Skip to content

Taking Chances

March 31, 2011

Life is all about taking chances. If you don’t take chances you will never know what is out there or where it might lead you.

Taking a Chance

photo source: corporateathletes.com.my

My hubby, John, is out of town on business and I am home alone. But I am really not alone. I have wonderful people who surrounds me. I spent my days visiting other cities whether to window shop or to buy something I like. My hubby gave me the card and said have fun and that is what I did, lol. But this post is not about shopping sprees or traveling from cities to cities in Germany. It is about taking a hold to life and stop shying away from it. For example today I met up with a young lady whom I have been communicating via email for a week. She was witty, have a good sense of humor, and also trying to get adjusted in Germany. We enjoyed talking over coffee for 3 hours and did a little shopping. I actually felt a connection with her. To bad she will be leaving Germany in 2/3 months but will be back in 2 years. So if my new acquaintance turn into friendship material it will bitter sweet ending when she leaves.

I was feeling so good about my day when we departed. I bought myself an ice cream cone and was walking, eating, and smiling in the rain. On my way home I seen a person who I met a year ago called, Maria. I will never forget Maria. She was so nice and kind to me. She gave me her telephone number and told me to call her anytime I need help getting around or to learn German. This was way before I started school. But I lost her number and told myself it is okay. One day I will bump into her since I walk a lot in Esslingen. A year later I did, lol. We talked and I explained to her when she asked why I have not called. This time I place her number in my cell phone. So that we can meet up over coffee.

As I was leaving her I heard someone call out my name. It was Jasmin. A sister to one of the young lady that was in my class. Jasmin was a guest student twice. So we talk a bit and I asked her how is her mother doing. She told me her mother finally had the baby which was a girl. Then I told her please tell her mother and sister hi for me. She told me Noor was there. She quickly got Noor. Noor and I hugged and talked. It was so nice to see her again. We talked about what we are up to and our future plans.

photo source: davelozo.wordpress.com

So I am eating my ice cream still in the rain feeling great about today. It has been so positive and surrounded with beautiful people. Instead of taking the bus I walked home telling myself Lora you are going straight to Amron and ask Donna first what should I call her “Sie” or “Du”. In Germany you don’t use du meaning you, unless a person gives you permission. A year ago she told me her name was Donna so I took the habit of using du. But today I wanted to ask her what do she preferred me using du or Sie. She said that I can use du with her because we always talked. But used Sie with someone that is a stranger. Which I knew but this answer would let me know if I should ask her out for coffee or not. Ya, I know now what guys going through. It is so nerve reckon. Fast forward she smile and said yes she would love to. A worker close by said in German what about her. She would like to join us. I said sure. Then another worker which is a friend came over and both was explaining to her what was going on and she asked could she join us, lol. I said sure! I have no problem with the other workers. I talked to them every other day. Many times I need nothing at Amron, I just go to say hello, chat a little, and return with a bag of flour which cost me 25 cent. My husband always say, I see you have not build up the courage yet to ask her as I store away the bag of flour. So I am happy she said yes and that the other females invited themselves. They said it will be a day of “Crutchen” I don’t think I spelled it right. But from what Donna explained to me that it is when a group of females get together and talk, talk, talk. I laughed and said I can do that but my German is not so good. They laughed and said it is okay we were once in your shoes. We are not German. I was surprise but one person who will come along is. I told all three of them this please me that they are very nice and patient with me. So once we all have the same schedule we will go out together and talk over breakfast.

I left feeling so relieve. I wanted to do this over a year now and had no courage to just ask. Only because I feel as my Deutsch was not good enough. Today I took a chance and darn it…it feels good!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 8:01 pm

    That’s wonderful that you have so many lovely friends there to keep you company 🙂 And good for you for getting out on your own and not being afraid to take some chances. I don’t know if I would be that brave, so I admire anyone who is!

    • March 31, 2011 9:16 pm

      Hi DD I normally am not so brave. I push myself to do things. I honestly walk what I plan to do next in the head. If I don’t do what I mentally plan and get it over with it won’t get done.

      People make me nervous. I feel comfortable talking over the computer and more relax. If I have a good conversation with a person over the net then in person it flow/feel the same. So please believe me I am not brave at all. I am the cowardly lion and everyday I push.

  2. April 1, 2011 7:19 pm

    I totally call that girls night out :). But that is great that you are finding more friends in Germany. You’re journey will lead you somewhere wonderful :). Nice post.

  3. April 3, 2011 11:46 am

    Love this post. It’s so delightful! And it brings back memories of when I first got here. Even the most mundane things seemed surreal.

    • April 4, 2011 7:37 pm

      Hi Scarlett, could you share with me how did you meet people once you were settle?

      • April 6, 2011 12:35 pm

        I’d be happy to…only it’s a bit difficult for me to answer that since I’ve always tended to be a loner, and enjoy doing a lot of things on my own. I have made a couple of very nice friends, but it happened naturally. I wasn’t actively searching for it.

        If you are interested in meet-up groups, i believe there is a popular site called ToyGermany or something like that. It is a huge community of expats living in Germany. You might want to google them.

        🙂

      • April 6, 2011 3:01 pm

        lol, I know TT I have met a few people there that lives distance away from me, but they are nice people who I chat with almost daily. The site is great with people who are so full with information.

  4. April 5, 2011 12:23 am

    Great post! See, isn’t it amazing what happens when we step out of our comfort zone? It sounds like you had a terrific day! And yes, it is all about the chances. If my hubby hadn’t taken a chance and moved with his job, we never would’ve met. All the chances don’t necessarily turn out for the better, but you won’t be sitting there saying,’I wish I would’ve’. or ‘I wonder what would’ve happened…’ Enjoy your new world and lewarn more of it! It’s so exciting!

    • April 5, 2011 8:28 am

      Thank you DG. I hate that…wishing and wanting to rewind the hands of time. Even though I take plenty of chances some of them (as you mention is not always good chances) I wish I would of just pass up on. But I am growing and learning.

  5. April 21, 2011 10:59 am

    Your blog is more than cooking, i had no idea, i love!!
    let me know if you like to share any of your wonderful posts with OW magazine, we would love to feature your work. Again, another kick in the goal for you hehe, keep up the great work.
    ps: taking chances can lead you to places that you would never dream of, life is about living your dreams, achievement what ever that is to each person, so lets take that step forward and start living. Beautiful post girl, 10 points!!

    • April 21, 2011 11:52 am

      lol, ya my blog is like is my emotional roller coaster. Cheaper thank paying for a physiologist, lol. I write when I am happy, sad, confuse, or want to share something new/different with others.

      What ever post you see you may take. I actually seen some of them a few places on WP which tickle the heck out of me, like global news and etc.

      loving your P.S.!

      • April 23, 2011 6:01 am

        Emotional rollercoasters are great lol, it seems like mine is going that way lol, it was ment to be more on arts and design, and it becoming well a rollercoaster hahahah. Well you definately have a bit of everything and that can be informative, what beautiful reads! and thanks so much for chipping in, I most definately let you know when I can use your article and have you in the contributors column (which i should start soon). Bless you lovely women. Im glad your helping others from them reading and learning through your articles, they are indeed valuable. Happy Easter lovely 🙂
        OW

Trackbacks

  1. Conquering Fear « Life in a Nutshell
  2. It’s the Little Things « Life in a Nutshell

Leave a Reply

