Skip to content

Mohnstrudel and Stollen

November 26, 2010

This morning I woke up very chirp. Look out the window and said, “Oh Snap it’s snowing” (actually worst, lol) and got ready to go downstairs. Because today was the day for my friend which is also my neighbor to teach me how to bake two German desserts. On Fridays she normally help me with my German grammatic, but today was my break to just relax and have fun. I hate to write and always repeat she she she. So I will call her Ann:)
I have another friend who live in the building too. She is my cake switching buddy:) We both bake cakes and sometime it is too much for the household. We split what we have for the other to enjoy. She is also a good friend and not only a cake buddy named Sarah:)

Two weeks ago Ann gave me a dessert book to look through and pick one thing that I would really like to bake. So I picked Mohnstrudel which is a poppyseed roll. Today she surprise me and said we are going to bake Stollen. Stollen is a type of German bread which is closely associated with Christmas. The bread is extremely sweet and rich, and resembles a cake much more than a bread. For this reason, some people refer to it as a fruitcake. However it does not need a pan to sit in. You form the dough by your hands and let it bake in the oven by itself on a tray for 1 hour on 155C. After you make it cool then add powder sugar on top.

Stollen

Stollen


Both the Stollen and Mohnstrudel was easy to make and both tasted great. When John come home I plan to surprise him with a little treat from both me and Ann and go grocery shopping to perhaps try to see if I understand how to replicate it on my own. If not this weekend some other weekend. I have other things in mind that I want to try and create:)
Mohnstrudel

Mohnstrudel

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2010 4:13 pm

    The Mohnstrudel looks amazing! Looks so much like our cinnamon rolls….are they similar? So nice you have a baking friend to play in the kitchen with!

    • November 26, 2010 4:19 pm

      Lol, I was thinking the same exact thing as she was showing me and reading the instructions. I am sure the method is similar. I never tried to make anything like this before but I have eaten a lot of them, lol. I am sure with a few substitute it can turn into a cinnamon roll.
      But as taste go. This is not a sweet dessert. If you ever ate bread with a lot of poppy seeds this is what it taste like. I love poppy seed even eating it raw by itself. The taste is just interesting and hard to describe it to relate to anything else.

  2. November 26, 2010 6:13 pm

    They both look very yummy! ๐Ÿ™‚ Poppy seeds are very tasty, I love them. One of my co-workers told me the other day she’s looking forward to the Christmas season because I always bake lots of Christmas cookies and bring them to work. Guess I better get busy.

    That’s a great arrangement you have with your neighbor, swapping cakes like that. You are so lucky to have such wonderful friends and neighbors.

    • November 26, 2010 8:02 pm

      Thank you DD I think I am lucky too. Since I have been living here there have done so many wonderful things for me as showing me how to get around, translating things for me, holding my packages, doing my cleaning week (kerwocke-cleaning the property and taking out garbage cans) if we are out of town, and giving me a warm shoulder when I need someone to cry on if hubby is not in town. The people in my building who are my good friends I thank God everyday for them and for John to pick this little building to move into.
      Now before I get so sentimental do you plan to take photos of your goodies when time come?

  3. November 28, 2010 12:00 pm

    That does look delicious. I love Mohnstrudel. Actually, mohn- anything! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • November 28, 2010 12:49 pm

      Yeah me too. Yesterday I baked some Quark Brothchen for my first time with Mohn and it was delicious. Today John request for me to bake a loaf of Quark Broth and I am doing that as I type:)

Leave a Reply

