Skip to content

Girl Talk

December 5, 2010

Today was a fantastic day!
My neighbor’s daughters yesterday came to pay me a surprise visit. They are two charming young ladies from Switzerland who always make me laugh if not smile. I talked with them very shortly because we were expecting friends to go to the Weihnachtsmarkt with.

I made a little H’orderves consisting of Avocado, Cherry Tomatoes, Schinkens, Bell Pepper, Wheat Crackers, and Krauter Chesse Ball:) They actually like my Krauter Cheese Ball:) I surprise them when I told them that I made it when I was making Quiche. We talk about their favorite Swiss cheeses, how they can be use, the taste, and etc. They told me in a month time when they visit they plan to bring a cheese call “Gruyer and Tomme” with them. Both of these cheese are a nice creamy cheese. Gruyer comes in 3 level of taste: spicy, salty, and mild young cheese.
Avocado, Cherry Tomatoes, Schinkens, Bell Pepper, Wheat Crackers, Krauter Chesse Ball:)
I love girl talk. Being in a group with two or more females just kicking rocks and shooting the breeze. Today felt so good like I was back in the State again talking crap with my girlfriends and having a good old laugh about life. I am so looking toward next month. We were talking about baking and I told them what happen to my Apricot Tort a few weeks ago and how it just crumble in my hands. So both young ladies told me next visit we should bake together out of her new baking book her sister bought her back from England when she was visiting. I of course took the offer. I am a student of life who is always willing to learn something new.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2010 8:25 pm

    Sounds like a lovely day. That plate of munchies looks great!

  2. December 5, 2010 9:53 pm

    Fresh veggies are few and far between up here at the moment. The tomatoes definitely made my mouth water!

    • December 6, 2010 9:50 am

      Thanks Rat:) Yes, I remember reading your post when you mention that in Iqaluit for fresh vegetables you have to go to the store on a special day in the week. Also that vegetables are not cheap there but fish and meat are.
      P.S your recent post I love the photos especially the high wind photo. That made me smile. Keep warm and keep writing. I can’t wait to hear about when you find a home there and the comparison of what you had and have now.

  3. December 8, 2010 5:37 pm

    “I am a student of life who is always willing to learn something new.”

    Best kind of attitude to have!

    There’s a fresh fruit and veggie store right on my street. yeah! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. December 8, 2010 6:07 pm

    Thanks, that is one good thing about Germany. A grocery store or corner store is never to far and there is an hair salon on every block. At least here. I don’t know how they survive?

  5. unabridgedgirl permalink
    December 8, 2010 11:25 pm

    Looks yummy! And I love girl time, too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yay!

Leave a Reply

