Skip to content

How to make a Bad bottle of Wine a Good Bottle

December 22, 2010

Have you ever had a bottle of red wine that tasted a bit sour and you don’t want to throw it away or give it away because it cost perhaps a shiny penny? Or perhaps you don’t want to make the mistake of giving it away back to the same person who gave it too you. That could be such a silence insult, lol.

Here in Germany they have a red wine call Mulled wine more famous name is Glühwein. It is typically sold at the Christmas Market/Weihnachtmarket to keep visitors warm as they enjoy the holiday festivities. I will post photos tomorrow and a little information about the Christmas Market in Germany. Right now I would like to give you the ingredients that you can use when you have a bottle of red wine that you don’t fancy too much. Perhaps you could even make it for the Christmas and New Year holiday for friends and family to try. It would be an interesting conversation.

Ingredients
1 bottle of dry/bad red wine (750 ml)
one lemon
2 sticks of cinnamon
3 cloves
3 tablespoons of sugar/4 tsp of Honey
some cardamom (or ginger)

Directions
Heat the red wine in a pot (don’t boil). Cut the lemon into slices and add to the wine. Then add the cinnamon, cloves, sugar and a little cardamom (to taste). Heat everything for about 5 minutes – do not boil – and let stand for about an hour. Before serving, reheat and strain. Serve in prewarmed glasses or mugs not in a thin glass that will shatter as soon as the hot wine touch the glass. A nice thick glass or coffee cup will work.
Gluhwein also known as Mulled Wine
Typical Glühwein does not have a slice of lemon or orange in the cup. I am using it just for decoration and to enjoy the last sip of wine:)

If interested to join the group and your a person who like to ‘share’ your photo recipe with others this is the link to my little group What Sha Cooking Only accepting people who like to share so that the group continue being active with communication and postings;)
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=100981263293737&ref=ts
What Sha Cooking

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 4:24 am

    sounds heart warming on a cold night.

  2. December 22, 2010 5:11 am

    Fantastic idea! I have a couple bottles that someone I work with bottled herself, and it’s really really REALLY sweet cherry wine. This might be a good use for it. It’s undrinkable as it is.

  3. December 22, 2010 11:27 am

    Oh it is PB!

    My husband was telling me that I could cook with it. I told him if we really don’t care for how it taste why would we like it in one of our meals. Gluhwein is better. At least I can taste it as I go and if I don’t like it at least I know I played around with it and tried…garbage bin here it comes. But it came out exactly like the one at the Christmas market thank goodness. I even slept like a baby, lol

    Lol, atleast you know who not to give it back too. The recycle of gifts…I love it:) Perhaps it will work with some lemon to tone down the sweetness and a little cinnamon/ginger to give the tongue something to linger about when all is heated up together. Play with it and let me know what work for you.

  4. December 29, 2010 4:11 pm

    I made mulled wine that was very similar to this, but I bought the cheap wine with this idea in mind. I used two oranges and two lemons and stuck them all over w/the cloves, dropped in a couple of cinnamon sticks and some brown sugar. Yumm!

    You are funny! When i get some red wine that is ‘skunky’, kind of gone bad, I use it in my pasta sauce or chili. I like to put it in an ice cube tray and freeze it. It doesn’t make the food taste bad, it just gives it a little more flavor, really. I promise!

    • January 4, 2011 8:17 am

      I might give it a try. So I can stop knocking until I try it, lol. We have like 2 bottles left of bitter red wine.

Trackbacks

  1. Celebrating the oncoming of Christmas in Germany « Life in a Nutshell

Leave a Reply

