Skip to content

Today Mark the first day of Advent

November 28, 2010

Today mark the first day of Advent. Advent is the celebration each Sunday starting the last week Sunday of November if Christmas is not on a Sunday. Making Advent 4 weeks long leading until Christmas. If Christmas is landing on a Sunday Advent starts the first Sunday in December making the Advent one week shorter still leading to Christmas Day. Advent is the time when Christians remember that Jesus came into the world in Palestine 2000 years ago and that Jesus also promised one day to return in all his glory (resurrected from the grave). Clergy typically wear royal purple or royal blue vestments during Advent. Many churches also include an advent wreath (sometimes called an Advent ring or crown) in their Advent services.

The Christian year follows the life of Jesus. It begins with Advent Sunday – which is the Christian church, is ‘New Year’s Day’. The most important day of the year will be Easter Sunday, the day on which Jesus came back to life. At the end of Advent, there will be Jesus’ birthday (Christmas Day).

During the season of Advent, Christians across the world prepare for the celebration of the arrival of the Lord into the world through the birth of his Son Jesus Christ. Advent is a time to celebrate light in the midst of darkness. It is also a time to look forward to when Jesus will come a second time. Candle lights are light up in the homes. There are normally 4 candles in a circle wreath or 4 candle stand. Each candle represent a Sunday leading toward Christmas. Therefore today is the first day of Advent. A candle is lit in many people homes. It does not have to be lit all day. Next week Sunday 2 candle will be lit and so on.

I have notice even though this is a Christian celebration many people who are also Catholic, Lutheran, or even have no religion still celebrate Advent. Whether it is tradition, habit, or just festive. This is my officially first Advent living in Germany. Even though I have celebrate it many time visiting around the holiday. I find it to be nice to learn and integrate into the German culture. This is my home and it is important for me to learn this to understand and one day pass on.

Advent

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 11:57 am

    I always enjoy learning about different faiths.

    • November 28, 2010 12:47 pm

      Yes me too. It helps at time decrease embarrassing myself with certain questions, food, and clothing I wear.

  2. November 28, 2010 5:35 pm

    Just a couple of tidbits 🙂 : The German Lutherans invented the Advent Calendar, and by 1600 both the Lutherans and the Catholics were formally using the Advent wreath, although where it actually started seems to be unknown.

    • November 28, 2010 5:49 pm

      I know that Advent Calendar very well. The one I know is yummy:) Started last year I mail off the children Advent calendar to my nieces and nephew. Starting in December (the children calendar is a little off to me) each year children open a slot with the date on it. Inside the slot is a small candy and typically a little saying sometimes. Depending how cheap the calendar is, lol.
      This year I plan to mail it to them. I have the candy in a cold room now for two weeks just been too busy to mail it off. My nieces and nephews are good to wait until Dec 1 to start eating the candy but they don’t really understand why just one a day. Even though I have explain it to them. They see it as a treat, lol

  3. December 2, 2010 6:09 am

    I’m two days late but I just bought Finley an Advent calendar!

  4. December 2, 2010 6:11 am

    I just looked at your candles again. When I was growing up and went to Parochial school, our wreaths had 3 purple candles and one white to mark the 4 weeks of Advent.

  5. December 2, 2010 10:40 am

    I have notice those candle setting as well in which you have mention. Here there are so many various styles and colors. Some have a long pine tree branches with 4 candles others pine wreath with 4 candles. They have varieties in different color and sizes. The photo above candle stand were giving to me as a present at one of my small dinner party. The person who gave it to me let me know that the stores had them in gold and red if I am interested to get another color. I appreciated the thought and to me it is beautiful.
    Is this Finley first Advent calendar and do she understand that each days she should open one, or do she see it as a treat? I have to mail off my nieces and nephews calendars this Saturday with a few Christmas post cards. I am so late this year. Just too much things on my side going on and when I do go the post office is close for 1 hour lunch. Oh well it is the thought that count.

Leave a Reply

