Skip to content

Happy Birthday Baby!

November 22, 2010

This weekend was the love of my life and the little pain in my butt birthday. I love this man who balance me! I have been mentally planning John birthday for a good month or so in my head. I wanted to make something special for him. Something that I would not ordinarily cook and add on any of his request.

Saturday we went to a fish market to get fresh seafoods. John is very particular and love for his food to be fresh especially seafoods. The fish market was very interesting. It had a few things I have never seen before and cooking tools I have been looking for but the price is a little bit out there. When it is not a need there is no need to buy. That is one of John and my motto. After the fish market we went to the grocery store just to grab a few items I was low on. I hate to cook and run out on something that I really need and the store around the corner does not have. So we bought a lot of Schlagsahne/whip creams, creme fraiche, cakes mix, eggs, powder sugar, butter, and what is a birthday with out ice cream and nuts. We both love nuts with ice cream.

As soon as we reach home I made John something to eat because I knew I was going to be in the kitchen for a few hours. Which end up to be almost 5. The first thing I bake was the cake to get it out the way and the filling since it needed a few hours to refrigerate. This is what took most of my time. I made my first German Torte! The filling was Johns favorite and a little of mines (Cherries, Strawberries, Apricot, and Kiwi). The cake was almost a disaster. I was missing Gelatin! I did not knew I needed Gelatin. But this is what I got from pulling out a creation out of my head. I walked frantically to the store around the corner. They did not sell gelatin and it was too late to go to the big chain store where they did. So hubby told me to check to see if we another box of the Dr. Oetker Käse-Sahne Torte I made for the orange theme at “What Sha Cooking” Thank goodness we had one or my little idea would of went in the garbage and we would of settle for a normal cake. Now that the cake was out the way and the butter cream was easy to make. I started on the Avacodo dish. Which was very simple. This was my first time making a dish using Avacodo. I found it in my German cook book and ofcourse made it to my liking, lol. I was so proud to say I use the Pores/Leeks from out of my balcony garden. This dish was to eat room temperature. So I made the plates and put it to the side.

Pores/Leeks

This Vegetable is call Pores in Germany and know as Leeks in Canada and USA. They have not grown to their full potential but can still be use:)

Next I made my Krauter Sauce to be use for a spread for the baguette in which I sliced as they do in the restaurant place them in a cloth napkin inside a bread basket. This was the quickest thing I made that night. Next I made the rice molding. I enjoyed this. Almost everything I made for John was new for me. Perhaps this is what took me so long. First I boil the Uncle Ben rice, let it sit in a strainer for a hour. Once it was dry out. I use my Pastry Cutter Mold and place in for the foundation and compact it/push it down for it to combine to each other. On top I had my Krauter Sauce. Next I use the bake fish cut it into little pieces an press it down. I continue adding fish until it could not go down anymore (tip..make half of the container rice and you won’t end up with more meat than rice unless if you want it that way). Place molding on top of a foil paper. Place in oven for 15 minutes on 200F. You just need everything to fuse together.

Now it was time to make the Mussel what an headache. Hubby really did not trust me that I know how to make it. I told him I saw on the internet to boil it. Boil the ones that open and the one that is close throw them away. Wow oh wrong was I. It was quite the opposite when it come to cooking. You should keep the Mussel in cold water until needed. The ones that are open throw them away because all the Mussels are still alive! The one that are close keep them but keep them in the cold water. When finish cooking any that did not open throw those away and keep the cook open that open during cooking. It was just pure hell. By the time I separated the open from the ones that were close, had hubby double check by the time I was ready to use them some open up on me. I was like what the fick! I told hubby he said maybe because the water is warm now. We both got nervous and said forget it and threw them away. What a waste of money! But agree next time we both will buy some more to cook it together. That really ruin the next dish. Hubby wanted Spaetzle with mushroom and Porres. I made two special sauce which was a mushroom sauce and a fish sauce to have a nice particular taste. Now this dish was missing the Mussels. Hubby said it still tasted good don’t worry about it. So everything was made and last was the Jumbo shrimps which was precook and just needed to be warm up.

What a night. It was ending so stressful because things was not going well as I planned (at one moment I was going to throw away everything and just order a pizza until I had to put my nerves back together) plus hubby was getting hungry. Dinner was finally finish everything was at the temperature I needed it to be. I quickly place the butter cream on the cake. Decorated it with licorices and top it off with strawberries and candles. Asked John to turn off the light and sang happy birthday to my wonderful old man, kiss him and wish him many more wonderful healthy years to come.

All in all it was worth it. He was impress of what I am capable to make. He appreciated all my hard work and he told me the bonus was that everything tasted and looked great.

John Birthday Meal

Happy Birthday Honey, I love you so MUCH

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 11:18 pm

    That is so sweet. Looks like you guys had a good night!

  2. November 22, 2010 11:38 pm

    Wow, you are an amazing cook! All those dishes are so beautiful. I’m sure it was a wonderful birthday for him.

  3. November 23, 2010 9:17 am

    Thank you both:) At the end of it all it was a good night. We ate, laugh, drank, watch a little tv and both fell asleep watching tv. He thank me on his birthday night and the next morning once again for putting so much effort for his birthday. Normally we take each other to a nice exclusive restaurant so we both had to dress up really nice, lol. This time the exclusive restaurant was call “Lora”, lol, and we both still dress up with a little jazz in the background.

  4. November 25, 2010 6:45 am

    Wow you really cooked up a storm for this honey of yours! I hope he appreciated it. Good woman and good cook too!

  5. unabridgedgirl permalink
    November 25, 2010 7:27 am

    Yaaaay! Happy Birthday to your John! Alles Gute zum Geburtstag!

Leave a Reply

