few windows with many white outfits and they were beautiful. One dress in particular capture my eyes but ofcourse not in my size. I was wondering what the all white displays are for until now. Thanks Carl!

      Bimini sounds beautiful and look beautiful. I had to google it to see exactly where was it:) I tell you I learn something new everyday. Lol, ya that is a wish we wish for ofcourse or mainly a dream, lol. We still have to clean the day before and after. A women job is never done even after we have done it (same saying goes for the bachelors and single dads).

  4. April 21, 2011 10:54 am

    Another great festive season here to enjoy with loved ones,the company, wine, food and of course desserts lol, how can we not love Easter. Im looking forward to indulging chocolates and shortbread cookies.I have to say that German bun in the picture looks irrisistable, now I just wish I was in Germany πŸ™‚

    • April 21, 2011 11:44 am

      πŸ™‚ Then you wish you were in Jamaica. That is a Jamaican traditional Easter bun. They sell fruit cakes here and nothing come close. Therefore, I plan to bake my own later for tomorrow.

      I do agree with you it is a “Another great festive season to enjoy with loved ones,the company, wine, food and of course desserts lol”

      • April 23, 2011 5:48 am

        Lol, well jamaica here I come, dam, that looks good! well you have yourself a splendid Easter, to you and loved ones and happy making jamaican buns, its does look delicious πŸ™‚

  5. April 21, 2011 5:51 pm

    What a lovely way to spend Good Friday. Here it is just another day, which i think is really sad. My husband has to work, the children are in school. Maybe I”ll take up your tradition of not working/cleaning/etc. that sounds wonderful! On Saturday, we’ll color the eggs. Then mass on Sunday and lunch after. Not going to be a big deal this year, just low key day to ourselves, which is just fine by me! We don’t get enough time to just hang out btw work and school. I bought my boy some dress shoes yesterday. I told him he has to look nice for Easter and the week after is our daughter’s first communion. I can’t have him running around looking like a kid who’s just come in from the playground!
    Enjoy your Easter bun!

  6. April 21, 2011 5:52 pm

    Oh, and your reader who posted about the gifts. I’m right with her. Easter in our house is about Jesus and his sacrifice and rebirth. Not about what gifts are in the basket. They normally get a basket with just a few goodies, one small toy and a few candies and that’s it. I’m trying to make it remain centered on Christ and all that it means rather than material things.

    • April 21, 2011 10:31 pm

      Good for you keep it focus! I am really appalled Easter have came into giving gift and honestly surprise by it that many people are feeding into it.

      I always thought Good Friday was also a federal holiday that the post man don’t deliver and everyone have that day off. Even the schools are close. Am I missing something?

      Aw your children are going to look great in their Easter best and congrat to your daughter for her first communion. I know she is excited and can’t wait to walk down the church isle with the group of children and celebrate. I wonder what does it means to her. With my nephew here it meant gifts and money, lol.

  7. April 21, 2011 11:16 pm

    Good Friday is not a holiday out here in Oregon, either. The only schools that will have the day off are Christian schools.

    • April 22, 2011 3:41 am

      In Florida they make it a teacher workday. Some principals look the other way as people don’t show up and others make sure you are there until 3 PM. Same with the 2 Jewish holidays in September.

  8. April 22, 2011 4:53 am

    This year I ‘m not making much of Good Friday, I think we are even going to eat meat which was not really intentional it’s just happening. As a kid (parochial school) Good Friday meant going to church between 12noon and 3pm – not playing and generally a quiet time.
    NOW Easter these days is a whole other kind of celebration. For the past many years that I have lived in NYC, my husband and i walk in the Easter Parade on Fifth Avenue. I always make an outrageous hat covered in flowers and Peter wears a vintage suit and a straw boater. Over the years, I have had my daughter walk with us and this year she will and so will my little granddaughter, Finley Ray. I couldn’t find a bonnet to decorate in her size so tonight I made her a wreath of flowers that will match her dress. Can’t wait to see my little angel.

    • April 22, 2011 12:09 pm

      PG you are so lucky. You always end up going to some cool parades plus I love all the photos you share on your blog. I must swing by your blog once I get back in town next Thursday to see what photos you will post and Ms. Finley will look ever so beautiful as you and handsome as Peter.

  9. April 22, 2011 12:13 pm

    I wish everyone a wonderful Easter holiday. I thanks everyone for sharing with me. I learned a lot! I always like to hear the different ways people celebrate and do things. It always interest me. I am heading out the door and won’t be back until Thursday. So once again wishing everyone a festive, fun, spiritual holiday.

Leave a Reply

