Skip to content

Hope I am not Tooting my Horn to Early

November 9, 2010

I always seem to amaze myself.
I remember when I began my German class I felt as if it was easy then the higher the model/level the more I slipped off my high horse. I started to really learn more grammar and understand why I say things or suppose to say things as it should. The class was fun and interesting.

The first practice test I was freaking nervous. My heart was literally beating out my chest. Heck we, the class, were all nervous. The test was on hearing, speaking, and writing. I was like no one is going to understand me. My German is so butcher. Everyone here know the language and been living here for so long. They are just taking it because it is a rule if one want to take residency here they must take the integration class and pass it. This rule as came into effect a few years or less ago. I honestly don’t know when and don’t want to pull a number out of my butt. When pass the official test it will open up doors to go to college and work. Yes you can work without the certification if you know someone or if the person doesn’t care as long as you speak good Deutsch. But this certification means a lot to many of us auslander (foreigners).

I took the first test and received a Note 2. Note 2 is like a B. They have Note 1 (A), 2 (B), 3 (C), and 4 (D). I was like oh wow, you have to be kidding me. I have a Note 2! And only was 2 points for a Note 1! I was very surprise in myself that I rock that test.

So two weeks ago we had another practice test on hearing, speaking, and writing again but much harder. Now for hearing we did not hear the CD twice only once and less multiplications choices and more fill in the blanks. I was like oh crap this test is horrible! The answer literally has to come out of my memories. If you know me well you will know my memories cells are slowly depleting. I received back my test today Note 2 again! I was like you go with your bad self! Funny thing was that I was not stress out about this test. I once had a teacher in elementary who always said, “If you don’t know it by now you won’t know it for this test”. I actually can remember how she looks like and her name. She took no crap but was an excellent math teacher. Funny what stick in your head when it is time to take a test, lol.

I have two more practice test to take in the future than the official one in February. Am I nervous … hecky ya! But I think I will be okay as long as I remain calm and start to retain my vocabularies, build upon it, and practice my grammar. What will happen if I don’t pass the official test? I would have to repeat partially the class by taking 300 hours. I kid you not and in no way am I looking forward to repeat the class!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 9:46 pm

    Don’t stress out and just keep practicing! You’ve got a few more months to go, so work hard and it’ll all pay off. Fingers crossed and good luck to you!

    • November 9, 2010 9:51 pm

      Thank you I plan to. First thing I told myself this morning was to cut down my FB timing, I literally live on there, and study my vocabularies more and try my best to retain them.
      Thank you so much for the best wishes! I will let you know at the end of February the grimy details:)

  2. December 5, 2010 10:53 am

    Considering how well you’ve been doing on your tests, I’m sure you will do great on the final exam as long as you keep up the same dedicated study.

    Wishing you all the best on it.

    • December 5, 2010 12:13 pm

      I thank you so much. The talking part is bad for me when I talk with others. I sometime choke up and my sentence structure is twisted:( But I am trying to talk a little bit more with my classmate. I just hope she pick someone that is on the same level as myself and not using all fancy vocab when talking. Just keep it basic, lol, so serious.

  3. December 5, 2010 4:19 pm

    Yeah, the sentence structure is the worst part for me. It’s so difficult to get used to all those verbs piled up at the end.

Leave a Reply

