Skip to content

Kiwano

January 10, 2011

Last week I came across a beautiful fruit. It is bright in orange and spiky. Today I finally decided to try it out. The inside reminds me of a Lilikoi and the taste reminds me of green bananas that are not ripe enough to eat as yet. It was so weird but I did not like it at all. I love bananas don’t get me wrong but only when they are ripe enough for me to enjoy and put into my cereal.
Kiwano
Okay so this is what I found on the net:
Ripe Horned Melons will have a bright orange shell. Avoid any bruising or soft spots. No need to refrigerate. The seeds are edible so is the skin. Kiwano Melon shells can be used as unique servings bowls for soups, sorbets and desserts. which is so true is is actually beautifully. If the skin would remain the same and never get rotten I would always rinse it out and reuse it, but that idea is in the garbage. I could ask someone to make me a bowl like this but the real thing is better and great dinner conversation starter, lol…yeah I am always planning, lol
Kiwano
When ripe, it has a yellow-orange skin and a lime green jelly-like flesh with the taste similar to a cucumber and texture similar to a banana. For me it had a not ready to eat yet banana-like taste. Would I buy this again naw, the cost was higher than buying 6 packs of pear to put it lightly. Below is a video that tells and show you how to use this beautiful fruit.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 11:06 pm

    It looks like a prickly pear. But to taste like an unripe banana.. eww

    • January 10, 2011 11:50 pm

      That is how I felt, I was hoping for it to be sweet or just a little to add it into one of my creations. My husband told me that I would not like it. But he say that for many of the weird fruits I have been trying. Oh well I have to keep my eyes open for the next fruit victim, lol

Leave a Reply

