Skip to content

Accepting Your Child

February 16, 2011

accepting your child for who they are
Wow. As parent you raise your child or children to be a good person, a hard worker, a husband or a wife. You perhaps picture their life to be betters than yours so you work hard, lose many days of sleep, put yourself last, and tackle all the obstacles in your way alone.

As the child get older you start to get excited. My baby is walking, she is talking, he said his first word, she graduated from third grade, he is in high school, one more year and she will graduate and go off to college. I will feel so proud. But life does not always give you what you want or plan does it? Sometimes the good Lord has his own plan for them and take them away for what ever reason it may be. Other time your child may have their own plans as well. It does not always matter how well you raised them. Their environment, peers, and friends will wash some of your hard work away. So when you feel “why, what have you done wrong or that you must be a bad parent”. Please stop to think. Did you spend time with this child, installed moral and value? Did you teach them to be strong, independent, and install work ethics? Did you put your self last and the child well being first? Did you spend quality time? If all yes you are a great parent you have did all that was expected of you to do. So please stop beating your self up.

When your child drop out of school don’t give up continue showing her why school is important. Don’t let her just lay up in your house and do nothing. When a child is using drugs and start stealing from you don’t give up work on that child and get help for her. When you child finally build up the courage to tell you that they are in love with the same sex. Don’t abandon him or her. Love your child like you love him from day one. Hold her tight to let her know you might not agree with the decision she is making but you will always love her.

It is easy to accept what is going on in other people life. Nevertheless when it comes to your own it is hard too. Love, accept, please no regrets, and most of all have strength.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 12:06 am

    A lot of parents have a hard time seeing their children grow into individuals, and not extensions of themselves. Ultimately, they are their own person, not a robot we program.

  2. February 20, 2011 1:35 pm

    This was a really beautiful post. I hope a lot of people read it.

  3. February 20, 2011 9:11 pm

    Lovely sentiments. Really. You know, I have thought and felt the things you wrote about. We all want the best for our children. I have family members who are very inflexible and narrow minded and I always wonder what would’ve happened to our relationship if one of us was gay. Or one of my children when they grow up. Here’s my thought on it: If one of my children does not go to the college I would prefer, or choose a career that I prefer, or tell me he or she is gay, it will not change my feelings, or who they are. I will be mom no matter what. Some of those things may take some adjustment on my part, but they are my children and I will love them no matter what. I may not like what they do, and heaven forbid they should get into drugs or alcohol ( I would HATE that) but it won’t change how I feel about them.

Leave a Reply

