Skip to content

B1 German Intergration Class

March 1, 2011

Yesterday was a bitter sweet day for me. It was the last day of the integration class. I am happy the class is over because then I can take the Integration exam (stress) in two weeks, pass it, and move on to the next level. Here in Germany the B1 is require for work. You can work with out having a B1 if you know someone or the person or company don’t care as long as you are able to speak good Deutsch. Also you must have a B1 certification to move on to the next level which is a B2. The B2 class is way shorter than the B1. My B1 class was full time 4 hours a week Mon-Thursday for 10 months counting the holidays and so on. But in actuality I learned how to speak decent German in 9 months when you minus the holidays break. After the B2 then it is the C1 and C2. The C1 is a must if you have interest to go to an University. This states that you have no problem hearing or writing the language. This is the level I am aiming for!

Okay now that is said yesterday was great! We had a party, ate, laugh, play a vocabulary game, and dance. It was great fun. I even hugged the devil and wish her well. I told myself the past is the past. I wish everyone success in life and the Prufung (the major test in 2 weeks that tell our faith to move on or repeat the last 3 model of the class….oh I forgot to mention there are 6 models to the class and a Orientation on Politics. Each model take 1-1.5 months to complete. The Politic is a must pass but it is easy. Well for me it was. I answer a 25 Political questions test giving 45 minutes time limit and was done in 5 minutes and think I got 100%.) The Political test has it importance. When pass a person can live in Germany with their green card after one year. For me this rule does not applied I heard but I like to take precaution just in case down the road it bite me in the arse!

Enough of writing I would like to share with you a video from the party and two photos of the original group of people and the new group of people with the original. So many people every few months drop out of the class due to personal reasons.

In the photos you will see a mixture of beautiful people from Jamaica/America, Turkei, Greece, Croatia, Iran, France, Germany, Columbia, and China….if I miss any I come back later and edit them in:)

B1 German Intergration Class

B1 German Intergrationmulticultural

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 6:44 pm

    Congratulations! Wow, that’s a long time to go to school there. Will any of these people be continuing on with you for the next level?

    • March 1, 2011 7:25 pm

      Thank you. They have also classes for slower learner which is well over a year to complete, thank goodness I did decent on the placement test. Everyone said they will continue on, but I honestly don’t believe it. The people in my class were getting help with their school payment (1 Euro per hour and the bus ride paid, plus it was a must to come to class by the government office). And when complete the class they get half of that Euro per hour back. So the class is like .50 cent per hour! I was paying full amount per hour since I was told I was not needed to take the class. So I paid private which is okay. For me I needed to learn the language. But don’t get me wrong I am sure half of the people in class will continue on because it is a drive for them to go to the University to get a better job. Others will not because they might not feel as it is important to. Many of them can speak German well, it is the writing that are some of their problem. Either way if they go on to the next level or not I wish them well. They are a wonderful bunch of people who are highly smart, motivated, and hard working.
      Oh, I must state the next level will be at another school. This school was only for the integration B1 class.

  2. March 1, 2011 8:27 pm

    You guys look like you are having alot of fun. Good luck on your classes, I’m sure you will do well.

  3. March 3, 2011 8:13 pm

    I wish I could learn another language! It is such a dedication of time, I can’t do it now. Maybe when the kids go off to school????

  4. March 6, 2011 3:24 pm

    Congratulations on finishing the course!

    I’m sure with your dedication you will do just fine with the higher levels. 🙂

    • March 6, 2011 3:57 pm

      Thank you so much. I think so too, but I am a worry bug at time that stress over two things (taking risks and tests). One day I wish I can stomp that bad habit!

  5. unabridgedgirl permalink
    March 7, 2011 5:39 pm

    An Intergration exam does not sound fun to me. Just the name alone is ick. BUT I know you will do well. You will do better than well!

    • March 7, 2011 7:31 pm

      It does not sound found to me either, lol. Two nights ago I had the weirdest dream. I dream that the test was in a office below where I live and I am seeing all my classmates. I asked them what are they doing here. They grabbed my hand and look at me and say Lora today is the intergration test. I ran upstairs and throw on clothes looking like a good mess and woke up. Set yahoo reminder and my cell phone to call and email myself the day before the test reminder!

  6. March 8, 2011 4:01 am

    Congrats – you must be super proud!!

Trackbacks

  1. B1 Intergration Class – I pass! « Life in a Nutshell

Leave a Reply

