Skip to content

Stranded Frozen Alone What will you do?

January 17, 2011

My husband and I are movie buffs. I am into thriller, suspense, horror and mystery and my husband is into comedy, romance, and nonfictional movies. Our common ground is Scifi. Last weekend one of the movie we rented was “Frozen”. Instead of me giving away the movie encase any one of you have not seen it yet. I will just copy and paste the same info that is all around the net “Three skiers are stranded on a chairlift and forced to make life-or-death choices that prove more perilous than staying put and freezing to death.”

This movie did not have any stars in it. At least not well known if they were to me. It was like a normal day with a group of friends just hanging out at a ski lounge. The movie had a little comedy in it to keep your attention of not getting bored and a few intense part like are you kidding me.

After the movie was finish I told my husband I change my mind from going skiing at the end of the year with him. He has been trying into talking me into skiing for years now. This year I finally said yes. Now after the movie a hell to a no. He can go by himself or with friends. Forget the romantic cabin and taking ski photos. I know it is one in a million what happen in the movie can happen to us but still.

So my question is to many of you: If you were stranded in a chairlift with two other people more than 36ft off the ground, the weather condition was freezing, and no one is around to help you at all! What would you do?

I will tell you all later in the week what my husband and I was yelling at the people to do, lol

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 10:17 pm

    We were going to rent this and they were out.
    Personally , i don’t know what i would do?
    Did you hear about the chairlift in Maine that the chairs fell off the lift recently? The wind was blowing so hard they actually CAME OFF and fell to the ground, with people on them!
    Now i definatly have to rent it!!

    • January 17, 2011 10:24 pm

      This is too cool. We normally get movies months later after it is release in America. This is good to know I am not so behind…thanks:)

      Now a hell to a no to go skiing for sure! No I did not hear about the chairlift in Maine incident. Do you know if the people were okay and how high they fell? That is like so mess up.

      When you do watch the movie I would love to know what you think of it.

  2. January 17, 2011 11:30 pm

    Depending on how long I was up there and how cold I was getting, I’d consider jumping. Yes, 36 feet is a long drop, but what’s the alternative? Don’t people usually have their skis ON when they’re riding those things? Hit the ground and ski, baby! People jump out of helicopters and stuff to ski, make those huge ski-jumps off ramps. I’d take my chances and jump! Never heard of the movie, though 🙂

    • February 4, 2011 12:15 pm

      They threw their skis down to grab the attention of the truck driver, but ofcourse they was off timing and the driver did not see anything.
      One guy did jump and I guess he thought he could land on his feet, lol. He end up breaking his legs and the bones protruding so gross. The wolfs ate him alive.

  3. January 25, 2011 11:39 pm

    I’d pull out my cell phone and call 911. 😉

    • January 26, 2011 8:21 am

      Oh forgot to mention and you have no signal or phone. No one is around you are just alone with your 2 friend in the freezing weather.

  4. February 4, 2011 12:10 pm

    I hope Kim had a chance to watch the video. The 3 young adults wanted to go down the bunny slope so they begged the guy let them ride one more time. The guy told them he can’t because severe weather is heading this way plus the ski recreation was closing (they are only open for the weekend). The young adults were persistence and got what they wanted.
    One of the colleague went to the guy who allowed the young adults to go on the lift that the boss needed him. The man who allow the young adult on the lift told his colleague there are 3 people who are on the lift don’t shut off the machine until you see them.
    So ofcourse 3 people came back but not the people on the lift. They guy shut off the machine and the y.a. was stuck high in the lift without a phone signal and no one around. When someone did came in a truck they responded late that the person did not see them.
    John and I was yelling at tv telling them to throw something down and stop talking and waiting. We was also thinking if they tied all their jacket and scarf together they could slowly get down to a decent height of not hurting themselves. Yes they would be freezing but that is a better chance than being stuck in a lift and freezing to death.

  5. Julia permalink
    August 17, 2012 6:22 pm

    I realize this is an old post, but I just watched the film yesterday, so maybe I can contribute 🙂 (English is not my first language, so I apologise for any mistakes)

    What could they do? 😉

    a) first of all, change position to a foetal one to retain warmth: cuddle to each other, not sit there with their legs hanging from the chair

    b) they had woolen hats: pull them over their faces, and hide the face in arms/coat to warm it up with the breath (the same with hands – sleeping with a hand on a metal rail – very stupid)

    c) absolutely NOT pee in one’s trousers – I understand it was cold and time was a factor, but when stranded you can always use urine as a drink, and you definitely don’t want to sit in freezing cold, icy pants

    d) Parker had a lighter: maybe it could have been used somehow to cause fire on the mountain (I know, I know – long shot and also potentially very dangerous – maybe they could at least light smth later on, when on the ground, to scare the wolfes away?) – if they had managed (I admit it was NOT very likely) burn a tree (by throwing lit up item on it) maybe someone would noticed the smoke? Could they throw a burning … something (?) on a snowcat to get noticed?

    e) As we’ve seen, the guy managed (in the end) to climb down a ladder: why on earth did he not do it 24 hours beforehand, when he was still strong and without frostbites? And why did he do it using his hands only when he could have climb with his legs as well? I can imagine Parker would not want to climb, but if both boys did, they had more chances with the wolfs (BTW, where exactly did these wolfs came from – it was a ski resort, so they were hiding during the day, right? Would they attack a skiing group of three/two? No one was warning the tourists/skiers that there were wolf packs around (and so close to the road?) What about those skiing after dark?

    f) jumping was a bad idea, but if they had used laces, belts etc. maybe the fall would not be so fatal

    Good idea:

    a) to always carry a bottle of water
    b) mobile phone (I do not understand why they did not have phones with them, and why would there be a connection problem – they were incredibly close to the road after all, and the driver managed to call the hospital from his car after he picked Parker from the sidewalk, right? It was not even 2 km from the chairlift, and so high they would have even better connection)
    c) rape/panic alarm: it makes hell of a noise and maybe would have alerted someone (or at least scared the wolfs away if they managed to the ground and had to ski)

    Well, anyway, hopefully it would not happen to us 😉
    And not jumping … God when I remember these broken legs, aaaaa!

    • August 18, 2012 4:26 pm

      Hi Julia, don’t worry about the spelling error or grammar. I typically have a tons of them when writing. After I do so much corrections I always end up finding more days later. Eventually I say forget it, people will know what I mean plus class is over, lol.

      Thanks for taking time out to respond to my question and visiting my blog. Don’t worry for me this is not old post just a post for a bit of conversation. I too love the movie and was yelling at the tv telling them what to do, lol.

      I so agree with you on so many levels. I think they would of got down if they had enough drive to get down instead of waiting for the last moment when they were just dead tired and body was breaking down. They could of tied their scarves and jackets together to make a long rope. Peeing and sleeping touching a icy pole was the stupidest thing I ever seen. But I guess the movie wanted to to seem as dumb teens.

      OMG you are so right about the wolves, but don’t forget the ride stopped in the middle when it normally would stop at the end. Perhaps at the end it was a safer area plus the storm could of push the wolves into the teenager direction. This movie was so mess up but it is possible. I hope too that no one ever have to be in that predicament. Once again thank you so much for taking time out to read and respond to my blog. Much appreciated. Wishing you a wonderful weekend!

  6. Julia permalink
    August 17, 2012 6:26 pm

    Oops, sorry for the mistakes … I only noticed some of them after pressing ‘post comment’ (should have been ‘someone would notice the smoke’, ‘where did they come from’ etc.) 😀

    Also, I don’t want to sound too critical: I really enjoyed the film 🙂

Leave a Reply

