Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving America and to the Christian Germans

November 25, 2010

Thanksgiving is an American holiday. It started when the pilgrims wanted to thank the Indians for all their help. However, Christian Germans too celebrate a day of Thanksgiving to God for a plentiful harvest. On the first Sunday of October visitors to German churches will find a plethora of fruits, vegetables, sheaves of grain, and also baked goods, as decorations around the altars. Visitors who go to market places and fairgrounds will oftentimes find Erntedankfest (literally: harvest gratitude festival) dances, displays, booths, a special Erntefeuer (harvest fire), and other festivities to celebrate this occasion. Thanksgiving is just a Christian event usually on a Sunday but not a dedicated party or celebration event. Sometimes peoples have some special decoration for church service and/or kids having a special performance. No turkeys around.

Will I be celebrating Thanksgiving since I was raised up in America? This year no. John is out of town right now and won’t be back until close to midnight. When he comes home he plan to go straight to bed. However, next year I do plan to celebrate Thanksgiving either by ourself or invite a few friends and neighbors over!

Happy Thanksgiving for those who celebrate it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 6:32 pm

    That’s so cool about Erntedankfest, never heard of it. There’s something about a good harvest that is always celebratory, it’s not surprising our ancestors in cultures far and wide mark the season in some way.

    You may have a hard time finding a turkey over there for a Thanksgiving dinner, being a bird native to America it probably hasn’t caught on much around the world. I have no doubt that you will either find one, or find a really interesting substitute 🙂 I’ll be very interested to see what you plan for Thanksgiving next year. Have a great day! Time for me to get busy cooking here.

    • November 25, 2010 7:13 pm

      Thank you and Happy Thanksgiving to you too! 🙂
      They have turkey over here. Not for sure if they sell the whole turkey but I have some turkey legs and wings in my refrigerator (my favorite part of the turkey). I was thinking to make this tonight for the sake of Thanksgiving but I hate making dinner if it is just me.

      If I do ever find a whole turkey over here I would never cook it. John hate turkey but like only the wings. Here in Germany on Christmas day Goose is aways serve. Man is it good. Looking forward to that next month at John’s mother house. No cooking from me. Enjoy your day with family and friends.

      Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. November 26, 2010 4:22 am

    Happy thanksgiving!

    Dinner over here in the states was delicious! We had plenty of turkey to satisfy your craving, I promise. I didn’t make the full dinner, but I did make the crab-stuffed mushroom caps for the appetizers. I’ll have to post up the recipe,if you want them.

    I don’t know what they do down in New Zealand for harvest time, but I can’t wait to find out!

    here’s to you and yours, and hoping you have a great holiday season, and a safe one too.

    • November 26, 2010 8:46 am

      Crab-stuffed mushroom caps sound interesting! Yes, ofcourse when you have time please post the recipe with picture too if you can so I can see how it suppose to look like:)
      Oh Ahlterra I cant wait to hear about about adventure in New Zealand when time come. I think it will be so interesting.

      How did your Nano went or is it too early to ask? If so let me know in December. I know you mention that it ends at the end of November but I am not sure when. So many people are doing Nano writing.

      Happy Thanksgiving to you too hon…enjoy!

Leave a Reply

