Skip to content

Joy Denalane

December 17, 2010

Joy Denalane was born June 11, 1973 in Berlin-Schoeneberg as the third of six children to a German Mother and a South African Father. At the age of six the family moved to Berlin-Kreuzberg.

At the age of 16 she left home to focus on her music. Her first stage performances and the joining of the reggae and soul bands was Culture Roots and Family Affair. At nineteen she was signed to a major pop label but she and her management could not agree on what her music and image should be like and Denalane asked for a release. Afterwards she moved to Stuttgart where she met DJ Thomilla and Tiefschwarz (two already well-known producers active in the Kolchose) with whom Denalane co-wrote and produced the club hit “Music”.

She married singer and producer Max Herre with whom she has two sons named Isaiah (born 2001) and Jamil (born 2003). Sadly they separated in October 2007.

Joy Denalane still sings, in January 2011 she will be on live stage January 7 in Hamburg and January 8, 2011 in Berlin. She will be performing as part of the “Wir Beaten Mehr” project, alongside artists such as Xavier Naidoo, Kool Savas, Cassandra Steen and Söhne Mannheims. A performance not to miss (I wish I could be there). All these artists are wonderful singers who will make you smile, cry, and dance.

Check out her video below. You can find her on youtube, myvideo, and myspace. I love Joy Denalane voice. It is so powerful and beautiful to me. She was the first Germany artist/musician I ever listen to a few years ago. Thanks to my friend I consider a best friend. I love you man!

A short advertisement will show before this video:
Joy Denalane — Sometimes Love
Joy Denalane

If your curious to see how her ex look like this is a video of both of them together in the link below. He probably could not handle a strong women who is more talented then he is.
Max Herre and Joy Denalane – Erste Liebe

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 8:21 pm

    It’s great discovering new music. There are so many wonderful artists out there who don’t get the airplay and attention they deserve.

    • December 17, 2010 8:44 pm

      So agree and not all of them have made it to America. People always say when artist make it to America they make it big. Every Friday if I have access to the net I am blogging about one European group or artist that I like who I hear from the radio.
      A good month ago my friend ask me what type of music do I listen to over here. If I have access to American music. I explain to her, “Yes they have American music always playing here but I listen to many German music as well. I can’t understand them but their pretty good listening and dancing song especially when I am cooking up a storm:)”
      My friend question is what expire me to share what I listen to every Friday in my blog. Other people might be curious as well:)

  2. unabridgedgirl permalink
    December 18, 2010 3:10 am

    Sweet! I always love listening to new music. 🙂

  3. December 19, 2010 3:46 pm

    She does have a really good voice.

    I hope you do continue to post what you’re listening to. So many interesting artists out there.

Leave a Reply

