Skip to content

Gift from the Heart

February 15, 2011

When you do not have a lot of money, but have some time make gifts from the heart. As children we all learned from school to make little drawings and gifts to our parents for all occasions and seasons. Well when your a housewife like me and collecting changes around the house, getting happy when doing laundry, and looking forward weekly for your allowance. You want to save that allowance and change for a special day and make gifts from the heart.

Monday was Valentine day and I thought about what to give my husband as a Valentine day gift. It is really not a day that we celebrate because in this household everyday is a day of love and Christmas (for me, lol). But I said why not do something special for him this year. He been so supported and as usual awesome. He is carrying all the weight for both of us and all I can do right now is make sure things are done around the house and that he is taking care of. In the state we both work here I feel as a free loader but told many time from John that I am not. Just continue doing what I am doing and in no time I can start helping with a pay check again.

Therefore, I planned to make Valentine for 3 days. To treat John like the little king that he is. Saturday and Sunday I served him breakfast in bed. Saturday night I made him a nice dinner of his choice, Sunday I treated him to a Movie. Then we went to the first castle John ever took me to 8 years ago and ate dinner in the tower staring down at the city. Official Valentine day I woke up early to place some chocolate onto his car seat and a photo of moi for his work desk. For him to call me laughing and telling me how much he love my crazy butt. Monday morning before school and night straight after school I made a nice little romantic meal and surprise him by sitting in a candle lit room all doll up waiting for him to arrive from work.

This was my gift from my heart. My time, sharing a bit of my allowance, and catering to my baby (Sundays are the days he cater to me, lol…I so love my Sundays).

Apricot Croissant

First croissant I ever made with Apricot filling

brussel sprout with Turkey filling

Brussel Sprout with Turkey fillings

Apple Crepe

Apple Crepe topoff with Powder Sugar - I made this from stratch and the filling was to die for!

Essling Burg (castle) Valentine dinner

3 forms of steaks, french fries, creme potato, spaetzle, pepper creme sauce and another creme sauce. Sunday night dinner in the castle tower.

Valentine Day dinner for my honey

Official Vday meal I started before school and finish way after. But was well worth it!

If interested to join the group and your a person who like to ‘share’ your photo recipe with others this is the link to my little group What Sha Cooking Only accepting people who like to share so that the group continue being active with communication and postings;)
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=100981263293737&ref=ts
What Sha Cooking

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 12:03 pm

    Looks great. Lotta work. Me – must stay with cinnamon swirl raisin bread bachelor style.

    • February 15, 2011 12:10 pm

      Thank you and yes it was. Nothing wrong with a cinnamon swirl with raisin. Heck I would even like a piece right now.

  2. February 15, 2011 5:01 pm

    I can not believe the elaborate, beautiful meals you make! You seriously need to open your own restaurant!

    • February 15, 2011 7:44 pm

      Thank you DD. A few other people mention that too me but I am nervous to even try. I have a problem my timing. I am slow with cooking and everything always take 2 hours or more. No one in their life nor I will wait on a meal more then 20 minutes.

  3. February 15, 2011 11:07 pm

    I hope my husband never finds your blog!!!! I will be in biiiiig trouble!
    Your hubby is one lucky guy!

  4. February 16, 2011 7:26 am

    You are such a sweet and thoughtful wife one can ever have ! Loved the way you think and plan out stuff and make the other person feel special . If I may ask , what was your V-day gift?
    Which Candy Heart Are You?
    Discover your Candy Heart Message for Valentine’s Day.
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/candy/candy_instructions.asp

    • February 16, 2011 9:10 am

      Thank you Kate. My Vday gift was him treating me to the castle on Sunday night. He actually wanted to take me there on Monday but the castle is closed on Monday.Flowers, but I don’t know whether to count this or not. I get bouquet of flowers almost every 2 weeks, and last week he gave me the plastic without a limit. I of course thought it was a test to see if I had learn how to control my spending habit so I only bought a few things. He laughed and said no it really was for me to enjoy. Next time I will know better,lol.

      I tried to take the test but then afterward it wanted my email address and info. So the result was not giving to me, because my info was not sent.

      I hope your Vday was pretty nice as well whether you celebrate it on Monday or everyday:)

  5. February 15, 2011 7:44 pm

    Thank you for twittering my post.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Gift from the Heart « Life in a Nutshell -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

