Skip to content

Obsession

February 4, 2011

Obsession and not referring to Calvin Klein Perfume even though it does smell nice. Nor am I talking about the reversion of the movie with Beyonce Knowles for me the original was way better. I am referring to:
obsessionEveryone have atleast one case of obsession. Whether you are obsess with another person, can’t leave the house with out checking that everything is off if not plug out the wall, it is a must for you to look at yourself in almost every reflections you walk by, can’t stop reading a book once you begin, log on everyday to play a virtual farm game, refuse to take photos on your left side because you think your right side is better, lol, the list goes on.

One of my obsessions at the moment is buying cookbooks. I have tons of cookbooks for variety of meals. From baking, making candies, desserts, low calories, quick meals, cheap meals, appetizers, hsdoerve, drinks, breakfast, lunch, dinner…..the list can go on. Do I need all these cookbooks…not at all. Do I actually use them..yes I do. Some give me ideas and inspire me. Others fill my fascination of how they create the eye popping pastries at the bakery. Last year I was even thinking to work in the bakery for a few months to learn how to create their cakes and etc. The pay did not bother me. It would of contribute to the household. But my plan did not work out. My husband asked me why do I want to work at a bakery. I explained to him and he started to laugh and said, “They don’t make the cakes and etc here they are prepacked. The only thing they do is put the premade breads and rolls into the oven.” So I ask one of the young lady behind the counter to confirm to what John had said to find out he was correct. That plan was crush but of course did not stop me. each week I played around with a recipe.


Yesterday was a funny day. I order a few German learning material from one of my regular book store. As I was walking to the door I saw a few cookbooks laying out. Normally there are no cookbooks laying outside on the table. So I am browsing through a few and one grabbed my full attention! I saw a few delicious cakes and breads. So as always I am planning for oncoming holidays and events. Such as Valentine Day. I know from a couples of weeks ago what I planned to cook for starter and dessert but the main entry I am not for sure. So I am flipping through the page and nothing came up for the main meal but I still took the book in with me because it had a lot of great ideas. The owner of the book store greeted me and said, “I see you found my trap for you!” I told her, “Ya, your trap work, lol”. I end up buying the book, another book that has some awesome recipes I plan to try out this summer, and my learning material. I left with her saying, “I will call you when new cookbooks come in and if you find one your interested in email me”. That is how often I am there. So today I promise myself that “I” would not buy any more cookbooks until at least July. Why July because I have to be realistic with myself:) Do you think I can keep that promise to myself? I think I can if I can distance myself from the bookstores and walk with 5 Euros and less in my pockets.

Do you care to share what you are obsess over and why?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2011 7:56 pm

    hahah, hands-down for me, Tarot! 🙂 And books. Oy, I don’t know which is worse.

  2. February 6, 2011 3:03 pm

    Writing would be my top. Also, books and films. I can read and watch my favorites tons of times over. I always love catching new things. History and research, too. I guess I just love digging. 🙂

    btw, What kind of cake is that in the picture?

    • February 7, 2011 12:10 pm

      With the strawberries is a tradition Jamaican fruit cake with Rum but making use of the German products since I couldn’t fine everything here.
      The cake down to the very bottom is Dr. Oetker Käse-Sahne Torte mit Mandarine.

  3. February 6, 2011 3:56 pm

    Your husband is one lucky guy. I never have the time to cook & make him take us out to dinner at least 4 nights a week!

    • February 7, 2011 12:11 pm

      Oh wow, you sound like your lucky yourself. You don’t have to worry about cleaning up a big mess after a nice meal.

  4. February 13, 2011 3:24 am

    ha ha! You are not alone in your weakness for cookbooks! I am such a sucker for them! Especially when they are on the sale rack! I bought one last year called the Cookie Bible! OMG I want to make every single one! I’ve made several so far and they did not disappoint. I have many cookbooks of different variations, chicken, pasta, dessert, etc. Every time I see one, I can already her in my head my husband asking me, ‘do you really need another one?’ But then again, he gets the benefit, so I think he just give me a hard time bc it’s what he likes to do!

Leave a Reply

