Skip to content

Stromae

February 18, 2011

Stromae
Stromae, whose real name is Paul Van Haver was born March 12, 1985 in Brussels, Belgium from a Rwandan father and a Belgian mother. He is a singer-songwriter of Belgian-Rwandan origin. He has distinguished himself in both hip hop and electronic music. He first became famous with the song “Alors on danse” which remained at number one for several weeks in numerous countries throughout Europe.

Stromae took his first lessons in music theory at the age of eleven and quickly developed a passion for composition. He invents his nickname by reversing the syllables of the word maestro and began the report in 2003 by forming a duet with rapper JEDI The duo recorded a few tracks before separating. Stromae starts when solo. In 2007, he recorded an EP 4 tracks, which allows him to get noticed on the music scene and opens the door to professionalism. He composed some tracks for artists like Anggun, Kery James or Melissa M. In 2009, Stromae wrote the song “So They Dance” that is experiencing tremendous success in Germany, Belgium and France. This success allows Stromae to launch his career and especially to record his first album released in 2010. His music, a blend of hip-hop and electro, attracted a large audience.

Stromae – Alors on Danse

“Alors on danse” was written in 2009. The Electro-influences are remarkable in this song and are joined with some pop music-influences. The song tells the story of a person who has a lot of work-related stress and needs entertainment.

At the beginning of the “official” video Stromae is sitting in his office. After a hard day’s work, he apparently wants to visit his child, but as he arrives at his wife’s house he is told to leave. He proceeds to walk down the street, and while doing this a homeless man steals his coat. He then enters into a pub. At first he does not appear to enjoy himself, but as he becomes more inebriated he begins to sing on a small stage. After his performance he passes out, and is brought back by an unknown man from the pub to his office desk in the first scene, where the video started.

If your wonder what language this is. It has a little English and if my French is not too rusty I hear many French words.

Interview from Stromae:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 5:49 pm

    Just a quick observation: It seems like all the German recording artists make up stage names for themselves, is that really common? I think it’s more prevalent among hip-hop and rap artists over here, although there are a few in the rock world (Slash, Flea, etc.) that use stage names.

    • February 18, 2011 5:54 pm

      Hi DD, I think it is the same for all over the world. Some people use their own names others in group agree for a name, and people who have name that is hard to pronounce or to remember cut it short or make up something memorable.

  2. April 19, 2011 12:42 am

    I loved that song; I even went to his show where he performed only 4 songs, lol

  3. September 17, 2013 7:45 pm

    Saw your visit to me 9/17/13 and tried to leave message your last two posts but says comments closed. Regards.

    • September 17, 2013 8:32 pm

      Hi Carl, I hope all is well. I just write these days just sharing a little piece of what is going on in my world. I turn off the comments since I been back blogging since there are many days I refrain from using the internet. It get so addicting at time to be honest. I actually visit your page more than what you see:) I get the weekly blog post every Monday. If I am sign in on my blog you could see my visit in the statistic area, but many times I am not sign in until around the time I blog. But I visit actually more than what you see and visit a few other blogger buddies to see what you all have been up too. I miss you all and just reading what you all share make me feel like I am still in the loop of what is going on in many of your lives.

Leave a Reply

